We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated and overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Great location with nice views of Lake Erie. The rooms are a bit dated and worn, beds are uncomfortable. The Jacuzzi at the pool was out of order. Out bath tub drain plug did not work. We complained about it at the front desk and received an apology, but no one showed up to fix it (guess they didn't really care). Service in the bar was slow and non-existent in the restaurant (we finally got up and left and went off site for our breakfast). The place is certainly not inexpensive & we were definitely very disappointed in the value for price. Look for somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KCS2689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,411)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,177 - 1,183 of 1,411 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2013

The lodge is a very nice property, clean, good food. However we were in room 165 (pet friendly) and the "new" mattress was horrible. It was not only soft but had NO support. Management had little to say except it was new...
Walking was very nice and most of the staff very friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a firm mattress
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigbaddad69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Great location right on Lake Erie. Rooms in great condition and very , very clean. Recommend room with a patio or balcony facing the lake just a wonderful atmosphere. Was a short stay but would not hesitate to return to this location.

Room Tip: Get room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tippyobrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

The room was very nice and clean with all the right ammenities. We had a King room with a balcony to enjoy the lake over a glass of wine. It has to be one of nicest places to stay in the area. We enjoyed walking the path along the lake and the peacefulness of the location. It is a short distance to the center of town and an easy drive to nearby wineries. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Make sure and ask for a room with a balcony and/or view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

The Lodge is close to The Strip and in walking or biking distance if you are in moderate shape. It definitely lacks the personality of the other motels and B&B's in the area, but it is clean and has plentiful parking. We enjoyed a king room with a balcony and view of Lake Erie. The view was excellent and room itself was clean and comfortable. While we did not partake in any of the dining options at the hotel, everyone seated on the patio seemed to linger and enjoy their meals. The best feature of The Lodge, for us, was the option of buying a ticket on the Wine Shuttle! For $36.21 a couple, we were shuttled to 4 area wineries (not in walking distance), for worry free tastings and a short tour of the area.
The Lodge also has a bike trail that give you access to the park and the beach and marina. You may rent bikes at The Lodge, or bring your own like we did. The bike racks are now used for the rental bikes, but there are plenty of light posts to secure to. Very pleasant overall.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hikerbepw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Due to peak season and late arrangement planning, we were unable to stay @ The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake BUT we were able to partake in the wine shuttle offered by the hotel. We had a fabulous time. I am already planning a girls weekend so we can enjoy the wineries next year.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank Genny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I love staying at the Lodge. Each year we have had different rooms. Our room was nice and had a great view of the lake. Very clean. The only problem was it was on the second floor right when you got off the elevator and the noise of the elevator going up and down all night was very annoying. If you stay try not to get room 222. Otherwise we loved our stay of two nights.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diana3725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geneva on the Lake
7.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Ashtabula
Hampton Inn Ashtabula
#1 of 5 in Austinburg
441 reviews
7.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Ashtabula
17.6 mi away
Steele Mansion Inn & Gathering Hub
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
The Lakehouse Inn
The Lakehouse Inn
#1 of 3 in Geneva on the Lake
558 reviews
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake

Address: 4888 N Broadway, Geneva on the Lake, OH 44041-7755
Region: United States > Ohio > Geneva on the Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Geneva on the Lake
Price Range: £88 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the midst of Ohio's wine country, on the shores of Lake Erie; The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake offers a beautiful setting for tasteful getaways. The Lodge features a variety of packages and seasonal rates for all travel needs, from seasonal specials and Bed & Breakfast getaways for fun filled family vacations to the Wine Country package and Two Night Wine Excursion package for romantic escapes. You can even find green friendly meeting options! With a multitude of amenities including indoor & outdoor pools and hot tubs, Horizons Restaurant & Lounge with outdoor seating, meeting facilities for large events and on site activities including a wine shuttle to nearby wineries, bike rentals and massage services; The Lodge offers the perfect escape in Northeast Ohio. Local attractions include 20+ wineries, 17 covered bridges and Geneva-on-the-Lake's nostalgic entertainment strip as well as Geneva State Park's beach, marina and hiking trails for outdoor adventure. Visit The Lodge today for your great Ohio getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Geneva-On-The-Lake Hotel Geneva On The Lake
Hotel At Geneva State Park
At Geneva State Park Hotel
The Lodge At Geneva-On-The-Lake Geneva On The Lake, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing