We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Upadhyay Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kullu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Upadhyay Cottages
Ranked #1 of 69 Speciality Lodging in Kullu
Certificate of Excellence
Tirunelveli, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Hi,This is the first time we have come to the north part of India.Initially we were afraid how our trip might turn out to be.But we were pleasently shocked how hospitable the people are here.The room service is extremely perfect and the rooms are of top quality.But above all the hospitability of this cottage owner Mr.Rajesh amazes me. Also the services provided by serviceman Sham and the car driver Dev also deserves praise. One of the our friends lost his purse and Our driver Dev just provided great support.Also Mr.Rajesh provided great support in arranging the alternatives for our friend who lost his pan card with his purse.

Also the snow covered manali place is a must watch place for everyone.Overall a memorable place and I highly recommend everyone to visit this place

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AbelMariadoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    26
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
128
59
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

I was driving around Himachal towards the end of 2013. Towards the end of my trip I decided to splurge a bit and relax. Upadyay cottages definitely hit the spot for me. It's far away from the madness of Manali, with great views to be had from the cottages.

I was put up in Cottage no.2, big windows, great room plus wifi meant that I had nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank engti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

It was an awesome experience. Had one of my best New Year Celebration along with Rajeevji, Rajneshji, Shamji, Shoam & my freinds. The hospitality provided & cottage was truly amazing & specially the food was delicious. Felt like lets stay for few more days every morning. Will surely visit again. We Love You Rajeevji but we wont Kiss You ;)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nitish_Gandhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed at Upadhyay Cottages in Cottage #1 for 3 nights from January 14th till 17th 2014. It was one of the most amazing stay that we have ever experienced in last few years. It was literally like we were at our home. The hospitality shown by Mr. Rajeev and his entire family was amazing. Mr. Rajeev and Rajnesh took us to the town on their vehicle whenever we needed to buy anything and were very helpful.
It was very cold when we went there and every night when we reached the cottage after full day's sight seeing, the heaters in the rooms were switched on and the room was hot. Mr. Rajeev himself prepared the campfire for us outside the cottage and helped us bear the extreme cold and made us so comfortable.
Below are various points that I would like to mention about Upadhyay Cottages.
Location - The cottage is located in a really beautiful area outside the town of Katrain in between the apple, persimmon, walnut, lime and lemon garden. The view from the cottage is really awesome especially the view from the big balcony that is on the first floor of the cottage. You will be able to see snow capped mountains on all sides of the cottage.
Rooms - As mentioned earlier, we stayed in Cottage #1 with 3 bedrooms in it. The rooms were very spacious with a big cot, enough pillows and big razais to bear the extreme cold. The bathrooms were also very neat and well maintained with hot water available all the time. Shyam and Shomu cleaned the room every day when we leave for site seeing. There was also a dining room as well as outside dinning area for having food with enough tables and chairs for accommodating about 10-12 people.
Food - The food prepared by them was really delicious and the quantity was also good. Shyam was very kind as he used to prepare food for us as and when we requested; sometimes at odd times as well. The mixed vegetables with shimla mirchi was excellent. There is a kitchen in the cottage with a stove, fridge, enough utensils and spices if you would like to cook your own food.
Overall it was an excellent stay and we really felt as if we stayed in one of our relatives house and not like a cottage at all. May god give the entire family good health and happiness through out.
I would definitely come back again and recommend Updahyay cottages to all my friends and known people who wish to go to Kullu and Manali.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shreeram47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chennai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

It was an experience for a lifetime . The hospitality provided by rajeev ji and his team was amazing. It was truly like a home I dreamt about in my dreams. The snow covered mountain view outside the cottage was marvellous as if some artist has drawn a jem of a painting.. The food served specially chicken was the tastiest chicken I had in recent times. Our new year began with a blast and all thanks to Rajeevji ,Rajneshji, Shoam and Shang. We love you :)

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdiShetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

We were at Upadhay Cottages from 10th December to 12th December and travelled as a group of 4 so had booked cottage no. 2 which has two beautiful spacious bedrooms with attached bathrooms, a big kitchen cum dining room and a cozy verandah in front just right for relaxing in the sun. The view from all the cottages is beautiful but the one from cottage no. 3 is the best (probably because its situated higher up the hill). Mr. Rajeev Upadhay and his family went out of their way to make our stay comfortable, relaxing and enjoyable. They were very helpful in suggesting where all to go for sightseeing, where to shop etc. and even surprised us with a bonfire in front of our cottage on our last night there. The food was delicious (all homecooked), especially breakfast with alu-parathas (yuummmy !!) and a fruit basket which was replenished every day. Dinner consisted of soup, dal, roti, rice, salad and a sabji. Nonveg food is also available on request and may I add that even though the whole Upadhay family are vegetarians, the non veg dishes cooked were delicious. They even cooked separate (non-spicy) dishes for my three year old daughter even without my saying so. I was really touched and amazed at their thoughtfulness. The rooms and bathrooms were cleaned daily and kitchen amenities provided are adequate if someone wants to do their own cooking (including a fridge, gas oven, kitchen utensils, cutlery and basic spices). All in all, it was a great experience made more memorable by the hospitality shown by the Upadhay family. I will definitely be back again someday and would be recommending them to everyone I know.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ritu13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

Our 3 nights stay at Upadhyay Cottages was quite cozy and comfortable, worth the money spent.The hospitality services provided were excellent with Mr.Rajeev Upadhyay making all arrangements for our sight seeing tour.Mr Rajeev picked us from Katrain which is half the way between Kulu and Manali. We stayed at Cottage 2 along with our 2 kids. The cottage was spacious with a king size bed , a well - equipped kitchen and delicious home cooked food on demand. Above all we could get a view of the snow capped mountains from our bed room window. The children had a good time playing on the swing and hurling snow balls at each other. We feel really lucky to have experienced snow fall at this time of the year during our second day of stay here. We would certainly love to come back again

Room Tip: Cottage 2 has an unobstructed view of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobbyBahrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kullu
7.8 mi away
The Anantmaya Resort
8.7 mi away
Holiday Heights Manali
Holiday Heights Manali
#2 of 114 in Manali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Himalayan
The Himalayan
#1 of 114 in Manali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Honeymoon Inn Manali
Honeymoon Inn Manali
#8 of 114 in Manali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tree House Cottages
Tree House Cottages
#2 of 69 in Kullu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
5.1 mi away
Himalayan Kothi Kias
Himalayan Kothi Kias
#5 of 69 in Kullu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Upadhyay Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Upadhyay Cottages

Property: Upadhyay Cottages
Address: Village Jong, P.O. Katrain, Kullu 175129, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kullu District > Kullu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 69 Speciality Lodging in Kullu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing