We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Room was nice. Staff was friendly. It was clean. Decent view. The only black mark was a sub par dining experience. Horizons has the potential to be outstanding. The food was good but the service was lacking. It was not that busy either. The sunday brunch was great though.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank ckbykm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,149 - 1,155 of 1,414 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2014

So we were here in Feburary for a college league championship at the Spire Institue and unlike many of the reviews I've read our room was just fine. Now there really isn't much else to choose from around here so you pretty much take what you can but this place was fine.
They had no problem with us doing our own happy hour in the lobby every night before we left for finials which was great!
The only problem we had was the resturant never seemed to be staffed enough to take care of the guests in a reasoable amout of time. I don't understand why as not only were we there with the team, this was Valentine's weekend so you'd think a place like this would be prepared. With not a lot of choice for food around this town this time of year made this a bigger issue than it might have be otherwise.
Speaking of food, again why with all of the events going on at the Spier Institute you' think the local businesses would be happy to stay open to feed hungry people a bit later than normal but every night it seemed our choices were very limited to what was open.
I guess this is really a summer town and I don't ever expect to come back especially in the winter!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ItzMR2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Wow, this place is great. The rooms are very nice, clean, open. The building is welcoming with plenty of room in the lobby for sitting and eating. The lay out of the building is easy to get around and the outside in the back is the best. The sunset view you can watch is amazing. Very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gingerriss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I and our daughter recently stayed at Geneva Lodge during a weekend of volleyball at Spire Institute. Originally we had a problem with our reservation but Daisy Hall ( marketing director ) made worked diligently to correct the mistake. When we arrived at our room there was a beautiful meat and cheese tray, chocolate covered strawberries , fruits and various chocolate covered treats. We stayed in the family suite, which has 2 double beds and a set of bunk beds. We also had beautiful lake views. I would highly recommend this hotel. It's gorgeous with Great Lake views. We will be returning. A very special Thank You to Daisy Hall !!!!

Stayed: March 2014
2  Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stay here fairly regularly (once or twice a year). The Lodge is very pretty - they completely updated the dining room two years ago and it has a gorgeous fireplace now. The bar area is a bit larger now. They have a selection of local Ohio wines.
The rooms are clean and large. I do wish they all had refrigerators and microwaves. There is enough space to put in a little unit, but only the suites have them. I also wish they would have queen beds, but the standard rooms are all just doubles. Again the rooms are large enough to accomodate it.
The staff is friendly. Our room deal included breakfast for two - which was quite a deal as it was good for the buffet. The buffet is very good and has a make to order omlette station. All the food was good and stove hot.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vacation_addict_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daisy H, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

vacation_addict_Ohio-

I love your profile name! Thank you so very much for your great review. It means so much to all of us here at The Lodge when an honest customer goes on and leaves their feedback.

I wanted to let you in on a little secret... (all of our double beds will bed changed to queen beds by the end of this year)! We are working to replace all of our mattresses to Serta brand mattresses beginning this month and as we do so will be upgrading all of our doubles to queen size beds. As you mentioned there is space and we are excited to offer added comfort to guests this year!

Another great bit of information is our upcoming Lounge refresh coming in 2014. We will be adding in more flat screens for more guests to catch their favorite games (more that 2 at a time) and changing the configuration a bit to make it even more functional for guests as well with added seating.

Thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to serving you again soon at The Lodge and in Horizons Restaurant & Lounge!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

I called on January 24th,2014 to make a reservation for
the weekend of
March 14-15,2014. The girl made my reservation and told me the first nights room rate of $ 216.00 was due (which I paid immediately )the 2nd night would be need to be paid at checkout. I then received an email with only one (1) day reserved. I proceeded to call and speak with a MGR. to alert them of the reservation mistake. The management told me there are NO rooms available and I do not have a room for the second night. I am traveling from hours away and all rooms at area hotels are booked. I am furious that management is unwilling to find a solution to accommodate the original reservation.
***If Geneva Lodge management honors the original reservation for both days I will amend my current poor review. ***

Stayed: January 2014
7  Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daisy H, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Paula-

Thank you for sharing your experience. I am so sorry to hear the information from your call with our reservation agent did not transfer over to your confirmation letter.

I have looked into your booking with our Front Desk Manager and have located a room for you for the entire time you booked. I will reach out shortly to ensure it is the room type you prefer.

I know you spoke to our Front Desk Manager as well last weekend who did everything in her power locate a room for you as soon as possible. Thank you for letting us know what happened, for your patience and please accept my apologies for the inconvenience.

Sincerely, Daisy Hall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

My wife and I had a good experience with our overnight. The Lodge staff was extremely friendly upon checking in. The room and Lodge as a whole were clean and up to date. Very spacious room with a nice view of the Lake. Pool area was clean.

We had a sub-par experience at the restaurant in the lodge. It took about 20 minutes to get our drinks after our server finally figured out what they had in stock. The server forgot to check in on us and food came very late. Despite this, our server was very friendly and comp'd some items on the bill. Breakfast buffet was great.

I would recommend this as a nice, relaxing place to stay or take family members.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geneva on the Lake
7.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Ashtabula
Hampton Inn Ashtabula
#1 of 5 in Austinburg
446 reviews
17.6 mi away
Steele Mansion Inn & Gathering Hub
7.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Ashtabula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Residence Inn Cleveland Mentor
0.4 mi away
The Lakehouse Inn
The Lakehouse Inn
#1 of 3 in Geneva on the Lake
570 reviews
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake

Address: 4888 N Broadway, Geneva on the Lake, OH 44041-7755
Region: United States > Ohio > Geneva on the Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Geneva on the Lake
Price Range: £90 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the midst of Ohio's wine country, on the shores of Lake Erie; The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake offers a beautiful setting for tasteful getaways. The Lodge features a variety of packages and seasonal rates for all travel needs, from seasonal specials and Bed & Breakfast getaways for fun filled family vacations to the Wine Country package and Two Night Wine Excursion package for romantic escapes. You can even find green friendly meeting options! With a multitude of amenities including indoor & outdoor pools and hot tubs, Horizons Restaurant & Lounge with outdoor seating, meeting facilities for large events and on site activities including a wine shuttle to nearby wineries, bike rentals and massage services; The Lodge offers the perfect escape in Northeast Ohio. Local attractions include 20+ wineries, 17 covered bridges and Geneva-on-the-Lake's nostalgic entertainment strip as well as Geneva State Park's beach, marina and hiking trails for outdoor adventure. Visit The Lodge today for your great Ohio getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Geneva-On-The-Lake Hotel Geneva On The Lake
Hotel At Geneva State Park
At Geneva State Park Hotel
The Lodge At Geneva-On-The-Lake Geneva On The Lake, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing