We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Butler, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

Beautiful grounds and hotel. Safe well lit parking lot. Enjoyed everything about this place, especially the stroll along the water and the trail. Did wine tasting in the area while here. Friendly staff who were more than happy to loan us a wine bottle opener for the evening.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Polly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    833
    350
    90
    27
    20
See reviews for
355
603
20
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

We have been to the Lodge many times, so we know that it is always nice there. Wanted an overnight get away so we decided to visit. The Lodge is beautiful this time of year. Enjoyed the beautiful Christmas Tree in the Lobby along with the Fireplace. Spent time in the hot tub and indoor pool. Very relaxing and the staff was wonderful. The day we visited was unseasonably warm so we even had a nice stroll along the lake. Nice quiet and relaxing..........just what we were looking for. We even got a great deal because it is "off season."

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zeppland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

We attended the "Dickens of a Feaste" dinner theater on December 1 and were very satisfied with the facility, the entertainment, the decorations and the food! The facility itself is very well maintained. The food was very well prepared and tasty! And it was not "conference" food. The beef was so tender that you didn'! need a knife! And the bread pudding was very delicious. The servers were attentive and everyone was so friendly. The facility itself was warm and inviting: a working fireplace in the lobby and well done holiday decorations. Having never been to this facility before we left with a very positive impression.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CountessCorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Farmington, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

The Thanksgiving Buffet at the Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake was more than a disappointment. The food was awful. We had booked a 7 p.m. seating - the only time available - and I specifically asked about replenishment of the food. I was concerned that at that late time we would get the "dregs" of what was left - and we did. I was assured that all of the food would be replenished for each seating. Not true. The mashed potatoes were rock hard. The stuffing and green bean casserole were congealed. There was no "roast beef" or "ham" left. The turkey was gone. What they then brought out after I complained was a mesh-wrapped turkey "product" of some kind. Not real turkey. I will never eat at this place again for any kind of holiday - or other - meal. My husband says this seemed to be basically "conference food".

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lmfertal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dasiy_TheOneAndOnly, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Infertal- It really is disheartening to hear that your experience was not what our guests generally experience while attending a holiday buffet at The Lodge. I do apologize you did not receive the seating time you called many times to reserve, due to the event booking up well in advance from many families planning their holiday meal.

We have reviewed countless comments and feedback from this event, during all seating times, and found overwhelmingly positive comments in regards to the quality of the offerings, the lavish spread presented as well as the prompt and friendly service provided by our staff.

As you may know, it is customary for a restaurant to prepare for many more than the number of guests reserved, which is what we do for every holiday to ensure that that food items are not only fresh and replenished regularly but that we have an abundance of food for all guests.

I can assure you that the turkey presented was real and not a 'product' as we only serve real meat products in accordance with high company standards. We even had several turkeys left over from the event which became house specials for the remainder of the holiday week.

We do have Chefs working alternating shifts around the clock during holiday events preparing the freshest ingredients to ensure our guests receive a ‘down-home, Grandma’s kitchen’ feel and most of our guests enjoy just that- a relaxing home-cooked meal with their families with none of the cleanup. With this dedication and strong guest service values, we have repeatedly reached top customer service ratings for quality, events and overall hotel service.
We certainly hope you will not hold the seating availability against The Lodge and will call early to reserve your seating time. We look forward to serving you and your family again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

This is the third time my husband and I have stayed at the lodge. We went with 2other couples and took the wine shuttle in the afternoon to 4wineries. Even tho it was snowy, we had a great time. The lodge has a nice lounge that looks out to the lake and live music in the evening. We like to go in the winter as it is very calming. Also the breakfast buffet is outstanding!

Room Tip: Choose a lake view...much more interesting than the parking lot. Walking paths are around the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neala S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

My husband and I booked the Wine Country Package. We were in the area around 1:00 and did some winery touring and had lunch at one of them. We checked into the hotel around 3:00. Our room overlooked the lake and was very clean and maintained. We poured a glass of wine from our complimentary bottle and toured the grounds and the hotel. Talked to a local photographer who had his art set up in the lobby (and bought a lovely picture taken on the grounds). Stopped in the lounge and watched a little football. Had dinner reservations at 6:30 and we were seated at the large window overlooking the lake. Had a wonderful dinner - my husband ordered the ribeye and I had the pan seared walleye. Both were fabulous! We changed into our swimsuits and enjoyed an hour relaxing in the hot tub. Breakfast the next morning was superb as well. We were seated at the same magnificent table and I chose a made to order omelet,my husband had a Belgian waffle. There were many side dishes to choose from (potato pancakes, apple-filled pancakes, bacon, breads, etc. and the fresh fruit was wonderful as well.) We cannot wait until we can go back again!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

This is one of our favorite places to go for a nice relaxing weekend. The staff is nice & helpful. The rooms are always clean with a rustic decore. The food at the restaurant is good & the breakfast buffet is excellent with made to order omletes & other items. They have a bar area with occasional live music. There are so many wineries in this area & the Lodge is located right on Lake Erie with a short walk or drive to town. The Lodge also has a winery shuttle to multiple wineries if you prefer to not drive or do not know the area well. In the summer they have a beautiful pool with a patio that has dancing water for children. I highly recommend The Lodge for anyone - any age. There is plenty to do in the area. Looking for a nice place to have a wedding? This is it as well.

Room Tip: Ground floor with patio in the summer is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lorie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geneva on the Lake
7.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Ashtabula
Hampton Inn Ashtabula
#1 of 5 in Austinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
7.5 mi away
Ramada Austinburg/Ashtabula
Ramada Austinburg/Ashtabula
#2 of 5 in Austinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
7.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Ashtabula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Steele Mansion Inn & Gathering Hub
23.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
The Lakehouse Inn
The Lakehouse Inn
#1 of 3 in Geneva on the Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake

Property: The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake
Address: 4888 North Broadway (SR 534), Geneva on the Lake, OH 44041
Region: United States > Ohio > Geneva on the Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Geneva on the Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the midst of Ohio's wine country, on the shores of Lake Erie; The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake offers a beautiful setting for tasteful getaways. The Lodge features a variety of packages and seasonal rates for all travel needs, from seasonal specials and Bed & Breakfast getaways for fun filled family vacations to the Wine Country package and Two Night Wine Excursion package for romantic escapes. You can even find green friendly meeting options! With a multitude of amenities including indoor & outdoor pools and hot tubs, Horizons Restaurant & Lounge with outdoor seating, meeting facilities for large events and on site activities including a wine shuttle to nearby wineries, bike rentals and massage services; The Lodge offers the perfect escape in Northeast Ohio. Local attractions include 20+ wineries, 17 covered bridges and Geneva-on-the-Lake's nostalgic entertainment strip as well as Geneva State Park's beach, marina and hiking trails for outdoor adventure. Visit The Lodge today for your great Ohio getaway! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Geneva-On-The-Lake Hotel Geneva On The Lake
Hotel At Geneva State Park
At Geneva State Park Hotel
The Lodge At Geneva-On-The-Lake Geneva On The Lake, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing