We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must visit while in Guwahati”
Review of Maihang

Maihang
Ranked #120 of 708 Restaurants in Guwahati
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Itanagar, India
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A must visit while in Guwahati”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

If you want to tickle your taste buds with authentic Assamese dishes, Maihang is the place for you. A place you won't regret after visiting.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank rajubarthakur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    8
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vasai, Maharashtra, India
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Authentic Assamese food..”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Thanks to my hosts at Guwahati for taking me to this wonderful and original place...The food is awesome and the ambiance just perfect.
Do try the local food with help from the local guys...I had the Veg Thali along with fish and chicken...Low on spice and oil but awesome flavors...Highly recommended.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank indimasala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Clean nice place for traditional food”
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

What restaurents like Delicacy and Khorika started was followed up quickly by many local to bes and Maihang came about. And thankfully it is a good effort.

Food is good, atmosphare good, but can be improved.

Specially the pork cut outs can be smaller or thinner.

Ok place to visit with family. Ambience is better than Khorika to take official giests.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PeOngLe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ethnic Assam Food”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

As we were planning our holidays we choose to visit the North East part of India as my son had to volunteer a mission in Guwahati. We had seen this restaurant on Fox traveller in the program "Highway on my plate". Our main aim to visit this restaurant was for tasting Black Rice.

The Restaurant is located on G S Road near Big Bazaar. It is on the First floor of the building. As we are Vegetarian we thought we would have very limited choice of food to select from the menu. We were not disappointed as we got a good choice of food to choose from.

We asked for the Vegetarian Thalli which had everything except the Black Rice so we ordered a separate portion of Black rice. They serve all food in Brass utensils and it is fun to eat food in it. I would like to confess i have never eaten such tasty food in my life. They Had three vegetables (Potato Dudhi and Karela(Bitter Gourd). two types of Dal, Rice, and a sweet dish (Kheer).

We loved the taste of the Black rice and as they also sell uncooked Rice, we bought 5 Kg of Black Rice for us to carry back for our family and friends.

The Staff of the restaurant and the owners are very friendly. As we were about to leave they offered us a packet of Elephant Fruit powder as a token of remembrance.

I would say please visit and enjoy the ethnic food of Assam at its best.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beepeeshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
1 review
“Ethnic Food from North-East”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Good ambience & service, the assamese ethnic food like the fish tenga, pork, the traditional rice was very nicely prepared. The dessert could have been a bit better with a little more vaiety.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank lopezmargarita46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maihang also viewed

Guwahati, Kamrup Metropolitan District
Guwahati, Kamrup Metropolitan District
 
Guwahati, Kamrup Metropolitan District
Guwahati, Kamrup Metropolitan District
 

Been to Maihang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing