We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Up and Away!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chingaara Estate Guest House
Ranked #20 of 285 Kodagu (Coorg) B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
50 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Up and Away!”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We chose Chingaara because it is near the highest point in Kodagu. The arrival was dramatic as we had to leave the car near the highway and be transported up the steep hill track in the estate jeep.

The location is sylvan, surrounded by coffee estates and the rooms are reasonably spacious. There is a main building and a second one. We stayed in the second building, a little away and we thought the view was better.

Sharath, the owner, is an affable gentleman and his staff are friendly and eager to serve. The food is a fixed buffet, quite good and there was sufficient change in the menu during our two nights stay.

We had gone for rest, so we did not explore the extreme treks. We did walk up to Honey Valley, the neighbouring property which is Sharath's father's. It is more of a resort and very beautiful.

Our grouse was that most of the time there was no electricity. As it was quite hot, we suffered the lack of a fan! The estate does have a generator but as its operation did not match our sleeping times, we had a bad time.

Room Tip: Please check the power situation before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monujesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    32
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
21
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2014

A group of 31 of us were guests at Chingaara for one day 12.04.2014. Owned by Mr. Sharath the resort is nestled amidst coffee plantation far away from the noise of city. One can experience a feeling of being in haven. Sharath has an excellent team the hospitality was great. All the staff was very cooperative. The cooking is worth mentioning. The food taste still lingers on in my memory. The team from chingaara was waiting to receive us at Kabinnakad junction. The resort is 3 km jeep drive through narrow winding steep stone laid path. The thrilling experience the jeep dive itself is unforgettable. Spacious and clean rooms with neatly laid beds. After a sumptuous breakfast we went for a trek to Thadiyandamol with packed lunch accompanied by a guide. The trek route through the scenic plantations and rain forest, steep uphill climb was worth sweating it out. Midway through the trek we were greeted by loud thunder which was accompanied by hail storm. Out in open with no cover the experience of being hit by small pieces ice on the head and body was a unique. The sudden down pour brought to life the blood sucking leach. May of my colleagues was preyed upon by these blood hungry leaches. I am sure the leach too had a great day. Back to the resort by sunfall drained out we were ushered to a bonfire party. Sitting around the campfire sipping our drinks and discussing the events of the day under open sky late into the night was a great experience. The buffet dinner was served with a variety of mouthwatering dishes. After a restful night we left the resort in the jeep. The downhill drive through narrow curving path with one of the staff hanging by a rope behind the jeep to maintain balance of the jeep was one a king experience. Thanks to Sharath and team for the memorable experience for the team.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SGiri2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trento, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

The place is beautiful, the staff is very welcoming and always ready to satisfy your needs. The owner Sharath and his family are also very kind, smiley and friendly. They all made me feel at home. The rooms are very big and confortable and hot water is always available. The food is delicious, the cook prepares non spicy food when foreigners are there!! The garden, in the middle of the cooffee plantations, is full of colorful flowers and plants, very well manteined. The place itself is veeery quiet and perfect if you want to escape from the noise of the cities. There are beautiful walks and trekkings to do around there, long and short, easy and difficult. A little trekking booklet is also available and it explains the paths.
The dogs are very friendly, if they see you walking somewhere they come with you!!! And the 3 donkeys are beautiful too!!!
I stayed at Chingaara for one week, it's the perfect place for taking rest and having good food!! It was hard to leave, but for sure I will go back!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RominaCampo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Part of the charm is getting there. By arrangement, we abandoned our tour car temporarily in the village below and were then taken to the guest house by Land Rover: the uneven stone paved road to it is at a gradient of one in four at least. Certainly an exciting way to arrive.

The Chingaara Estate Guest House is secluded among trees and even quieter than the nearby Happy Valley establishment (both are owned and managed by members of the same family). It is truly a blissful place.

There is a small number of rooms in the main building and annexe combined. In the main building, the dining room / lobby / common room situated on the ground floor works well for guests, since the space is large and serves its different purposes well. The kitchens are close by and the food is well prepared and largely locally sourced as far as we could tell. And it is all very clean.

Our rooms had three beds and friends next door had the same; both rooms had walk-in wet rooms (shower and wc) with hot water. When we reported an apparent problem with the hot water we were told that it was heated via solar panels and piped from a distance: we then found that, with a little patience, it worked fine.

Be prepared for some occasional noise: two pet adult donkeys and their offspring sometimes cavort about the stone paving outside. They gave us several endearing moments of fun.

Management is attentive and they and their staff are most willing to please. We were sad to leave when it came time to do so.

Room Tip: Our room and our friends' room were on the south side and were quiet despite being over the kitc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2014

If you are looking for a peaceful, relaxed, rejuvenating holiday spot you can count on Chingaara. It's amidst woods taking us close to nature. We can take a nice walk around the coffee estate in the morning and enjoy the music of birds which we often don't get to hear in urban cities. The host was very friendly and gave good hospitality. They also served tasty hygienic food with few Coorg delicacies. Getting to the place might be little difficult because of bad roads; and once we reach the spot, the host picks us up in a jeep as it is hard to climb a kilometre uphill.It's a good place for families and couples to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happyface2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai,India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We decided to visit the Chingaara Estate Guest House in December 2013 inspired by the wonderful reviews and pictures we saw on trip advisor. However, the place is nice but definitely not worth the hype. The road to reach the estate is horribly bad and no road signs or any directions are available to lead us to the place. The drive from the main road to the guest house is also really bad and even in the estate's 4x4 vehicle it is a very bumpy ride. The rooms are decent and spacious but the bathrooms could have been made a little better and cleaner. The rods in the bathroom were falling apart and didnt give an overall nice feeling. The good thing was we were 3 families together and luckily we had the whole floor to ourselves including the huge sit-out. This was a nice experience but as soon as the other rooms got filled 2 days later there was chaos.
The food is home cooked and preparation was the local coorgi way. The manager was very helpful and catered to all our needs which was a huge help since we all had small babies.One huge plus point is that you are in the lap of nature n short walks lead you to a waterfall and treks which are fun.
Overall my view is the place is good for the rates offered but better options can be made available which are more accessible and easier to reach.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Divya_Mumbai_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bombay
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

First a word of warning!
If you like to holiday in style with all the luxuries at hand & want to dash around sightseeing, then do not come here & do not read further!

Now, for those who prefer a more sedate holiday in the lap of nature, this can be one of the places to be! Yes, there is no TV & no fans / AC available, but that is part of the joy in this place.

We, a family of 6 & one child stayed here for 3 nights in Nov 2013 after reading some good reviews & had high expectations of the place.... & our expectations were exceeded!

To reach this place, you have to first reach Kabinakad junction, from where you will be picked up by 4x4 jeeps & driven up a winding & bumpy route to Chingaara. All supplies & pickups/drops are done by these jeeps owned by the estate.

The rooms are huge, & two of them were more than enough to accommodate all of us. The weather is so cool, that you do not feel the need for fans or AC.
The vistas are fantastic & we would spend hours in the balcony & lawns watching for birds, butterflies & the ever changing skies. There are many trails around where you can take leisurely walks at a languid pace, observing the various flowers & other beauties of nature. Because of the isolation, you can wander around in the coffee & pepper plantations for long hours without encountering many people. Close by within the estate is an amazing waterfall where you can take a dip! A longer uphill walk (or a 4x4 jeep ride) can take you up to Honey Valley Estate, which is also another beautiful property of the same owners. There are a few indoor games & lots of books available for those who would prefer to spend their time indoors. We never missed TV & other such entertainment in all our time spent here.

Food is served buffet style except for non-veg which you have to order in advance. The food is like home cooked stuff & a lot is obtained from produce of the estate itself.

Hospitality is excellent & Mr.Sharath & his manager take all pains to ensure that you a have a good stay.

For those jittery on creepy crawlies, a few words of caution - you are likely to encounter a lot of flying insects such as moths, but there are all harmless & a part & parcel of living in such places. Also, you may sometimes get the occasional leech in the damper areas of the trails, so just be on the lookout for these.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jd1073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kodagu (Coorg) hotels
0.5 mi away
The Tamara Coorg
The Tamara Coorg
#1 of 1 in Yavakapadi Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
17.4 mi away
Orange County, Coorg
Orange County, Coorg
#1 of 1 in Siddapura
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,693 reviews
23.3 mi away
Coorg Jungle Camp Backwater Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj Madikeri
Vivanta by Taj Madikeri
#1 of 22 in Madikeri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
1.3 mi away
Misty Woods
Misty Woods
#1 of 5 in Kakkabe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
18.2 mi away
The Windflower Resort and Spa, Coorg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chingaara Estate Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chingaara Estate Guest House

Property: Chingaara Estate Guest House
Address: Yavakapady Village Post | Kabbinakkad, Madikeri Taluk, 571212, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Karnataka > Kodagu (Coorg)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 285 B&Bs / Inns in Kodagu (Coorg)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Chingaara Estate Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chingaara Estate Guest House India/Kodagu (Coorg), Karnataka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing