We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, less than average wines.”

Old Firehouse Winery
Price range: US$10 - US$29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: An eclectic winery and restaurant on the famous entertainment strip in Geneva-on-the-Lake, Ohio's first Summer Resort. Located with a view of Lake Erie, the large, meandering patio provides the setting for nightly summer entertainment. Lots of special events and kid friendly. Full bar service in summer at the "Sunset Bar".
Rock Creek, OH
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, less than average wines.”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

This place has a beautiful location on the shore of lake Erie. Their wines aren't really that tasty but I still enjoy visiting this place with friends :)

Helpful?
Thank RCfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    88
    80
    49
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterland, OH
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice outdoor patio and evening music”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We had lunch at the Old Firehouse Winery. The weather was perfect to sit out on the patio. The burgers were ok. The wine is ok. Service was pleasant but rather slow. Returned for another glass of wine & to listen to live music on the patio later..very relaxing.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heatherru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Nice outside patio, so so wines”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

For a casual afternoon or evening this is a good place. No inside seating( one or two tables), the patio gets very busy so expect a wait. Service no so great, as they are usually crowded. The wines are inexpensive. Worth checking out.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kmfu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northeast Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“No service”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I've been here before on busy crazy weekends and I can understand bad service when the servers have too many tables. This was on a weekday. I counted 2 other tables that had people, otherwise the patio was empty. I also counted 4 servers hanging out talking to the chefs at the outdoor cooking area and 3 servers talking closer to the firehouse.

Other than the server who told us we could sit wherever we like, no one ever approached us. No one said Welcome, no one gave us menus, no one even acknowledged us. This was at 5:45pm too. We sat for awhile and then we gave up and left. I'm not sure how those servers make any money at all. They all seemed to be content to just sit and talk. They were also all really young, I didn't see a manager type person at all.

Anyway, I do not recommend, even though the view is gorgeous. This place could be SO much better with a 5 minute training course in restaurant hospitality.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank shmeeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, FL
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Enjoyable place to have some wine”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Loved the environment. Great view of the lake. Knowledgeable servers who provide recommendations to suit your tastes. A great place to stop in and have a wine slushy or to grab a bite and sit for a while. They have a tasting menu that allows you to sample various wines as well. A must see when on the strip!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Dobbie924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Firehouse Winery also viewed

 
Geneva on the Lake, OH
Geneva on the Lake, OH
 
Geneva on the Lake, OH
Geneva on the Lake, OH
 

Been to Old Firehouse Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing