We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hell will be better”
Review of Coorg Regency

Coorg Regency
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Coorg Regency
Ranked #223 of 337 Kodagu (Coorg) B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Saw the spacious room..we were happy.But that was the end of our happiness
Dusty unwashed bed sheets
Non working TV
No drinking glasses available on request
After one hour of begging and fighting they gave us two glasses for three guests
They were reluctant to change dirty Bed sheets.they wanted us to just dust them.
No hangers for the clothes.
Very badly trained.non disciplined room boys who directly tell no to anything.
When asked for drinking glasses they say that shop outside is closed for buying glasses.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tripadvize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2013

We stayed for 2 nights, rooms are spacious for triple occupancy but food was pathetic baring idli and dosa items for breakfast. Room service took 1/2 an hour for 2 cups of tea , when reminded we were told it wud take aother 10 mins!! Restaurant was lousy with hygiene very low on their list. The same person who served the food also washed the dishes and prepared the food too. The table cleaning duster seems to have been washed ages ago, it left oily marks on the table and the whole place stank after the table was cleaned. They served food as though they are doing a great favour by doing so.Better to have your food at East End Hotel just across the road though the service is equally delayed but food is good esp for non vegans.
Though it was pouring the hotel did not have an umbrella to spare. At the time of check out we had to call for a rickshaw as this was not a part of their service as was told.

Good place if you want to spend the night only ( not the day).Needs to improve on customer service very badly. Many cheaper and good options around than this hotel. Strictly no if with family.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank mangala s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We had found this hotel online and thought it was a decent option considering our budget. So we booked a triple sharing deluxe room(1.7k per day) for saturday 18May and sunday 19May. We spoke to the receptionist and confirmed our rooms. A day before our trip, we called them to reconfirm our stay. We were to reach coorg on sat morning. But they told us if we wanted the rooms that early, we had to pay for Friday night as well. WTF! When we told them that we were not going to pay for a extra day simply. So they agreed to let us change early morning in a different room and at 9am when our room is ready, they will shift our luggage in the room.

So when we reached on 18th Morning, they gave us a double deluxe room to freshen up. The room was just horrible. Stinky, dirty and in rags. But still we adjusted as we were to leave for sight seeing soon. They helped us with taxi, but they told us extremely high rates and were not the least cooperative. We wanted to travel in jeep and they werent getting much profit out of that so they lied about the rates to make us go in their taxi.

When we reached back in the evening, we found our luggage still in the counter left open for the whole day and we were told that triple sharing room weren't available so we had to adjust in the same dirty double sharing room with an extra bed, (which wil now be cleaned and be given to us in an hour.) with the tariff of 1.6k. We left the hotel right that time. We got a call from them asking us to come back for a room rent of 1.3k, but it wasnt worth all d trouble.

** Please people don't go to this hotel even by mistake. There are lot cheaper options in coorg, Jus because these people have advertised a lot doesnt mean it is worth it. Go around and try for some homestays because they are lot nicer people.

Room Tip: Do not take this hotel even by mistake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank srish185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We reached Madikeri @ 3 pm and decided this place to stay for 2 days. Positive thoughts first : Coorg Regency is situated at a prime location: on the main road and very close to local sightseeing spots. Rooms and bathroom are spacious, airy and clean. 24 hours water supply. In-spite of many power-cuts we didn't feel it. It houses its own restaurant, food is average (you will like it if you go with less expectations + chapattis were good). On the flip side, there is no lift. They don't provide essential stuff like Towel, napkin, newspaper, water Jug, glass. The mattress are old and wavy with poor maintenance. We got back ache in the morning. The receptionist was not so interactive- gave one line answers for our travel queries.

In short, If u want Opt it but with less expectations.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GauriPadhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights during our anniversary trip. We got a room which was spacious and had a decent view from the window. The bathroom interiors were also decent.

However the service was very poor. We were not provided towels since they had a problem with the laundry service. On the first night we woke up at 1 am after a big cockroach went over my face. The room service came and got rid of two big cockroaches. Day 2 was ok since our expectations were moderate and we had already paid the advance.

The property looks good but lacks service. Hence should look for other better options.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Virag S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

We stayed in the hotel for three days and a couple of nights. We managed to get a room in the second floor and the scenic view from the room was awesome.The hotel is conveniently located but it doesn't have a lift and the room was dusty and dirty. Absolutely no room service and the hospitality cannot get worse than this.We deliberately went around Coorg (Kodagu district) to avoid staying in the room and used it only during the nights. Not even worth for half the money we paid. Not recommended for anybody- especially for couples.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaqarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

I visited Madikeri on 22nd October 2012 and stayed for a night with family in two rooms. Room was in second floor and lift is not commissioned although hotel started about six months ago. I learnt that the management is changed within this short period and new management is not bothered much about providing good service to their Clients. Madikeri is a Hill station and normally the ambient is very cool and as such A/C accommodation is not needed. Therefore most of the hotels offer only non A/C rooms and charge more than A/C tariff and Coorg Regency is no exception for this. Hot water is a must after the sunset but Geysers fitted in the bathrooms are just show pieces and hot water comes in the morning for few hours through centralised supply system. Room spacious and bathrooms clean because it is new, but sisterns were already damaged and leaky. Reception is overcrowded with people not connected with hospitality and staff busy on cell phone all the time.

Although there is a restaurant within the hotel premises, quality of food as well as service is not very good. Whether it is Chinese, North Indian or South Indian food, everything has a touch of keralite cuisine since the restaurant is run by a Keralite. Iddly served in the morning was horrible and not at all worth its cost. Other food served was also not upto the mark but charge is no way inferior to any star hotel.

On the whole we were not at all happy with this place which has star hotel tariff for zero star facilities.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emdeeyem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kodagu (Coorg) hotels
102.9 mi away
Taj Madikeri Resort & Spa, Coorg
118.0 mi away
The Tamara Coorg
The Tamara Coorg
#1 of 1 in Yavakapadi Village
516 reviews
104.7 mi away
The Windflower Resort and Spa, Coorg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
105.6 mi away
Amanvana Spa Resort, Coorg
Amanvana Spa Resort, Coorg
#2 of 9 in Kushalnagar
766 reviews
111.9 mi away
The Blue Mountains Estate Stay
114.1 mi away
Kadkani River Resort
Kadkani River Resort
#1 of 1 in Ammathi
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coorg Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coorg Regency

Address: G.T. Road, 571201, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Kodagu (Coorg)
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #223 of 337 B&Bs / Inns in Kodagu (Coorg)
Price Range: £14 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Coorg Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coorg Regency India/Kodagu (Coorg), Karnataka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing