We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Extremely hospitable hosts.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Guwahati, Kamrup Metropolitan District, Assam

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Amadhukar
Dharamsala, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Extremely hospitable hosts.”
Reviewed 27 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Amazing home-stay and the hosts were lovely. They made us feel at home immediately and were very accommodating to our needs. Madhumita rustled amazing home cooked food which was delightful. Will definitely stay here again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandipPot...
Pune District, India
1 review
“Our Best stay in Guwahati”
Reviewed 6 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

It was wonderful stay for us (3friends) in Madhumita's house. I will say house as she treated us like family member. Will never forget the hospitality given by them. To summarize on stay
1. Room was need and clean
2. Homemade food was awesome and we have variety as well . based on our interest Madhumita made some local food as well.
3. Host guided us with local travel and spots

Our prime focus was Ambubachi Mela and we thoroughly enjoyed this Mela. It could not have possible without support given by Madhumita.

Even though stay is just little far from city, its really worth staying there given such nice host. I will be planning one more trip, this time with family

Thank you again. Looking forward to see you again.

Best regards,
Sandip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2017
Thank you Sandip. Looking forward to seeing you all again someday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudharsan...
Mangalore, India
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Warmth and comfort!!”
Reviewed 3 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Prior to the day of our stay, I got a message sharing the google map location of this place from the owners as it is slightly tricky to locate this place. It is a basic bedroom and an attached washroom, but don't let it deter you from staying here as they have got everything we could ask for: air conditioner, water heater, comfortable beds. Brownie points for the terrace garden and all the interior decorations, phew!! we were definitely inspired. There are homestays where you get everything and then there are homestays where you get everything with all the hospitality but this place is more than that. Conversations with the couple who own the place(Mrs. Madhumita and Mr. Raju) made us feel like family. It was definitely the best stay of my life. Thanks!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sripriya...
2 reviews
“Guwahati home stay”
Reviewed 25 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Both Madhumita & her husband were very kind & helpful. Will definitely recommend. Clean washrooms & spacious room for families.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sampath J
Bangalore
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 20 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Long overdue review, We stayed with Madhu and Raju uncle for 3 nights and felt truly as a home away from home. They were the most gracious and hospitable hosts, catering to our every need. We travelled with our 2 yr old and 5 mo. old daughters, and my 2 yr. old still remembers Madhu aunty, her special pasta, and the beautiful terrace garden and the various birds that visit there. Whether on a hectic trip or looking for some relaxed time, you will be pampered. Clean, spacious accommodation with AC, hot water, but the cherry on the cake is really the food and the conversations with Madhu and Raju uncle. Raju uncle, even took us on a trip to the Kamakhya temple in town, and their wealth of local information is really helpful. Whenever I am in Guwahati, I would love to be back, paying a visit there. Thank you Madhu, Raju da.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2017
Thank you so much for the high rating and good review Sampath. It was a pleasure to have you all stay with us and hope to see you and the family someday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noshtrada...
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely and Relaxing”
Reviewed 4 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Madhumita's Homestay is a lovely surprise in dusty Guwahati. While the approach road wasn't much to write about, the place itself is an oasis of delightful comfort and calming views.

The room is basic but very clean and comfortable, with a beautiful sit-out in a terrace garden that overlooks a green hillside, and was host to colourful plants and some happy chirpy birds - just what you need when you want to unwind.

The bathroom is modern and has good quality fittings, and lots of hot water in the shower which is a rare luxury in most home stays.

The host couple are soft spoken and warm, and went out of their way to make me feel at home and comfortable.

All in all, it's the kind of place you want to spend more time in!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Feb 2017
Thank you Mehernosh for the review. It was a pleasure meeting you and I look forward to hosting you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaishnode...
Guwahati, India
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“great place”
Reviewed 4 December 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Madhumitas homestay is a great place to stay in Guwahati. A rooftop big room with two big beds, a sparkling bathroom and a cute little terrace garden.Perfect place for those who love to stay in a quiet place surrounded by greenery which is hard to find in a city.The terrace garden is a wonderful place to sip a smoothie while busking in the sun with the birds. The host is a great cook . We arrived there in the evening and were starving . The host served us with a sumptuous food . Madhu n Raju the owners are very friendly, helpful an caring.We never ever thought that we would get such a room and host , great value for the price paid.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cleanliness and the food
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing