We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly bad unless you love being shocked out of bed at 4am”
Review of Dynasty Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dynasty Hotel
Ranked #11 of 61 Hotels in Guwahati
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Incredibly bad unless you love being shocked out of bed at 4am”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

and kept up till after midnight

Based on the reviews and a reco by a "friend" I stayed here for 1 night, after flying in from the US. After the long flight I was hoping to get a good rest. Overlooked the musty 7th floor room, with dirty carpets. Hand soap had already been used and then put back in the paper box, Used hand towel still hanging. Had requested a non-smoking room and discovered acrid cigarette smoke after checking in. Was told by the receptionist that they have no non-smoking rooms -- all rooms are smoking. They have central air so you cannot escape the cigarette smoke. Popped an antihistamine pill and tried to sleep
Had pretty low expectations after all this, but it gets worse.
People milling about in the hallway playing loud music, banging on doors till after midnight
Gave up, tried the internet to check email. The wifi goes in and out.
Finally fell asleep
At 4 am was shocked out of bed by a loud continuous noise. Thought at first that it was an alarm that someone had set and left on. Flailed about trying to find it until I realized that it was a loudspeaker from a mosque and the morning prayer. About 5 mins later, another one joined in and both went for about 30 mins.
Hence this review at this ungodly hour.
The street is highly congested and the setting is not attractive. No redeeming values at all, and this was by far the most expensive of the higher rated hotels in tripadvisor for Guwahati. No way does this qualify as a 3 or 4 star experience that is advertised.

Room Tip: do not take rooms in the low 700 If you are allergic to smoke there are no acceptable rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    88
    45
    10
    9
See reviews for
35
15
14
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
visakhapatnam, andhra pradesh, India
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2013

it is situated in the city namely guwahati, the biggest city of north - east. Here u can avail all the required facilities instantly. Hotel staff's response is very good. i like it. The food is very good including the presentation. I like the location of the hotel, mainly it is in the middle of the city. The reception staffs are extremly friendly and helpful.Only few minutes spend at counter & you are in the comfort of your cozy room which are almost double in space as you find currently in five star hotels.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chinmoy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DynastyGuwahati, Front Office Manager at Dynasty Hotel, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your valuable feedback. We would like to inform you that the feedback from our valuable guests always inspire us to improve on our service designs thereby exceeding our guest experience.
We look forward to welcoming you back at Dynasty Guwahati soon.

kind regards
Dynasty Team !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Checked in on 6th September,13' after landing from Kolkata and found the reception staff extremely friendly and helpful. Only few minutes spend at counter & you are in the comfort of your cozy room which are almost double in space as you find currently in five star hotels. Rooms well equipped with all needs like minibar, tv , cozy king size beds & spacious baths with tubs.
As regards food , hotel has spacious multiple restaurants to cater to all your tastes as well as a well stocked bar. Staff I think has inherited courtesies from dynasties. Not only that you get all types of food at reasonable rates & hence doesn't pinch. Located very centrally , this hotel is best suited for all business traveller to this part of India. Keep it up Dynasty.

Room Tip: Lower floors room facing front end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dhanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DynastyGuwahati, Front Office Manager at Dynasty Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your precious feedback. We would like to inform you that the feedback from our valuable guests always inspire us to improve on our service designs thereby exceeding our guest experience. We look forward to welcoming you back at Dynasty Guwahati soon.

with kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Good hotel and nice rooms but prices they are taking is slightly on higher side but in guwhati, i feel this is the only good hotel to stay in and a location is in heart of the market and but far from the airport.

food and airport transfer services can be improved further and most important their complimentary wi-fi services are very poor.

Room Tip: check their wi-fi services before check in (it is working properly or not) as in Guwhati most of int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shabbirali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DynastyGuwahati, Front Office Manager at Dynasty Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your precious feedback. We would like to inform you that the feedback from our guests always inspire us to improve on our service designs thereby exceeding our guest experience. We have noted your concern for the WIFI connectivity and the services. Please be assured that we have taken immediate steps to improve and exceed our guests expectation. We assure you that you will be completely satisfied with the services on your next visit.
We look forward to welcoming you back at Dynasty Guwahati soon.
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

The location is awful: right within a busy market place. Parking is difficult. Rooms are ordinary. Food is also ordinary and unreasonably priced. It is promoted as a four-star hotel, but it does not feel like one. The name is fancy; the prices are fancier.

Room Tip: All are same apparently
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abhijit L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DynastyGuwahati, Front Office Manager at Dynasty Hotel, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your honest and valuable feedback. We would like to inform you that the feedback from our valuable guests always inspire us to improve on our service designs thereby exceeding our guest experience.
We have noted your concerns about the food prices and the room ambiance. We have taken your feedback positively and shall look into the areas of improvement to give value for money to our valued guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back at Dynasty Guwahati soon.

kind regards

Team Dynasty !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
198 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We stayed at this property for four nights and while not perfect we found it to be much better than the other two hotels we stayed in Guwahati. The rooms, are medium size, clean offering free bottled water and fully stocked minibar. Washroom is clean and offers the usual toiletries. The not so good: air conditioning could be either on or off, and after a while it was getting either freezing cold or too hot, there have been repeated power bumps while we were there ( common problem in Guwahati, not Dynasty’s fault), especially in the afternoon and night, and the WIFI speed was not consistently fast, especially in the evenings. WIFI was good enough for emails and surfing, but at times not so good for VOIP programs. By the way both the AC and the WIFI were far superior then in the other two hotels we stayed in the city.
A special consideration for anyone looking for a hotel in Guwahati, is street noise which can be absolutely horrendous, to the point that silicone earplugs have not been enough. Dynasty is located in the largest market / bazar in NE India, so getting there is an experience in itself, as the driver navigates some very narrow and crowded streets. Because of the narrow streets and very crowded area, there is some good news; the exterior noise level is much lower than in other hotels, allowing for a reasonable sleep. Many of the hotels in Guwahati are located on the main roads and are very noisy. Two more facts are worth mentioning. First there are many mosques around Dynasty. The call to prayer can be heard in the early morning but it is pretty short. Second, the railway station is relatively close and you will hear the trains in the morning; starting around 5 AM or so. Even so, this is a much better location!
The property has two restaurants, one with typical Indian food on the 2nd floor and one offering Indian, Chinese and western food on the 1st floor. Food is absolutely amazing!
Overall I would recommend this property and I will definitely go back on my next visit to Guwahati.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DynastyGuwahati, Front Office Manager at Dynasty Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your precious feedback. We would like to inform you that the feedback from our guests always inspire us to improve on our service designs thereby exceeding our guest experience. We look forward to welcoming you back at Dynasty Guwahati soon.

with kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
105 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Situated amidst crowded market place and at a 5minutes walk from Bramhaputra it is a place where you are treated with utmost hospitality.
Rooms are nicely decorated,food is palatable and the staff is courteous.The view out is not good as you could see only old buildings .
It is however a paradise for marketing as the assam silk is available along with the wooden show pieces in plenty just near the hotel.Must go to buy sarees which are really at a genuine price.A walk to the bank of Bramhaputra in the morning is soothing and amazing.So much of water in a river is unbelievable.

Room Tip: Must buy a silk saree while staying in Dynasty
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravi050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DynastyGuwahati, Front Office Manager at Dynasty Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your precious feedback. We would like to inform you that the feedback from our guests always inspire us to improve on our service designs thereby exceeding our guest experience. We look forward to welcoming you back at Dynasty Guwahati soon.

with kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guwahati hotels
0.3 mi away
Mayflower Hotel
Mayflower Hotel
#1 of 61 in Guwahati
181 reviews
5.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Guwahati
2.3 mi away
Cygnett Inn Repose
Cygnett Inn Repose
#4 of 61 in Guwahati
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Vivanta by Taj Guwahati
Vivanta by Taj Guwahati
#2 of 61 in Guwahati
378 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Guwahati Address by Centre Point
0.6 mi away
Hotel Atithi
Hotel Atithi
#15 of 61 in Guwahati
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dynasty Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dynasty Hotel

Property: Dynasty Hotel
Address: SS Road | Lakhtokia, Guwahati 781001, India
Region: India > Assam > Kamrup Metropolitan District > Guwahati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Guwahati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dynasty Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of river Brahamputra, in the business center of Guwahati, Assam, Hotel Dynasty is a 4 star luxurious and one of the best hotels of North East region, serving the guest from all over the globe for past 21 years. The hotel is equipped with spaces ranging from a Boardroom to Large Banquet Hall. It is ideal for business meetings or private events and offering various options for accommodation and food & beverage services to cater the need of both business and leisure travelers.The hotel is located within 1 km range from the Guwahati Railway Station and 24 km from the Lokpriya Gopinath Bordoloi International Airport.The hotel offers varied unique Dining Experiences. Fresh, local produce, natural ingredients and vivid regional curries make Dynasty Hotel a smart choice for any of your meals. Our kitchen never closes, so you can eat on your schedule or on a whim. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dynasty Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dynasty Hotel Guwahati

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing