We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place, cant wait to go back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 20 October 2011

What a beautiful facility!
The grounds are amazing, being on the lake, this place had it all! Want to take the family back with us next time and have a longer stay.

Room Tip: Enjoy the new Keurig coffee makers in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Schirmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,319 - 1,325 of 1,416 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2011

We were recommended to go to this lodge at the state Visitors Center. Nice view of lake. Food at the restaurant was excellent. We got a breakfast coupon at checkin.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pecg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

My husband and I came here for an overnight to celebrate an anniversary. The grounds are very pretty. There is a long walking/bike path that meanders the lake and then goes into the nearby state park. The indoor pool is warm and spacious, nice hot tub too. In summer there is an outdoor pool and hot tub. There is a nice fireplace in the lobby with plenty of chairs near. Our room was clean and spacious, with comfy chairs and bed. We got the premium king and it was worth it to have the extra space and a balcony overlooking the lake. We got the bed and breakfast package so breakfast was "free" and this was well worth it. There is a great buffet and you can also order off the menu, plus get cold and hot drinks, plus gratuity is already included. Staff here was exceptional, very friendly and professional.
The hotel is so close to the lake and it's so pretty to walk around. The outdoor appearance of the property is very nice. You can rent bikes for five dollars an hour, good option if you have kids. 3 weddings were going on outside the day we came so it's a good locale for that too. The only negative would be the balcony could have been a bit cleaner (swept up).

Room Tip: Get one with a lake view and balcony. Get bed and breakfast package.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kteacher10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

After waiting many years for a quick 'getaway' we had one of our worst experiences at a hotel. Unfriendly (and rude in one instance) staff/management, not-so-clean room, uncomfortable bed and horrible service at Horizons. Beautiful view of lake with a great location .. but that is where the pros end. I would strongly recommend finding another establishment in Geneva-on-the-Lake for your getaway. Overpriced for what was received.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tcklrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dasiy_TheOneAndOnly, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2011

Tcklrk- Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment. I am sorry to hear that you had anything but an enjoyable experience at The Lodge. As you can see from the majority of the reviews from our travelers, we very rarely receive less than positive comments. Our guest service team is often referred to as one of the friendliest staffs in the industry with gracious and kind associates who go above and beyond to create special experiences for our valued guests. We have actually received many awards on our guest service and friendliness scores in recent years for all departments and we have been privileged to have our HR team asked to train some of the top state & county employees on customer service and guest recovery.

I would love for you to share who you encountered that may not have provided you with prompt, polite & friendly service. If informed, we can work with that department’s manager on addressing and improving service where needed.

I am also apologetic that you thought the value of our resort was less than what you invested. I certainly hope that you had a chance to enjoy our indoor pool and hot tub, game room, inviting lobby with 4-story fireplace as well as take advantage of some of our many amenities, like our massage services, shuttle to nearby wineries and bicycle rentals. With all of these added value items, we are often ranked #1 (as we are here on TripAdvisor) in the area as far as value, quality and offerings.

Thank you again for your time and I look forward to hearing from you so we can ensure that we are providing all guests with the high level of service they have come to expect from our resort.

Sincerely-
Daisy Hall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Fast friendly check in. I did need to have my bill adjusted the next morning.. they forgot to give AAA discount. Getting seated at the restaurant was slow even though it seemed to be pretty empty...Service in restaurant was very good...value for what you got so-so. My hairdryer in room was broken and it didn't seem like our exhaust fan was working. Our bed was so squeaky..every time one of us moved I woke up. We had a balcony but it looked like it had been quite some time since it was cleaned. It may sound like we had lots of complaints..but these are all pretty minor and the place is so pretty and the price is great. We plan to return soon.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rrrapido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Had a real nice package for an aniversary type event. Loved it! Peacfull weekend. Resteraunt was great #1. "even breakfast" Bravo. House spec Wine was perfect. Peolple were Nice !
No complaints other than the outdoor pool filtering could have been working better.... and a few outdated item. Shuttle service to the Geneva on the lake strip would have been helpful. Cab service is only out of ashtebula...
(we witnessed a wedding fri night "married at the Gazebo") Very nice setting
Fri night "fourkings...etc band was Awsome!"
Lake sunset view perfect. Bed was comfy, All Clean

Room Tip: Get a nice balcony sunset view over lake side :) room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Drej_Stu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Great location right on the water. Equally nice for couples traveling alone, or for families with kids. Rooms are well appointed, and somewhat larger than a standard hotel room. Both indoor and outdoor pool. Very good in-house restaurant. Workout room. Nice beach right next door. Close proximity to several local wineries, with shuttle service. Close proximity to "The Strip" in Geneva-On-The-Lake. So, what's not to like? The beds.

These matresses might be the worst I have ever experienced. They are rock hard and you can feel the coils digging into your back. This has been an ongoing problem with this property, and they are well-aware of the situation. We complained and had our nightly rate adjusted, but that was little compensation for dealing with 2 days of back pain following check out. In some promotional material, this place has begun "advertising" new beds and suggest that all beds will be replaced by the end of 2012. Thus, they acknowledge the underlying problem. This is really the only complaint I have, but obviously, it's a big concern. This facility has been subtle upgrades over the years to make it better, but they have not invested in the quality of the matresses. It doesn't make sense to me.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a Lake View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrpaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geneva on the Lake
7.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Ashtabula
Hampton Inn Ashtabula
#1 of 5 in Austinburg
451 reviews
17.6 mi away
Steele Mansion Inn & Gathering Hub
7.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Ashtabula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Residence Inn Cleveland Mentor
23.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
The Lakehouse Inn
The Lakehouse Inn
#1 of 3 in Geneva on the Lake
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake

Address: 4888 N Broadway, Geneva on the Lake, OH 44041-7755
Region: United States > Ohio > Geneva on the Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Geneva on the Lake
Price Range: £87 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the midst of Ohio's wine country, on the shores of Lake Erie; The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake offers a beautiful setting for tasteful getaways. The Lodge features a variety of packages and seasonal rates for all travel needs, from seasonal specials and Bed & Breakfast getaways for fun filled family vacations to the Wine Country package and Two Night Wine Excursion package for romantic escapes. You can even find green friendly meeting options! With a multitude of amenities including indoor & outdoor pools and hot tubs, Horizons Restaurant & Lounge with outdoor seating, meeting facilities for large events and on site activities including a wine shuttle to nearby wineries, bike rentals and massage services; The Lodge offers the perfect escape in Northeast Ohio. Local attractions include 20+ wineries, 17 covered bridges and Geneva-on-the-Lake's nostalgic entertainment strip as well as Geneva State Park's beach, marina and hiking trails for outdoor adventure. Visit The Lodge today for your great Ohio getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Geneva-On-The-Lake Hotel Geneva On The Lake
Hotel At Geneva State Park
At Geneva State Park Hotel
The Lodge At Geneva-On-The-Lake Geneva On The Lake, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing