We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room for improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hermitage, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Room for improvement”
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel many times and have been happy with the cleanliness of the rooms. I don't like to give poor reviews, but I was not very pleased with my latest stay. I stayed with a group of friends in a family room. We also reserved a room with 2 queen beds, in which 2 other friends stayed. The queen room was clean and my we were pleased with it. I had several issues with the family room. The floor appeared as though it had not been swept. The table had crumbs all over it, so it had not been cleaned either. There were only fitted sheets and a blanket on each bunk bed. We requested more sheets and they were delivered promptly. I was disappointed with this room. It was not as clean as one would expect for the price paid. If this were my only experience at this hotel, I don't think I would ever stay again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank djk645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    862
    363
    91
    27
    21
See reviews for
368
624
20
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I checked in on Friday, April 3 for the two night wine excursion. The lodge rooms are spacious and clean. We had a view of the lake which made our room even nicer. The staff were friendly with the exception of one female bartender. The pizza we ordered to go from the bar was horrible. It was barely cooked and she knew that because she brought it out on a tray instead of in a box. The kitchen was closed because our shuttle got us back late so that night we had no dinner since the pizza was raw and inedible. We couldn't complain or have something be done about it because the kitchen was closed. The wine shuttle is a very nice touch but be careful how you read what is included in the package. We were charged for the shuttle on our bill for two days and only went once. We also didn't get to go to the ones they said we were going to and our plans from the shuttle driver changed several times throughout the night to where the last stop was going to be a pick up of 11:30. We left at 4:30. Supposed to only be gone five hours. I asked the driver if we could just go back to the lodge and he obliged and the rest of the shuttle guests wanted to as well. We were also charged the incorrect amount for each day of our stay on our rooms and didn't realize until we looked over the itemized bill. In the car. Which is our fault for not looking while there. We will be calling tomorrow for a refund of the over charges. Hope I don't have to write a negative review after that conversation. All in all the food is mediocre. We did have dinner in the restaurant on Saturday night of our stay and it was over priced for very limited offerings. Breakfast buffet was okay. Again nothing special. It's a shame they don't have a larger menu because there really were no other restaurants very close other than wineries which seemed to all be booked on Saturday. Their staff are a great asset minus one exception. The location is perfect even if you choose to just drive to a few wineries. We had a great getaway and hope to go back in the summer to make use of the amenities they offer for warm weather. The pool area looks really nice. The walking path was super nice but due to weather we couldn't use the hiking trails but hope to in the summer. The area around the lodge and the town around it is very run down. Very poverty stricken. Sad to see. I would recommend the lodge to couple or families. Maybe pack some groceries though:-)

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rognec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Room was nice. Staff was friendly. It was clean. Decent view. The only black mark was a sub par dining experience. Horizons has the potential to be outstanding. The food was good but the service was lacking. It was not that busy either. The sunday brunch was great though.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ckbykm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, California, USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

So we were here in Feburary for a college league championship at the Spire Institue and unlike many of the reviews I've read our room was just fine. Now there really isn't much else to choose from around here so you pretty much take what you can but this place was fine.
They had no problem with us doing our own happy hour in the lobby every night before we left for finials which was great!
The only problem we had was the resturant never seemed to be staffed enough to take care of the guests in a reasoable amout of time. I don't understand why as not only were we there with the team, this was Valentine's weekend so you'd think a place like this would be prepared. With not a lot of choice for food around this town this time of year made this a bigger issue than it might have be otherwise.
Speaking of food, again why with all of the events going on at the Spier Institute you' think the local businesses would be happy to stay open to feed hungry people a bit later than normal but every night it seemed our choices were very limited to what was open.
I guess this is really a summer town and I don't ever expect to come back especially in the winter!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ItzMR2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mentor
Level Contributor
241 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Wow, this place is great. The rooms are very nice, clean, open. The building is welcoming with plenty of room in the lobby for sitting and eating. The lay out of the building is easy to get around and the outside in the back is the best. The sunset view you can watch is amazing. Very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gingerriss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Ohio
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I and our daughter recently stayed at Geneva Lodge during a weekend of volleyball at Spire Institute. Originally we had a problem with our reservation but Daisy Hall ( marketing director ) made worked diligently to correct the mistake. When we arrived at our room there was a beautiful meat and cheese tray, chocolate covered strawberries , fruits and various chocolate covered treats. We stayed in the family suite, which has 2 double beds and a set of bunk beds. We also had beautiful lake views. I would highly recommend this hotel. It's gorgeous with Great Lake views. We will be returning. A very special Thank You to Daisy Hall !!!!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
182 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stay here fairly regularly (once or twice a year). The Lodge is very pretty - they completely updated the dining room two years ago and it has a gorgeous fireplace now. The bar area is a bit larger now. They have a selection of local Ohio wines.
The rooms are clean and large. I do wish they all had refrigerators and microwaves. There is enough space to put in a little unit, but only the suites have them. I also wish they would have queen beds, but the standard rooms are all just doubles. Again the rooms are large enough to accomodate it.
The staff is friendly. Our room deal included breakfast for two - which was quite a deal as it was good for the buffet. The buffet is very good and has a make to order omlette station. All the food was good and stove hot.

Green Features: The rooms and public areas have recycle containers.
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vacation_addict_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daisy H, Guest Relations Manager at The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
vacation_addict_Ohio-

I love your profile name! Thank you so very much for your great review. It means so much to all of us here at The Lodge when an honest customer goes on and leaves their feedback.

I wanted to let you in on a little secret... (all of our double beds will bed changed to queen beds by the end of this year)! We are working to replace all of our mattresses to Serta brand mattresses beginning this month and as we do so will be upgrading all of our doubles to queen size beds. As you mentioned there is space and we are excited to offer added comfort to guests this year!

Another great bit of information is our upcoming Lounge refresh coming in 2014. We will be adding in more flat screens for more guests to catch their favorite games (more that 2 at a time) and changing the configuration a bit to make it even more functional for guests as well with added seating.

Thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to serving you again soon at The Lodge and in Horizons Restaurant & Lounge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geneva on the Lake
7.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Ashtabula
Hampton Inn Ashtabula
#1 of 5 in Austinburg
409 reviews
7.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Ashtabula
17.6 mi away
Steele Mansion Inn & Gathering Hub
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Ramada Austinburg/Ashtabula
Ramada Austinburg/Ashtabula
#2 of 5 in Austinburg
78 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Lakehouse Inn
The Lakehouse Inn
#1 of 3 in Geneva on the Lake
479 reviews
6.1 mi away
Motel 6 Geneva
Motel 6 Geneva
#1 of 2 in Geneva
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake

Property: The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake
Address: 4888 North Broadway, Geneva on the Lake, OH 44041
Region: United States > Ohio > Geneva on the Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Geneva on the Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the midst of Ohio's wine country, on the shores of Lake Erie; The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake offers a beautiful setting for tasteful getaways. The Lodge features a variety of packages and seasonal rates for all travel needs, from seasonal specials and Bed & Breakfast getaways for fun filled family vacations to the Wine Country package and Two Night Wine Excursion package for romantic escapes. You can even find green friendly meeting options! With a multitude of amenities including indoor & outdoor pools and hot tubs, Horizons Restaurant & Lounge with outdoor seating, meeting facilities for large events and on site activities including a wine shuttle to nearby wineries, bike rentals and massage services; The Lodge offers the perfect escape in Northeast Ohio. Local attractions include 20+ wineries, 17 covered bridges and Geneva-on-the-Lake's nostalgic entertainment strip as well as Geneva State Park's beach, marina and hiking trails for outdoor adventure. Visit The Lodge today for your great Ohio getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Geneva-On-The-Lake Hotel Geneva On The Lake
Hotel At Geneva State Park
At Geneva State Park Hotel
The Lodge At Geneva-On-The-Lake Geneva On The Lake, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing