We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome place/awesome staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lakewood, Ohio
Level Contributor
126 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Awesome place/awesome staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2011

I highly recommend this hotel for anyone who likes a nice room, nice ground, and a great staff. Anytime I had a question about the surrouding area or the ground they were more then willing to help. Check in took less then a minute. They called me by my last name which was nice.

You are steps from the beach. Everything was clean in the hotel esp the rooms and bathroom.

We had a free breakfast the next morning. The selection was nice and everything was very tasty. Made to order omelets, bacon,sausage, potatoes,etc. We had an amazing waitress, her name was Cindy. She was all smiles and took care of us good...if I ran my own business I think I would beg her to work for me...her customer service skills were A+.

The only think I ask is that you avoid the Firehouse Winery like the plague but please please please go to Ferrantes...about 8 miles away.....one of the single best meals I had in years....

Room Tip: Always book through a hotel website.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mdm4sfest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    832
    349
    90
    27
    20
See reviews for
353
603
20
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

We stayed at the lodge from may 15th through may 21st. The bed and pillow were so comfortable, I never wanted to get out of bed. I am a pillow snob.. love them soft and no lumps..this fit the bill. We paid a little more for a view of Lake Erie..would recommend. was so nice to sit in the chair, read and watch the water. It rained most of the week so we did not get a balcony. The lodge is pet friendly!! Only 7 hours from DC for those of you that live in the congested city area.. you will love this. We ate a few meals at the lodge's restaurant. I dont know if it was because it was off season but it seemed like the food was frozen/ packaged and the wedding soup..not great to be a menu staple. Service was iffy..one server for breakfast/ lunch. Great view of the lake..bugged me that they have are in this fantastic area and they put fake plants on the tables..really..leave them off or put something that is unique to the area.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mimi_linna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLodgeAtGeneva, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake, responded to this review, 27 May 2011
Mimi_linna-

Thank you for your outstanding comments about The Lodge! We are so glad to hear that you had a wonderful overnight stay and wanted to let you know that we just re-opened Horizons Restaurant after a 2 month renovation.

We have a brand new summer menu and are working on getting more appropriate center pieces for the tables! Hope to see you again soon, and watch for updated photos of Horizons Restaurant right here on TripAdvisor!

At your service,
Daisy Hall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2011

My husband and I just returned from our 1st anniversary getaway to Geneva-on-the-lake. We stayed at the lodge once before when we were younger and had fond memories so I booked two nights in the King room. Upon arrival we notified the staff that we were celebrating our anniversary and they offered us a FREE upgrade to the Honeymoon suite complete with an in-room jacuzzi. The room was spacious, updated and very clean. We had plenty of pillows, blankets and towels which is sometimes a problem at B&B's and hotels. Anything we asked the front desk for such as wine glasses, bottle openers etc. we got! The pool was nice and a decent size for an indoor. The view from our room was great! We got free breakfast with out stay which was a great value. The wait staff was kind and attentive at the Horizons Restaurant. We spent one evening at the bar and really enjoyed the Mint Chocolate Tini! We ventured out to the different local wineries, our favorite was Debonne in Geneva. All and all we had a great experience. Only thing I would change is the chilly and cloudy weather we had.

Room Tip: Just ask if there is a better one available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lissclee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2011

The hotel was nice. The pool was great. However when it came time to sleep there was an annoying smoke detector by the bed that strobed every 3 seconds. Called room service at 4:00am and they were aware of the issue and stated that this was the case in all the rooms. Confirmed this with 2 managment staff in the morning and they knew about this issue also but no plan of action is planned to correct it. It reminded me and my wife of a strobing airpot runway light. Have no plans of staying there or recommending this place to anyone until this issue is resolved. What a poor choice of smoke dectors for such a nice hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chris826789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLodgeAtGeneva, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake, responded to this review, 27 April 2011
Chris826789-

Thank you for your candid comments. I am so sorry that your experience here at The Lodge was less than satisfactory. As you know, the smoke detectors in guest rooms are for guest safety and the light indicates that the detector is functioning and continually searching for any signs of danger.

This is not a comment we often hear, but feel that sleep quality for all of our guests is very important. We are currently looking into alternate equipment to place in guest rooms for fire safety.

We certainly hope this one instance does not keep you away from visiting The Lodge and would be happy to cover the light for you if you do visit before we have new equipment installed.

Thank you again for your comments, and we hope to see you again.

At your service,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus OH
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2011

We had an excellent time while staying at the lodge. We stayed in the King Suite room which was amazing. Even though it was winter, the views of the lake from our room were nice. It was also nice to have the separate bedroom and additional living room and sitting area with the sink, fridge, ect. The bed was also very comfortable.

The best part of the trip and what we came to the area for of course was all the local wineries. The lodge had a great package which included 2 tickets for the shuttle which took you around to several of the wineries. This was worth the price to of the trip alone since we didn't have to worry about driving and could enjoy ourselves and have a good time. Even if you don't book the package, you can buy the wine shuttle passes for $12, and we recommended it. We also got breakfast included in the package, which was a a choice of the buffet or two entrees of the menu. We choose the buffet and it was delicious, with an made to order omelet station and Belgian waffle station as well as several other breakfast favorites. We also spent a evening in the lounge taking in some local entertainment and had a good time. The bartenders were very nice and the pizza was great also.

Overall we would recommend this resort to anyone. The lobby and common area's were warm and inviting. The pool was great and the workout room was better than some hotels we've stayed at. The overall hotel was very clean, warm and inviting. We would recommend this resort for a romantic weekend for two, or a family trip as well. We look forward to coming back soon.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamaican_Rudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2011

this hotel is perfect for a calm relaxing and romantic holiday!great hotel and rooms. try to uprade to junior suite it´s defnitly worth it. its right next to lake erie where you can relax have a walk and enjoy the silence. it´s a very nice and clean property and the staff is great, very helpful. i would defnitly go back!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penny0110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberlin, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2010

We checked into our gorgeous and huge room on Christmas Day. Our "partial view of the lake" included the lakefront west through the park, the gazebo and the restaurant. It was too cold and windy to venture outside so we went to the largest and best whirlpool I have ever encountered at a hotel. The pool was really nicely heated, too and yet refreshing after the hot tub.
The Lodge had a wonderful Christmas Dinner menu and I chose the herb encrusted Prime Rib of Beef...it may have been the best I have ever tasted. The ONLY place open for dinner in Geneva on the Lake turned out to be a treasure.
Next morning we had a complimentary breakfast buffet that included made to order omelets and waffles, cheese blintzes, bacon, sausage, scrambled eggs, home fries and fresh fruit, toast, cereals....truly a morning feast.
The gift shop is filled with beautiful hand painted ornaments from their artist in residence and photo cards by another local artist, as well as local vineyard's wines, clothing and much more.
We left at check out and went to the "A Christmas Carol" interactive dinner theater at the Oak Room in the Firehouse Winery in town. That was a really rollicking fun production of an old favorite.
All in all our 2 days in Geneva by the Lake were memorable and special.
Thanks so much to the Geneva on the Lake Lodge for a Christmas we will not soon forget!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pennypit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geneva on the Lake
7.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Ashtabula
Hampton Inn Ashtabula
#1 of 5 in Austinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
7.5 mi away
Ramada Austinburg/Ashtabula
Ramada Austinburg/Ashtabula
#2 of 5 in Austinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
7.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Ashtabula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Steele Mansion Inn & Gathering Hub
23.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
The Lakehouse Inn
The Lakehouse Inn
#1 of 3 in Geneva on the Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake

Property: The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake
Address: 4888 North Broadway (SR 534), Geneva on the Lake, OH 44041
Region: United States > Ohio > Geneva on the Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Geneva on the Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the midst of Ohio's wine country, on the shores of Lake Erie; The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake offers a beautiful setting for tasteful getaways. The Lodge features a variety of packages and seasonal rates for all travel needs, from seasonal specials and Bed & Breakfast getaways for fun filled family vacations to the Wine Country package and Two Night Wine Excursion package for romantic escapes. You can even find green friendly meeting options! With a multitude of amenities including indoor & outdoor pools and hot tubs, Horizons Restaurant & Lounge with outdoor seating, meeting facilities for large events and on site activities including a wine shuttle to nearby wineries, bike rentals and massage services; The Lodge offers the perfect escape in Northeast Ohio. Local attractions include 20+ wineries, 17 covered bridges and Geneva-on-the-Lake's nostalgic entertainment strip as well as Geneva State Park's beach, marina and hiking trails for outdoor adventure. Visit The Lodge today for your great Ohio getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Geneva-On-The-Lake Hotel Geneva On The Lake
Hotel At Geneva State Park
At Geneva State Park Hotel
The Lodge At Geneva-On-The-Lake Geneva On The Lake, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing