We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Gateway Grandeur
Ranked #9 of 67 Hotels in Guwahati
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Stayed at this hotel during my recent visit to Guwahati, Assam.
I book this hotel's conference room for my office event and decided to stay in the same hotel as the banquets manager was very accommodating and offered me a corporate discount.

The room was big and comfortable and the buffet breakfast was good too. The location of this hotel is right on the main GS (Guwahati Shillong) highway and there is a small mall within walking distance.

Overall, the service of the staff was good and I had a short yet pleasant stay. However, if your looking for valuable options, you might have to look elsewhere as the corporate room cost me about Rs 5000 per night after discount and taxes.

Room Tip: A/c rooms on the higher floor is better. They also have a sit out on the 4th floor which overlooks t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianAmmanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gateway2010, General Manager at Hotel Gateway Grandeur, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent stay and valuable feedback!

Nothing gives us more pleasure than knowing that our esteemed guests had a memorable experience while staying with us at The Hotel Gateway Grandeur..

Thank you for your kind words about the food . This comment would really help my entire team to work further towards guest satisfaction and ensure that each guest has an equally memorable stay.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to The Hotel Gateway Grandeur.

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2013

Was on a business trip to Guwahati and booked this hotel by directly calling up the reservations. Here is my feedback on the stay.

The Good:
Location - is great. On the main road. You have many facilities like ATMs, Restaurants, shops etc in walking distance.
Rooms - Are spacious and well laid out. While the TV is installed in a crazy angle, the remote kind of makes the whole thing usable. Rooms were are also neat - the bed/bathroom/writing table - all quite nice.
Gym - there is also a gym and pool. While I did not use the pool I used the gym which made me feel good that day.

The Bad:
- Quite expensive hotel. Could have been a little cheaper. Should be in the 3K range ideally.
- breakfast is quite ordinary
- Gym could have been more cleaner. It is like on the verge of falling apart and needs lot of renovation and maintenance.

The Ugly:
Nothing that I could write about.

Verdict: Definitely a nice hotel to stay both for family trips and business trips.

One quick tip for visitors to Guwahati - Since the airport is quite far from the city of Guwahati you spend a lot of money on taxi. Do not take prepaid cabs from airport. Call up My Taxi at 0361-2228888 and book your cab. You get good rate, clean car and safe transport.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vishmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The Gateway is crammed into a lane with little space to turn around. The lobby is dark and uninviting, food is average but there is better food to had in Guwahati. Rooms are fine some are smelling moldy, our room was ok, large in size and fairly comfortable. Bathroom was fine with good amount of hot water and not so splashy that it covered the bathroom. For a short business trip this is probably fine but not a place where you would want to hang out. It can also be noisy if there is a party on the 1st floor.

Room Tip: Take a room on the back side away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kciff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gateway2010, General Manager at Hotel Gateway Grandeur, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

Dear Sir

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. I would like to personally apologize for the experienced which you had during your stay with us. I assure you that we would certainly work towards improvement in these area of concern mentioned.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Gateway Grandeur.

With warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

The city doesnot have five star hotel but nevertheless u wouldn't feel bad if u stay here. Staff is supportive and cleanliness is maintained. The important thing is location which it provides. Breakfast options are also good.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Longani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gateway2010, General Manager at Hotel Gateway Grandeur, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your response and your kind comments. I am pleased that you enjoyed the location of our hotel, and the food and service met your expectations. I am sure the team will find this very motivating.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Gateway Grandeur next time you are in Guwahati!

With warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Stayed here on 21 August 2013 as I was to attend a meeting here at the hotel itself. Check in was quite smooth. I have stayed in this hotel several times and one thing I have noticed is that most rooms have this mouldy smell- I think its because all the walls are wall-papered and that's getting fungus. The bathrooms are okay but there was no toilet paper when I checked in.
The food is okay. The air conditioning in the gym is poor and the treadmills do not work- the maintenance staff came but they could not get it working. The air-conditioning which is ceiling mounted was leaking water right on to the floor! A big plus is the location, bang in GS Road. Probably will not stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FranklinRalte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Its a excellent hotel in this part of India. Rooms were decent, clean and comfortable. Gym ,Swimming pool and spa were ok. Food was superb. Hotel location is excellent. Only problem I faced is that bathroom floor were too much slippery. It should be anti skid tiles instead of marble. Too much dangerous for elderly people.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bhaskarsarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gateway2010, General Manager at Hotel Gateway Grandeur, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent stay and valuable feedback.

It is indeed a pleasure to note that you had an excellent experience while staying with us at Hotel Gateway Grandeur. Guwahati recently.

We did also note your feedback on bathroom floor which were too much slippery.. I assure you that we would certainly work towards improvement in these areas of concern mentioned.

The entire team at Hotel Gateway Grandeur looks forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards

Arup Roy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Gateway is a great hotel for Guwahati. Rooms were clean and good. Food was great. Facilities like Gym and Pool were good. Spa was value for money. Location wise it cant be better, in the heart of happening place of Guwahati.

There are few drawbacks Bathrooms were very oddly designed(not comfortable), takes a hell lot of time to get hot water in the evenings and Staff were indifferent & have an attitude like its your privellege to be here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sidharth_sattiraju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guwahati hotels
6.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Guwahati
3.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj Guwahati
Vivanta by Taj Guwahati
#1 of 67 in Guwahati
475 reviews
8.1 mi away
Brahmaputra Jungle Resort
Brahmaputra Jungle Resort
#13 of 67 in Guwahati
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ginger Hotel Guwahati
Ginger Hotel Guwahati
#4 of 67 in Guwahati
377 reviews
2.6 mi away
Dynasty Hotel
Dynasty Hotel
#12 of 67 in Guwahati
189 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cygnett Inn Repose
Cygnett Inn Repose
#7 of 67 in Guwahati
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gateway Grandeur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gateway Grandeur

Address: G S Road, Christianbasti, Guwahati 781005, India
Region: India > Assam > Kamrup Metropolitan District > Guwahati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 67 Hotels in Guwahati
Price Range: £54 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gateway Grandeur 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL GATEWAY GRANDEUR, Guwahati, as a city landmark and a veritable showcase of modern comforts and warm hospitality. Be it for pleasure or business, this hotel offers everything on a new level of luxury. The value is not just confined to the rooms, but also to the bar, restaurant and café. This business hotel has got the perfect ambience of every traveler in search of a comfortable stay, It is the perfect place where standards are not compromised but are raised up to a high level of their guests.Hotel Gateway Grandeur, A centrally air conditioned has 50 well-appointed rooms, including Presidential Suite , King’s,Queen’s,Princess Suites, Grandeur Club , Grandeur Bliss ,Grandeur Corporate & Grandeur Executive . The Rooms are spacious and tastefully embellished designed specially with the minutest details in mind to cater to the need and comfort of the guests in the best manner. All the rooms include a tea/ coffee maker, a well stocked mini bar, L.C.D. T.V., electronic safe lockers and other modern amenities in all category rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Gateway Grandeur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing