We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super!! Don't miss the Sound & Light Show” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shrimanta Shankardeva Kalakshetra

Shrimanta Shankardeva Kalakshetra
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
408 reviews
212 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Super!! Don't miss the Sound & Light Show”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Amazing place. Excellent handicrafts, dance models, art gallery, and to top it all, a Sound & Light Show (6:15pm-7pm in Asamese, 7-7:40 pm in English).

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nish_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    36
    15
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Guwahati, India
Level Contributor
508 reviews
331 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 469 helpful votes
“Cultural venue”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

The Kalakshetra museum displays only a few exhibits of cultural artifacts of the region. It however hosts important cultural events and traditional performing arts.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bornav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
246 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Well Planned Structure That Needs Better Maintenance”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

We were at this art centre on a holiday and that too the first day of the calendar year! A lot of local citizens too had turned up at the centre and thus there were long lines for the tickets as well as large crowds in the park area as well as the museum itself. The complex is large and will require many hours with room for spending time in the landscaped garden areas. The museum is a good introduction to the rich art and culture of Assam. The displays at the museum are on four floors with the best objects kept at the ground floor and those on the upper floors not arranged well or missing information. Poor lighting, missing tags and repairs awaiting to be done were found in the upper floors. Nevertheless, this is one of the better planned museums in the country - with the structure allowing lot of light in during the day and allowing for easy movement across different levels. The displays pertain to the life, customs and art of people from Assam as well as people from other states in the north east of India. Some of the objects are from several centuries earlier. Objects shown include house hold use objects, objects used in festivals and celebrations and textiles. The crowd present at time of our visit was openly flouting the restriction against taking pictures and there was no one to stop photography although signs indicate so. We also went to the art museum which had very good collection and display of paintings. We did find good sculptures even on the outside and the garden had many blooming flowers adding to the nice ambience. This may not be a very well maintained complex, but it has a lot to offer to tourists to Assam.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank giribpai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guwahati
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Visit if you want to know about Assam”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

This is a place where one can have an idea of Assam's reach culture & history. A well maintained garden is just an additional attraction. If you want a fun-filled outing, this is not the best place to visit. But somebody who wants to know about Assam's history & culture, this a must visit place. Being an Assamese, I love to take my guests to this place to show the museums, light & sound show (afternoon) and my personal favorite - Dr. Bhupen Hazarika's museum.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank UtpalHazarika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“dont bother”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Not many things to do in Guwahati if you go there after Kaziranga shuts and are not big into temple hopping. So went to the Kalakshetra. What a waste! Big spacious plot, lovely setting. That's about it. The exhibits are a joke. Literally what the other museums would have thrown out. The only fun we had was the exhibition of papier mache / wooden sculptures. Purely one person's personal indulgence. Figures supposedly based on mythological figures, but totally ridiculous and some were hilarious. Only the big Ravan one was good.The doll museum has to be seen to be believed. There's supposed to be a sound and light show. They didn't start it because there were only 6 of us, and the minimum requirement was 10, i think. We'd kept hanging around till late evening just for that, hoping to salvage what was otherwise an utter flop.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jules-Verne007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shrimanta Shankardeva Kalakshetra also viewed

 

Been to Shrimanta Shankardeva Kalakshetra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing