We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great winter getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great winter getaway”
Reviewed 24 November 2012

This is the third time my husband and I have stayed at the lodge. We went with 2other couples and took the wine shuttle in the afternoon to 4wineries. Even tho it was snowy, we had a great time. The lodge has a nice lounge that looks out to the lake and live music in the evening. We like to go in the winter as it is very calming. Also the breakfast buffet is outstanding!

Room Tip: Choose a lake view...much more interesting than the parking lot. Walking paths are around the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neala S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    854
    358
    91
    27
    20
See reviews for
365
618
20
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

My husband and I booked the Wine Country Package. We were in the area around 1:00 and did some winery touring and had lunch at one of them. We checked into the hotel around 3:00. Our room overlooked the lake and was very clean and maintained. We poured a glass of wine from our complimentary bottle and toured the grounds and the hotel. Talked to a local photographer who had his art set up in the lobby (and bought a lovely picture taken on the grounds). Stopped in the lounge and watched a little football. Had dinner reservations at 6:30 and we were seated at the large window overlooking the lake. Had a wonderful dinner - my husband ordered the ribeye and I had the pan seared walleye. Both were fabulous! We changed into our swimsuits and enjoyed an hour relaxing in the hot tub. Breakfast the next morning was superb as well. We were seated at the same magnificent table and I chose a made to order omelet,my husband had a Belgian waffle. There were many side dishes to choose from (potato pancakes, apple-filled pancakes, bacon, breads, etc. and the fresh fruit was wonderful as well.) We cannot wait until we can go back again!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

This is one of our favorite places to go for a nice relaxing weekend. The staff is nice & helpful. The rooms are always clean with a rustic decore. The food at the restaurant is good & the breakfast buffet is excellent with made to order omletes & other items. They have a bar area with occasional live music. There are so many wineries in this area & the Lodge is located right on Lake Erie with a short walk or drive to town. The Lodge also has a winery shuttle to multiple wineries if you prefer to not drive or do not know the area well. In the summer they have a beautiful pool with a patio that has dancing water for children. I highly recommend The Lodge for anyone - any age. There is plenty to do in the area. Looking for a nice place to have a wedding? This is it as well.

Room Tip: Ground floor with patio in the summer is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cajundego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canal Fulton, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We stayed at the lodge last weekend during the Ashtabula County Covered Bridge Festival. This was our first stay at the lodge, we had visited the area a few times before and vowed we would stay their eventually. What a wonderful place. Check in was pleasant, common areas and room were spotlessly clean. The lodge was sold out for the entire weekend---you would never know it though. Plenty of things to do in the area---we walked the wonderful path along the lake, visited area covered bridges, drove up to Ashtabula and of course visited wineries. Great location. We stayed in a premium king room, worth every dollar. Sat on balcony overlooking lawn where gazebo is and of course overlooking the lake. could lay in bed and listen to the waves while watching the boats leave the marina in the morning. Had breakfast in the lodge---wonderful omelets and very pleasant gal making them. Don't miss the little quaint town of Geneva, we went to the Old Mill Winery and enjoyed a fun meal, bottle of wine while listening to a very good band. We also went to the old pharmacy in town, i think it is called Reeses. They have an old fashioned soda fountain---yum, we had chocolate milkshakes, root beer floats and vanilla cherry phosphate(haven't had one of those since i was a kid). Great getaway weekend. They also have an indoor pool and hot tub, which we didn't use but looked very nice. it is situated on the lake side of the lodge. We plan on returning in the spring to get my Water/Lake fix!

Room Tip: Premium lake front rooms really worth the extra dollar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank work2travelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newberg, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We enjoyed the Lodge. It was a beautiful place with a wonderful restaurant. The setting of the lodge is beautiful, and you can't beat the view!! I thought the rooms were just okay with it feeling like a typical hotel. I expected the rooms to be a little nicer.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank countrychristmaseggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenton, Ohio
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

stayed here with friends. The place is very clean and the staff were great. Rooms were clean and comfortable.
Enjoyed the walking/bike path and the beautiful sunset over the lake.
Had Breakfast in the reataurant and it was a good meal for a good price. Would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ohio1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
1 review
Reviewed 14 September 2012

I had the opportunity to visit the Lodge at Geneva with several friends. The setting of the lodge is wonderful! The view of Lake Erie, especially at sunset is just breathtaking! We decided to eat breakfast at the Lodge in the morning, before we left. The breakfast buffet was wonderful. We loved being able to pick our own ingredients for the omelettes. The woman cooking them was great (not sure what her name was). Our server, Jackie, was very attentive. Answered questions about the menu, and was very helpful! She was very, very kind and answered questions about Geneva on the Lake also.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank l h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geneva on the Lake
7.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Ashtabula
Hampton Inn Ashtabula
#1 of 5 in Austinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
7.5 mi away
Ramada Austinburg/Ashtabula
Ramada Austinburg/Ashtabula
#2 of 5 in Austinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
7.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Ashtabula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Steele Mansion Inn & Gathering Hub
23.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites
19.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 5 in Painesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake

Property: The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake
Address: 4888 North Broadway (SR 534), Geneva on the Lake, OH 44041
Region: United States > Ohio > Geneva on the Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Geneva on the Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the midst of Ohio's wine country, on the shores of Lake Erie; The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake offers a beautiful setting for tasteful getaways. The Lodge features a variety of packages and seasonal rates for all travel needs, from seasonal specials and Bed & Breakfast getaways for fun filled family vacations to the Wine Country package and Two Night Wine Excursion package for romantic escapes. You can even find green friendly meeting options! With a multitude of amenities including indoor & outdoor pools and hot tubs, Horizons Restaurant & Lounge with outdoor seating, meeting facilities for large events and on site activities including a wine shuttle to nearby wineries, bike rentals and massage services; The Lodge offers the perfect escape in Northeast Ohio. Local attractions include 20+ wineries, 17 covered bridges and Geneva-on-the-Lake's nostalgic entertainment strip as well as Geneva State Park's beach, marina and hiking trails for outdoor adventure. Visit The Lodge today for your great Ohio getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Geneva-On-The-Lake Hotel Geneva On The Lake
Hotel At Geneva State Park
At Geneva State Park Hotel
The Lodge At Geneva-On-The-Lake Geneva On The Lake, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing