We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average Food; Underwhelming Service”

Horizons Restaurant & Lounge
Price range: US$7 - US$35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, View, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Horizons Restaurant is the signature dining experience at The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake. From the striking, glass-enclosed octagonal dining room with spectacular Lake Erie views, to a local menu of classic American cuisine, Horizons presents Ohio Wine Country dining at its finest.
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
204 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Average Food; Underwhelming Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is in the Lodge and convenient for those staying there. And it's probably as good as any restaurant in the immediate area. Our dinner service was disappointingly slow, even though the crowd was light and there appeared to be adequate staff about..

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SidMonge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    80
    57
    13
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful view from the terrace!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stopped here for dinner on our way across Ohio to Cleveland. We were seated on the terrace with a view of the lake. Also, got to see pictures being taken after a wedding on the grounds. Our server, Brittany, was knowledgeable about the menu and the surrounding area. Our food was great. We took a walk along the path that runs in front of the lodge before getting back on the road. What a beautiful place.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lv2Travel87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great view of the lake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

The service and food were very good. We had breakfast both mornings and very satisfied with the restaurant. The setting was very nice and views of Lake Erie were awesome!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niles, Ohio
2 reviews
“expencive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

My husband was still hungry after eating his meal, 6oz steak for $30+ and it came out well down not medium rare. They re-fired another but by the time his new steak was done I was done eating my meal. They sat us facing the inside of the restaurant instead of the lake even though the place was empty. We asked to sit in a different table and they placed us facing the lake and that view was fantastic.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Missy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

The restaurant at the Lodge was the first stop on our bachelorette party evening. Our party of 15 was seated on the back patio and we had a fantastic view of the lake at sunset. Unfortunately, that was the highlight of our evening there. After being seated, we waited another 30 minutes before someone took our drink order and then drinks took another 15 minutes. Our group ordered 4 bottles of savignon blanc for the table and the waitresses brought out all the bottles at once, despite only opening two. We had to request ice buckets for the wine after they sat on the tables warming for 10 minutes. The food was decent. The walleye was good, but overpriced. I had to request tartar sauce. The bride, sadly, was last to get her food and had to wait a significant amount of time after everyone else was served to finally get her meal. Overall, the restaurant was disappointing. The bride was considering this venue for her wedding, but after the service we had, I have serious concerns about their ability to serve large groups. Fortunately, she went with another venue. On the positive side, the grounds by the lake were beautiful.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CESVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Horizons Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

Geneva on the Lake, OH
Geneva on the Lake, OH
 
Geneva on the Lake, OH
Geneva on the Lake, OH
 

Been to Horizons Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing