We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check the prices”
Review of Hotel Siroy Lily

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Siroy Lily
Ranked #55 of 63 Hotels in Guwahati
Reviewed 31 December 2012

I stayed one night in Siroy. The room was fine but the staff were indifferent. It was only when paying for my room did I realize that the advertised prices were very misleading. I had failed to notice the added extras like the the tax and I queried the compulsory 'service' charge. Having not used room service I wanted to know what service I was paying for; apparently it was for room cleaning! I had a few hundred added to my bill which is not the end of the world but does highlight their approach to their customers.
The 'free' breakfast isn't worth having.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dtnature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Siroy Lily
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2012

We had booked two rooms for a night’s stay on 25 Nov 2012 in Hotel Siroy Lily, Guwahati.

Our party consisted of Four Senior citizens. Upon arrival (at abt 2200 Hrs), we were promptly informed that since we had arrived on 26 Nov (instead of 25th), our earlier reservation was null & void. This was due to a sudden re-scheduling of our programme. We had no means to contact you since it was beyond yr working hrs. Anyway, we accepted to pay (as we had elderly ladies with us & it was late night). Later, at check out, early next morning, no discount was offered even though the rooms had remained unoccupied.
The location was most undesirable. One look out of the window & it was like being in the middle of a dirty sl
The rooms offered to us were of abysmal standards – not fit even as a cowshed. The room had an unpleasant odour. The bed linen was torn, had stains & was extremely dirty. The AC did not work. When we tried to use the ceiling fan, we found that there was no knob – only a shaft which could not be turned by hand.

We naturally complained and a staff replaced the linen with a passably clean one. The AC could not be fixed. Fan? “Saab, yeh to aisa he hain – was the response”. Finally, the room was changed.

We ordered some ice. The first reaction? “sir, this will be charged”. A little taken aback, we agreed to pay. After some 30 minutes and plenty of reminders, the ice arrived in a dirty pail. We were so exhausted from our journey and the general standards that we decided not to make an issue of it. But horror of horrors – the ice contained a COCKROACH! Their reaction - "Don't worry we won't charge for the ice"

Next day, the hot water ran out as the geyser was too small for two adults. We were told that the little geyser served TWO rooms!

Wg.Cdr.R.S.Murthy (Retd)

Room Tip: Avoid staying here
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank IAFRSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

The rooms offered to us were of abysmal standards – not fit even as a cowshed. The bed linen was torn, had stains & was extremely dirty. The AC did not work. When we tried to use the ceiling fan, we found that there was no knob – only a shaft which could not be turned by hand.

We naturally complained and a staff replaced the linen with a passably clean one. The AC could not be fixed. Fan? “Saab, yeh to aisa he hain – was the response”. Finally, the room was changed.

We ordered some ice. The first reaction? “sir, this will be charged”. A little taken aback, we agreed to pay. After some 30 minutes and plenty of reminders, the ice arrived in a dirty pail. We were so exhausted from our journey and the general standards that we decided not to make an issue of it. But horror of horrors – the ice contained a cockroach!

Next day, the hot water ran out as the geyser was too small for two adults. We were told that the little geyser served TWO rooms!

AN Dilip Kumar
dilipfamily872@gmail.com

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dilipfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

For a hotel named after a beautiful flower, you might hope for a slightly better room than this. It was OK at best, but for our budget pockets we really didn't feel it was value for money. The hot water was very limited, less than 5 mins before running cold each time, the room did smell a little mouldy, and unless you lock your bedroom door staff will simply walk in after the briefest of knocks and without waiting for a response, which is not just rude but quite disconcerting!

We were also categorically told that wifi was available in our room by the manager, which we double checked. However, once checked in, it was quickly apparent that this was not the case - only available in reception, the manager was suddenly not around! The wifi worked well down there, but why bother lying about this in the first place?! We had room service as the restaurant looked really shabby, empty and unappealing, and we were pleasantly surprised by the food which we thought was pretty good.

We left too early for the brekkie ... But heard from others that it wasn't great!

Personally if you're on a budget we'd pick the Sundarban Guest House which is just round the corner, is half the price, has incredibly friendly and great service, has constant hot water and wifi in all the rooms, should need it!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HannahHatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Its is one of the few underrated hotels of the Paltan bazaar at guwhati
It offers clean rooms with wide range of prices.. Super Delux AC are highly recommended ... big spacious with good beds and clean bathrooms, service is nice
Breakfast buffet is limited

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank NT14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

If you are on a personal trip to Guwahati and a shoe string budget, this is one of the better options available in Guwahati!It's an old hotel (nearly 8 yrs), however,rooms are still clean and stayable. And plus,it is located at the heart of the city..All the transport service offices are located nearby..The food is also ok without being exorbitantly high...So,if it's a personal trip,this can be given a go!!However,for official trips,there are better options available..

Room Tip: 1. Avoid the super deluxe.Instead go for a standard ac/deluxe ac! 2. If you have the choice, choose...
Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
1  Thank Abhijit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Visited this hotel for a night in Jan 2011. Was a late night arrival and an early morning departure. Room cleanliness was ok but the room had a bit of a moldy smell. Hot water was not working so the staff got some buckets of hot water. Location is good close to train stations. Hotel is decent for a couple/family. We were to leave early in the morning. Informed the reception accordingly. When we went out at 5 am. All the lights in reception were off and was a bit of a struggle finding our way out in the dark. Paid about 1500 rupees for a night. Looking at the hotel room felt that was a bit too much. 1000 rupees for a night would have been a good value for the room. Will stay there again if I have to but some improvements would be nice.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guwahati hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Grand Starline
Hotel Grand Starline
#34 of 63 in Guwahati
68 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palacia Inn
Palacia Inn
#31 of 63 in Guwahati
10 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sunview International
Hotel Sunview International
#39 of 63 in Guwahati
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel D' Sapphire
Hotel D' Sapphire
#9 of 63 in Guwahati
60 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Royal Heritage
Hotel Royal Heritage
#53 of 63 in Guwahati
22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ambarish Grand Residency
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Siroy Lily? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Siroy Lily

Address: G.S. Road, East Manipuri Basti | East Manipuri Basti, Guwahati 781008, India
Region: India > Assam > Kamrup Metropolitan District > Guwahati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 63 Hotels in Guwahati
Price Range: £21 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Siroy Lily 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Siroy Lily Hotel is located on Solapara Road. The hotel is 45 minutes drive away from the Airport. The nearest railhead is Guwahati Railway Station, which is 5 minutes drive away. Rooms & Amenities: Siroy Lily Hotel has 45 rooms, which include A/c rooms, Non A/c rooms, Deluxe rooms and Super Deluxe rooms. The hotel has an in-house multi-cuisine restaurant. The hotel also provides sightseeing packages to tourists. Hotel facilities: Wireless Internet access in public areas, 24 hour in-room dining, 24 hour personal butler service, 24 hour Concierge, 24 Hour laundry service, 24 hour doctor on call. Hot/cold water, Deposit locker, STD/ISD/Fax facility, Car parking, Travel desk/Car rental, Meetings and Conference facilities. Well appointed airport assistance facility. Close proximity to all major shopping areas, Valet, Currency exchange, Room for guests with special needs, Extensive Safety and Security arrangements, Mini bar. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing