We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible Condos at Sands Beach Resort!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Sands Beach Motel

Sands Beach Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Geneva on the Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sands Beach Motel
Wheeling, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Horrible Condos at Sands Beach Resort!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

We had reserved a condo at Sands Beach Resort for a week starting June 15, 2012. We got there and could not stay. The condo was horrible. The furniture was filthly and stained as well as the carpet. It looked the place hadn't been painted since it was built. The pictures portray a nice place, but it looks nothing like the pictures. I had read the bad reviews and called, but was reassured that the condos had been renovated within the last 2 years and had new beds, etc. Well, they lied - the beds were no where close to being new and were horrible when we tried them out. We did not get our $100 deposit back, so warning to anyone else looking to rent at Sands Beach Resort - make sure that you look at it in person before sending a deposit. I would NEVER recommend this place to anyone. The pictures you see online must be from when the place was much newer and in decent shape because it certaining does not look like that now (inside or out).

Room Tip: Avoid this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Fun0neWV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    3
    1
    4
    10
See reviews for
4
4
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sandusky, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2010

Do not stay at this hotel. It was awful. You could smell the place from the car. It smelled like 1950 kept in a jar. I can't believe they actually advertise and put people in those rooms. We kept our shoes on the entire time. The carpet was disgusting, the shower/bathroom was disgusting, and the mattress was terrible. There were spiders and cobwebs everywhere and there is no beach. Do not waste your money. Sleep in your car if you don't have any other place to stay. Serious!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SoMe10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2010

Place was a dump. I stayed at the condo part and it was aweful. The first room they put us in smelled badly of urine. We got moved to another room and it had exposed wiring, holes in the walls, roaches, and blinds missing. I would NEVER stay here ever again. I called the BBB of Cleveland on them and I had the Fire Department look at their place because they had a non-working fire alarm and the fire extinguisher wasn't serviced at all... date on it said 1998 !!! NOT A SAFE PLACE !

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank weirdo1129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niles, Ohio
Level Contributor
131 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2010

WARNING!!! DO NOT STAY HERE!! We made the mistake of booking a cottage and hope this spares others from wasting nearly $160 for a terrible overnight stay. Booking was through the Sands Resort in Geneva on the Lake, Ohio. They also own the Poolside Motel, Parkgate, Sailor 's Rest, and the Sands Beach Motel. We stayed in one of the 1 br cottages down the street from the Sands Motel. We were told there was beach access but the "beach" was actually a concrete wall with a rusty ladder that had to be lowered into the water off the break wall! The entire area was littered with garbage and not anything you'd expect to see when paying nearly $160 a night. We were also told there was a pool but it's down the street in the parking lot of another dumpy hotel.

The cottage is in terrible condition. The fridge did not work but still had food in it from the previous renters. The little window air conditioner in the small bedroom did not cool the other spaces in the cottage. The TV only had 4 channels - no Cable and it was in the kitchen, and the remote was broken! We couldn't lock one of the windows in the living area so security was a concern. There was no curtain on the bathroom window so we had to rig up a towel to cover it up. The other windows were covered with horribly stained fabric blinds.

The mattress on the only bed had to be the original when these retro cottages were built - it felt like we were laying on the box springs - terrible! AND TO TOP IT ALL OFF - THE SHOWER DID NOT WORK!. It looked like the owner installed a new shower head but unfortunately there was no control knob at the faucet to force the water to the shower head. Taking a bath wasn't possible unless you bath with your knees under your chin - it was that short.

Woke up at 7 AM after a rest - less night, and couldn't wait to go home. When we went to the office at the Sands Motel to turn our key in, we told the agent all of this and said that this cottage was overpriced even if we only paid half of what we did. She said she could only offer an apology and not a partial refund - ridiculous in light of the fact that the very basic essentials weren't available to us.

We use this site as a valuable tool and we have written many reviews. We are very experienced travelers - literally we travel all over the world, and we've stayed in a variety of places. We research as much as we can before traveling, and we weren't expecting too much because we know that Geneva on the Lake is an old - retro to the 50s and 60s beach resort. We've stayed at the Anchor Inn and it's been updated and is clean. I'm sure that's the case with other motels and cottages on the "strip" BUT unless you know for sure, my advise would be to stay at the Geneva Lodge, Anchor Inn, or other places that you KNOW are well taken care of. We don't mind staying in a "retro" motel if it's been maintained but there's no excuse for charging us 2010 prices for a dump that hasn't been truly renovated since the 1950s. For the same money or even less you can get much much more!! Buyer/Renter BEWARE!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ds521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uniontown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2010

This place was filthy. Cobwebs and spiders everywhere you looked in the room. No carpeting and the floor didn't look like it had been swept in years. The bed frame was bent so we had to sleep with our heads at the foot of the bed. No maid service. The air conditioning froze up and at one point we had no electricity. They advertise a private beach but that was a joke to. It was very small with concrete walls and even pieces of concrete in the water. I wouldn't recommend this motel or this place to my dog. He deserves better. If you plan on going there for a family vacation I would think twice about it. To us the only thing to do there was drink and there wasn't enough alcohol to make this place look good. What we learned from this experience is to look at the room before you pay. Because once you pay there are no refunds/no exceptions.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cac03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2008

We were looking for a one night stay off of I-90 and near lake Erie to break up our travel. My husband found this motel online; he called to check availability and was offered a lakeside room for the price of a basic room - this was promising. We arrived a little later in the afternoon, the clerk working was on her way out. There wasn't a staff member visible the rest of the evening or in the early morning. We had to get advice for meals from another motel's staff. The room itself was spacious, however the beds left much to be desired. The coils could be felt upon sitting/lying in the bed; very uncomfortable:( There was a window in the room that did not shut completely, providing an unpleasant breezy draft at night. However, on a positive note, the sound of the lake and waves was extremely pleasant to listen to. In general the town itself was a little run down and many of the shops' employees seemed somewhat unfriendly.

Helpful?
4 Thank leikerui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geneva on the Lake
6.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Ashtabula
6.8 mi away
Ramada Austinburg/Ashtabula
Ramada Austinburg/Ashtabula
#2 of 5 in Austinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Ashtabula
Hampton Inn Ashtabula
#1 of 5 in Austinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
The Lakehouse Inn
The Lakehouse Inn
#1 of 3 in Geneva on the Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
6.3 mi away
Motel 6 Geneva
Motel 6 Geneva
#1 of 2 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Beach Motel

Property: Sands Beach Motel
Address: 5225 Old Lake Rd, Geneva on the Lake, OH 44041-9793
Region: United States > Ohio > Geneva on the Lake
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Geneva on the Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Sands Beach Hotel Geneva On The Lake
Sands Beach Motel Geneva On The Lake, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing