We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place, a bit over priced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wheelersburg
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice place, a bit over priced”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The lodge has been updated. Nice lobby and great library/table game room. The lake view was beautiful. Staff was helpful when we were looking for a common area for family to relax. Over priced for the area.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mamatravele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    854
    358
    91
    27
    20
See reviews for
365
618
20
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Youngstown, New York
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We had a great time....the lodge is just beautiful & very clean....the staff were great. However the food in the restaurant was not that great, & a bit pricey.....An overall great time.....Can't wait to come back!!!!!

Room Tip: A room with a view of the lake is a must
See more room tips
Green Features: I love that it is non-smoking! I also love the recycle policies & the linen reuse policy to help the environment.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericktown, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The Lodge is a beautiful place to stay. We enjoy being near the water. The rooms are very clean and the staff is very friendly and helpful, especially Elizabeth at the front desk. She is great! The food at the Horizon restaurant was delicious. We enjoyed our dinner there and breakfast the next morning. We had the same hostess for both. We didn't get her name but she was wonderful, also.
We look forward to our next visit in the fall as we booked a room before we left for our anniversary.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dexter, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I was expecting a lot for the price and was sadly disappointed. The grounds are lovely and the paved pathway into the state park was great for walking and running with beautiful views of Lake Erie. Unfortunately the rest of our experiences there didn't match up. We didn't experience helpful staff nor were they responsive to our problems getting the internet to work. They never mentioned there was a business area with computers. When we ate at the restaurant, despite many empty tables, we had to wait more than 40 minutes to be seated. Then we were given a table around the corner and the waitress didn't see us until we managed to get her attention (did I mention that almost all the tables were empty?). Check in and check out took a long time (as in only one staff person available on a Friday afternoon) and no one bothered to explain where anything was. I've been to many amazing hotels and I've always received a brief but detailed explanation of the services and supports offered - even maps and suggestions for what to do. Not here. It was clear they were too busy with phone calls or other things to pay attention to us and I'm disappointed by our experience at the lodge.

Green Features: They claim to be environmentally friendly - having a waste basket for recycling seemed great but they did replace our towels even though we hung them up.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank funlovin782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canfield, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

It was an outstanding facility! We loved the location for Geneva- on-the-Lake!
It was very relaxing and the room was amazing and very spacious.....
Loved being by Lake Erie and experienced a wedding by the water in the wedding gazebo!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Amazing location close to home. What a relaxing venue and such gorgeous views of the lake. We really enjoyed out walk out room to the pool. The multipurpose trail is wonderful for watching the amazing sunsets or a nice walk or bike ride. e can't wait to go back next year for our 3rd visit. It's also wonderful that it is a dog friendly hotel.

Room Tip: We enjoy the first floor poolside room where we also had a view of the lake. We stayed in room 128...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClevelandOhioCherylG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My family and I took a quick getaway here a few weeks ago. We enjoyed the beautiful lakeside setting and well-appointed lodge. We ordered pizza from the lodge restaurant and it along with the service was great! However, our room left a little something to be desired. We were in a family room with bunk beds. Upon arrival I noticed the carpet was not freshly swept. I asked for a vacuum and was promptly given one along with an apology over the condition of our room. I appreciated the apology, but would have liked it more if I hadn't had to sweep the room in the first place. There were also some big stains on the dresser that could have been cleaned up easily if someone had been paying attention.
It was a cooler day when we were there so we asked for extra blankets for our kids beds as the bunks only had a blanket (no comforter). I would have also liked an extra blanket, but apparently the hotel had no more spares! I found that odd since the hotel was not fully booked. Something else that was odd was that there were NO mattress covers on the bunk beds. Given that these are kids beds I found that a little gross. The bathroom also appeared to have had just a quick cleaning with the tub bottom being so slick I nearly fell.
Hopefully we just got a dud of a room. Now that I have kids I am not a clean freak, but I would expect some basic standards to be met in a hotel room. If I could rate this place 3 1/2, I would. The overall hotel is nice enough we want to try to stay again some other time and will hope for a better experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wanderluster79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geneva on the Lake
7.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Ashtabula
Hampton Inn Ashtabula
#1 of 5 in Austinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
7.5 mi away
Ramada Austinburg/Ashtabula
Ramada Austinburg/Ashtabula
#2 of 5 in Austinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
7.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Ashtabula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Steele Mansion Inn & Gathering Hub
23.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites
19.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 5 in Painesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake

Property: The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake
Address: 4888 North Broadway (SR 534), Geneva on the Lake, OH 44041
Region: United States > Ohio > Geneva on the Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Geneva on the Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the midst of Ohio's wine country, on the shores of Lake Erie; The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake offers a beautiful setting for tasteful getaways. The Lodge features a variety of packages and seasonal rates for all travel needs, from seasonal specials and Bed & Breakfast getaways for fun filled family vacations to the Wine Country package and Two Night Wine Excursion package for romantic escapes. You can even find green friendly meeting options! With a multitude of amenities including indoor & outdoor pools and hot tubs, Horizons Restaurant & Lounge with outdoor seating, meeting facilities for large events and on site activities including a wine shuttle to nearby wineries, bike rentals and massage services; The Lodge offers the perfect escape in Northeast Ohio. Local attractions include 20+ wineries, 17 covered bridges and Geneva-on-the-Lake's nostalgic entertainment strip as well as Geneva State Park's beach, marina and hiking trails for outdoor adventure. Visit The Lodge today for your great Ohio getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Geneva-On-The-Lake Hotel Geneva On The Lake
Hotel At Geneva State Park
At Geneva State Park Hotel
The Lodge At Geneva-On-The-Lake Geneva On The Lake, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing