We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel ever visited”
Review of Hotel President

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel President
Ranked #30 of 34 Hotels in Dalhousie
Ahmedabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst hotel ever visited”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I visited this hotel as a planned tour from Radheshyam Group of Ahmedabad. Although hotel is situated at a good location which can offer great view of Dalhousie hills, it hardly has any amenities to offer. Even the newly renovated rooms in Dec.13 doesn't stand up to a standard. The hotel staff is not friendly at all, few of them keep staring at you in sarcastic nod once you ask about something or request for something. Many of staff members start discussions about pay once they are around customers making it a situation where we can come to know about their lower wedges.

The rooms have TV sets but it hardly has one or two channel offerings. Choose this hotel only if you don't have any other choice plus an ability to bear the chilled water in Dalhousie weather.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mahesh_Shah29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    12
    7
    6
    4
See reviews for
21
9
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We were supposed to stay at different room then allocated another one. The room was stinking like anything. We requested the manager to change the room but still we had to stay & spend one night in that room. So overall the service lacking in terms of overall service. The food was also not tasty.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank varuen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

President is a great place to stay in Dalhousie. The rooms are surprisingly big and the view out of the windows was fantastic. The hotel also has ample parking space.
The restaurant however was only average.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sumit N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solapur, India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

As our group journey, we travelled frm Palampur to Dalhousie. The climate and Dalhousie itself is tooooo....good. Though the hotel looked good, had DJ, nice ambiance, good rooms. But the cubboards were just to be kept closed, really bad. There was a incident that took place at evening whn we kept the heater ON, had our dinner and came back to our room, the water heater blasted with all hot air and water. It was good tht no one was hurt in it, but those people said "it was nothing" next day they didnt repair it and we had to ask for hot water.. this was really a bad experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Journeyer_star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dalhousie hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013 via mobile

I stay in December and I'm very happy to say that the hotel was great, value for money if u wanna go Dalhousie then stay here. Me & my wife was very happy because the view of hotel is great and u can see the snow fall outer the window its so amazing, and attractive.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarjeet92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Hi,

I saw at least 7 hotel's room before seeing this balcony room of Hotel president.
In my view, this place has the best infrasturcture in town. So clean rooms, Good service, Excellent balcony view.

This is the best hotel here. Just go for it.

It felt like home. Once you stay at this hotel there is no chance you could visit any other.

Room Tip: Go for balcony rooms (corner ones).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeepakVerma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pathankot
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2010

Our stay in this hotel was very comfortable.it is located on the side of hills.Its windows provide you a very beautiful look of hill stations.It is a very peaceful place to stay away from the busy life of the city.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rajeshsir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dalhousie hotels
0.5 mi away
Alps Resort Dalhousie
Alps Resort Dalhousie
#8 of 34 in Dalhousie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mohan Palace Dalhousie
Mohan Palace Dalhousie
#6 of 34 in Dalhousie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.4 mi away
Snow Valley Resorts Dalhousie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lall Ji Tourist Resort
Lall Ji Tourist Resort
#21 of 34 in Dalhousie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
1.7 mi away
Atithi Resort
Atithi Resort
#12 of 34 in Dalhousie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kumar's
Hotel Kumar's
#3 of 34 in Dalhousie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel President

Property: Hotel President
Address: Gandhi Chowk Satdhara Road, Dalhousie 176304, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Chamba District > Dalhousie
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 34 Hotels in Dalhousie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing