We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must Say, Amazzingg stay & unbeatable view !!!”
Review of Grand View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand View Hotel
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Dalhousie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Travelled from bangalore as a couple in April 2014...thanks to reviews on TripAdvisor which helped me in decision...each and every detail of all these reviews are very much true...
Could not ask for a better hotel, which is a combination of comfort, luxury & worth each penny in Dalhousie...we have opted for Bfast inclusive plan & its pretty decent spread of english, south & north Indian cuisine...room service is very prompt ...loved our welcome drink, freshly made apple juices...special mention to Ms Radhika, who being the hotel owner has personally greets each and every guest inquiring about the stay & experience... for us, its 1st ever such long distance vacation post our wedding & remains memorable and very special ..
Room tip: Please opt for luxury rooms, its sooo worthyy for suchh a majestic & magical view from balconies
Suggestions: For the price we pay for luxury rooms, i suggest, you should include, shower caps, room slippers, dental kit etc

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sansuj2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,763)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,271 - 1,277 of 1,763 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

There are two wings in this hotel, one is Old and other is New. Old wing bld rooms interior and exterios are made of Deodar wood. The experience is amazing. Additionally on the backside there is a lawn and from the lawn is stunning. Himalaya mountains all over, covered with snow.. Just sit and relax for hrs. In the night the hotel gives facility for born fire,

Room Tip: Opt for the Old wing and at ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shashikant2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Well, what do I say about this hotel. Britishers definitely had the knack of finding the best view plots in hill stations to build their palaces/ colonial houses. This hotel is a heritage property of approx. 100 yrs yet renovated with all modern amenities from the inside. Unarguably the best view of snow capped Dauladhar ranges, hence the name 'Grand View'. The restaurant was excellent with live karaoke and food was lip smacking.

The only point to note is that there is a steep steps and walk of 100m from main road towards the hotel lobby and cars wouldn't reach the lobby. Cars are parked opposite to the road in the Dalhousie club premises. So, old people who have issues walking steep incline should be careful.

Room Tip: Take the heritage wing rooms with easy access to the hanging balconies. Ask for a bonfire...it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Myself and my wife visited this hotel in the month of March(2nd Week). As soon as i entered the hotel, the view was great and the hotel staffs were also very courteous and helpful. Food quality was also very good. Overall experience was great!!

Room Tip: Royal Suite/Luxury
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Santosh_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

As such there are so many positive points, would summarise as under:

• The Property is beautiful, within city, but the views of the valley magnificent, in fact the view from the Royal Suite where we stayed was awesome.
• The arrangement in the room was perfect, everything was so diligently managed, that we never found short of anything.
• Co-operation of the team is excellent, The room heater arrangement was excellent, and whenever we asked team to keep it on, our request was honoured, which normally is not a practice by most of the Hill station hotels.
• I must appreciate that your team is excellent, they treat every Guest, like their house guest, always there to help you, which now a days is difficult to find even in 5 star hotels. In fact, in my case, on my request, they served Breakfast and Dinner, for my wife and daughter in our room, since my daughter was not well.
• The most important part, is the involvement of the Owner, Ms. Chaddha, she called us on our Intercom no. to enquire whether we are comfortable with arrangement and services, which indeed is a very good gesture.

Room Tip: Choose Royal Suite, views are magnificent from suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 105Ashish1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We had a family vacation with 2 kids (twins of 6 year each). we really enjoyed there. excellent property, very well maintained & excellent location & very beautiful & panoramic view. very good food also

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chintan_n_mehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed in the Hotel for 3 Days in May and We just fell in love with this hotel. View from Room is captured in my eyes. Food and Entertainment is Great. Much appreciated their well designed buffet. Can you imagine hotel serving 4 Good Desserts in buffet on top of the Hills. BUT this hotel Does. Staff is full of Energy which proves owners must be keeping them in high spirits. Another best part of the Hotel is Full of Staff -which means they are giving employment to more than 100 Localites which I found great because normally now a days you find hotels with Skeleton staff due to cost cut. Finally- if you are going to Dalhousie - then don't look anywhere else. Thanks Ritesh

Room Tip: Go for Luxury Room with Valley View,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ritesh_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dalhousie hotels
0.1 mi away
JK Clarks Exotica Dalhousie
1.0 mi away
Alps Resort Dalhousie
Alps Resort Dalhousie
#4 of 36 in Dalhousie
124 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aamod at Dalhousie
Aamod at Dalhousie
#6 of 36 in Dalhousie
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Snow Valley Resorts Dalhousie
2.8 mi away
Atithi Resort
Atithi Resort
#29 of 36 in Dalhousie
52 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lall Ji Tourist Resort
Lall Ji Tourist Resort
#22 of 36 in Dalhousie
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand View Hotel

Address: Near Dalhousie Club, Dalhousie 176304, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Chamba District > Dalhousie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Dalhousie
Price Range: £38 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in the early 19th Century, Grand View was the favorite getaway of the British Regalia. Spread in a 3 acre estate, Grand View Hotel is ideally located in the heart of Dalhousie, a 5 minute walk from the Mall and very close to the Tourist Bureau and The Dalhousie Club. The Hotel offers Quality Service, Legendary Hospitality and attention at all times. The largest hotel in Dalhousie consisting of 53 rooms and suites, it is divided into three blocks – Imperial, Luxury and Economy. Nestling amidst the ranges of the Himalayas, the Colonial Architecture of the Imperial Block offers the perfect ambiance to rejuvenate your soul. The Imperial Block transports you to an era bye gone and at the same time, the grand elegant rooms and suites offer amenities for the modern day discerning traveller. The Luxury Block has given a new dimension to hospitality in Dalhousie where breath taking views and comfort combine in a way to give total customer satisfaction and make for a complete holiday.Dining in the majestic British Style Multi- cuisine “Tiffins” Restaurant is an enriching experience. Besides the largest Restaurant in Dalhousie we are also proud of “Summit”, the largest and only Centrally Heated Conference Hall in Dalhousie. The grandeur of the vast Terrace Lawns and the splendid and awe inspiring view from the Observation Deck gives one a semblance of a “Walk in the Clouds”. Grand View has a long history of catering to the best corporate clientele and have also played host to a number of celebrity clients and film stars. It would be our pleasure to add your name to the list of our esteemed clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Grand View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing