We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Enchanting trip back in time”
other traveller has booked this property
VIP Room 1
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
VIP Room 1
The Grand Old Lady Double Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
VIP Room 1
The Grand Old Lady
Double Room
VIP Room
Dormitory
Pantry
Kitchen 2
Kitchen 1
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Pragpur, Kangra District, Himachal Pradesh

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mathew_JV
Hyderabad, India
1 review
“Enchanting trip back in time”
Reviewed 4 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Garli is a quaint and charming village in Pragpur, nestled in the foothills of the majestic Himalayas. The Beas river flows confidently along,adding to the beauty of the lush green hills and valleys. Naurang Yatri Niwas was built 2 generations ago and the present owners, the Lals, have taken great care not to add a single brick to it. It is freshly painted and spick and span. Checking into Naurang is the beginning of a trip going back in time. The atrium at the centre of the guest house gives it a bright, airy and open feel.

The efficient, polite and pleasing staff are available round the clock. Morning coffee and tea is served on the top floor balcony. The view of the surrounding verdant pastures right up to the snow capped Himalayas makes it a unique experience. The food is ethnic Himachali all the way and leaves its mark on the taste buds.

Our first day was spent exploring the village and its surroundings. The village was a centre of learning and boasts of a number of schools including girls schools. It also has many medical facilities and very old multi-storied buildings which still speak of ancient glory through their weather beaten structures. The Lals took care to arrange for us to visit some of these unique buildings along with briefings. One of them was a centre of Sanskrit learning. We also visited a small temple near by, which stood out for its murals and frescos as some divine artists expressed themselves with abandon in the ages gone by. A program of Ghazals and old songs in the atrium of the guest house topped off the day.

The second day included a visit to Dharamshala, the Dalai Lama's home and seat of the Tibetan government-in-exile. Surrounded by forests on the Himalayan foothills, this hillside city is one of the most picturesque places we visited. The ride from Garli to Dharamshala and back had equally scenic views. The evening included a taste of Himachali culture by local women and it included devotionals, Wedding songs and folk dances.

The third day's program was a trip to Pong dam, about 3 hours away along the winding roads with hairpin bends and glimpses of the Beas river. On reaching there we realized that we needed permission. When the police officer manning the security saw our disappointment, he advised us to drive by to the other side and enjoy the view of the dam without alighting. That positive attitude added to the charm of the trip and we enjoyed it. The evening was spent chatting with some other guests over tea and snacks and later over dinner. Thereafter we packed up for our return trip the next day.

One thing that stood our was the graciousness of our hosts, Mrs. and Mr. Lal who took care of any special needs and made sure we got an insight into the evolution of Garli into the serene, unspoilt and inviting village it is today with a proud history. They also showed us some activities encouraged by them to revive ancient skills and enhance earning potential of the villagers. We purchased some pure wool sheets and other items made there.

This place is for the discerning tourist looking to rejuvenate in a peaceful and soothing rustic environment, away from the glare of bright lights of commercial tourism. We would like to visit again at a later date, may be in a group.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Maintaining the ancient character, cleanliness, staff service, food, village visit
Liked least: wi-fi was a bit unpredictable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Apr 2016
Thank you so much for writing in, and supporting the local artisans with your purchases. Happy you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you and your friends & family in the near future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subhash C
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome experience, hospitality and rustic charm of himachal pradesh”
Reviewed 4 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Once in a while we need to get away from all the commercial noise and pollution to relax with friends with no expectations. Did just that in this trip to Garli tucked away in Himachal Pradesh with the Himalayas in the background. Nauang Yatri Niwas is a historical haveli carefully restored with pride by the owners Mr. Atul Lal and his wife Ira. With all the modern amenities we are accustomed to in place, it was easy to relax and enjoy the pampering by the staff starting with a hot cup of tea or coffee in the mornings looking at the Himalayas, hearing the birds chirping and breathing fresh air.

A walk down the village road early morning left a memorable experience of the simplicity and beauty of village life. It was the day of the festival of Holi. A young lady all dressed up in the brightest of pinks stood outside her home politely asking if she could put color on us as we walked past. A touching example of how open and welcoming the people of Garli are. Folk songs and dances by the village folk in the haveli court yard added another memorable evening to our stay.

Good food makes good vacations. Excellent variety of food prepared by the in-house staff using organic home grown produce catered to the essential requirements of a well fed and healthy vacation. Enjoyed every minute of our stay.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Apr 2016
It was a pleasure to have you over, and we are happy you enjoyed the overall experience.

Thank you so much for you kind words, they motivate us to do even better.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
251Minnie
Mumbai, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best vacation -Wonderful place, excellent location, great food and hospitality”
Reviewed 3 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Came to Garli and found Naurang Yatri Nivas a wonderful place to stay. It has great views of the greenery around and the mountains in the distance. Loved the little place they have adjacent to the rooms to enjoy this with the morning cuppa !
Very clean and well maintained bathrooms and all the rooms had clean linen and comforters, to ensure the time spent in the rooms were comfortable.
The location of the property lends itself to easy day tours around the place and nice morning walks to the river..
The owners were extremely hospitable and ensured we got a taste of the local culture with an evening of ghazals followed by an evening of dance.
The food was one of the significant high-points of the trip !!
Delicious..Authentic Himachal cuisine ....personally supervised by the Mrs. SO Good , we noted down all the recipes to try at home !!
Overall.. one of the best vacations ever in a lovely place !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great location, Good food and impecabble hospitality
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2016
Thank You for your kind words. It was a pleasure hosting you, and we look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Srini V
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good place good food”
Reviewed 2 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Charming facility. For a Chicago dweller, NYN gave me a taste (and later a longing) for the simple elegant comfort. The rooms are worth the money. The open courtyard makes for a nice gathering place and serves as a mini theater for the occasional entertainment that is provided. Also provides plenty of natural light to the facility. There are large balconies upstairs with nice views, and morning coffee was served there upon request.

The food will touch you. This is no restaurant food. The Lals grow their own grains, vegetables and fruit. Our group was eager and ready for every meal and feasted on the parathas, the rotis, the meat and veggie dishes, and the ever present salad and fruit accompaniments. The desserts made their own statements as well. The humble chef was happy to share his recipes, though that could have been my charm.

Service was attentive and unobtrusive. The staff was quick to learn of individual needs and were completing our sentences with a smile by the 3rd day, when we went for our requests.

I would go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2016
We are glad you enjoyed the stay. Our chef was enquiringly if you had the opportunity to try his recipes! Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing