We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No pretence... good food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Delicacy

Delicacy
Ranked #3 of 700 Restaurants in Guwahati
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Guwahati, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“No pretence... good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Lovely choice of food. Provides a good range of local cuisines from Assam and pretty well prepared. Found the food very well done and served in simple but neat manner. The complimentary clear vegetable soup was not just a nice surprise but tasty too. Try their fish, duck or whatever menu and you won't be disappointed. Only down side is the lack of proper parking.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank AmbaJamir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    76
    18
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
162 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Assam food in Delhi.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Place for Assamese authentic food in South Delhi. One of our colleague from Assam wanted us to taste Assam food. We had ordered Thali, Sesame chicken & a mutton dish and dry roasted chicken with onion . Presentation of Thali was good with two kinds of lentil, pumpkin, kalmi saag(popular in eastern India), cauliflower & two more which I cud not identify. I had heard that Assam food are very spicy but Except the Saag, all were very bland. But the sesame chicken was very tasty & different from regular curries, The mutton was good & the best was the roasted chicken. Good for one time go.

We had visited their original Delicacy in Guwahati near Airport, and the food was better there rather very good.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank reena56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorhat, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Assamese Thali at its best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

There are many hotels in Guwahati serving Assamese Cuisines, but for me, this is the best. The waiters, though need some good class in decency.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank priyank_pb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
84 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good Assamese food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We reached Delicacy around 1.30 PM...We had to wait 8-10 minutes to get a table...as we look over the menu waiter brings us chicken clear soup, which was complementary..it was good.
We ordered for fish fry, smoked chicken fry ,Masor tanga( fish with tomato and potato),Duck curry with black sesame seeds ,and Assamese non veg thali (a non veg platter ,which consists of Assamese aromatic rice, lentil, chicken curry,a dry vegetable dish ,one more curry dish,khar(a
typical Assamese dish made of raw papaya, which is very good for digestion),mash potato and a bowl of sweet porridge ),along with steam aromatic rice... really tasty, and healthy food. If you are a fan of hot & spicy Indian food ,then you might find Assamese food very plain,,simple...But it has it's own taste.. ..
Our over experience was good...All of my friends enjoyed their food, Duck curry with black sesame seeds was everyone's favourite.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mridu p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
215 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Assamese welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Stepping out of the airport and going to this restaurant for lunch is getting yourself welcomed to Assam in its most authentic way. Conveniently located on the highway, though lacking the AC environment, the place has a very cosy and comforting atmosphere. Food is hot and fresh. Assamese thaali is simple but tasty. Being vegetarian its not often that one finds a good fare to sample but here i came out satisfied. And the staff feed you like your own folks- asking about second or even third helpings!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mahua-CCU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Delicacy also viewed

Guwahati, Assam
Guwahati, Assam
 

Been to Delicacy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing