We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“new adventure”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Geneva on the Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Anchor Motel and Cottages
Reviewed 7 July 2013

we found this motel after reading alot of reviews for geneva on the lake. sounded interesting and fun. we decided to book the kitchenette for 3 nights the 1st week of july.
everyone is right. it is a quaint place and brought back memories of traveling when we were kids.
they (phil and cathy, the owners) have fixed everything up very nicely. the beds were very comfortable. the rooms were on the smaller side, but had everything you'd need. everything was clean and comfortable.
there was no phone in our room, which we found humorous. but with cells, no big deal. also no internet, as their system had been hacked a couple times.
the owner were tremendous. they help you out with everything.
we had been there 2 nights, when my knee had swelled up to the point i couldn't walk. they gave us directions to the hospital. after 2 hrs at the er, we returned to the room and informed them we were heading home because i couldn't walk without crutches. they were very concerned with my condition and kept asking if there was anything they could do. they felt bad that we had to cut our vacation short. but they did give my wife a little something special because of our situation.
alll in all, a very comfortable and welcome place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kandvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2013

Four of us stopped here on a motorcycle trip to Maine. Owners were very friendly and invited us all back, after we parked the bikes, for a beer. Clean and cozy and perfect for sitting outside your door relaxing after a trip. Easy walk to the downtown area where we had a great dinner at a restaurant the owners recommended.

Room Tip: a newly renovated section had paved parking- perfect for our motorcycles
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kelsonhoff2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Our company needed a one nite stay as we had rented a house for the full week with many more of us.At the last minute we were accommadated a room.Very friendly hosts,great dog.Rooms were clean though outdated which we did not mind. I forgot my room key which they charged me for and promptly refunded when I produced it.Some would not have/ Thank you, would recommend.












t

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carollc45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We stayed for two nights at The Anchor! The room was newly remodelled and very clean. The owners were very nice upon check in. We happened to mention when chatting with them that we were in town celebrating our anniversary when we returned to our room they had left us a bottle of wine and a note for our anniversary. They go above and beyond!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank owllisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We go to Geneva on the Lake 2 or 3 times a year, but we just found this gem, and this will be the only place we stay. Its conveniently on the east end of the strip, well within walking distance of all the restaurants, pubs and other attractions. The owners are very friendly and its obvious that they take great pride in their establishment. It is extremely clean and very well maintained. Having been in the hotel business, I can say that the large chains could learn lessons from these owners. Easily the best place to stay in Geneva on the Lake!

Room Tip: Easy. Any room. All are extremely clean and very well maintained.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bklelux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We only stayed 1 night. It's a great location, friendly owners, CLEAN, and loved the rustic pine walls! I would recommend this place to anyone staying in the area. Will be back on a return trip and spread the word about this place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

It is difficult to find good reviews of hotels at Geneva on the lake because so many are older and not updated. Not so with the Anchor Hotel. The motel rooms were renovated over the off season. Our room was small but we expected that... Enough room for a king sized bed and a small table and chairs and tv (with direct tv) and stand. There is fresh paint (so fresh there was still the faint smell of it) on the walls and new carpet on the floor and what must be new beds that were very comfortable.. The bathroom was also new and clean. The hotel is on the far end of the strip but still an easy walk anywhere. Parking right outside your door was convenient. Management was friendly and helped us with a question about the thermostat...Tip: there is a booklet that shows you how to use it in one of the drawers. Remember that this is not the Ritz... nothing fancy...but everything you need for a comfortable and relaxing weekend. A coffee maker and coffee was a nice touch...would return here if we visit Geneva on the lake again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geneva on the Lake
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Ashtabula
Hampton Inn Ashtabula
#1 of 5 in Austinburg
446 reviews
6.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Ashtabula
0.8 mi away
The Lakehouse Inn
The Lakehouse Inn
#1 of 3 in Geneva on the Lake
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva
6.2 mi away
Motel 6 Geneva
Motel 6 Geneva
#1 of 2 in Geneva
88 reviews
1 mi away
Indian Creek RV and Camping Resort
Indian Creek RV and Camping Reso...
#1 of 4 in Geneva on the Lake
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Motel and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Motel and Cottages

Address: 5196 Lake Road, Geneva on the Lake, OH 44041
Region: United States > Ohio > Geneva on the Lake
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Geneva on the Lake
Price Range: £50 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Anchor Motel and Cottages are located in historic Geneva on the Lake, Ohio, one of Ohio's oldest and most exciting resort towns, and as a resort town, Geneva on the Lake offers something for everyone! Located in Ashtabula County, just minutes from Ashtabula Harbor, the shores of Lake Erie offer unlimited water activities. Whether you prefer swimming at Breakwater Beach, fishing for Walleye, Steelhead, Bass or Perch, sailing, scuba diving, jet skiing, beach walking, sunset watching, charter fishing trips... Well, you get the idea. For the landlubber there are many parks, wineries, arcades, restaurants and night clubs within walking distance, not to mention our eight 18-hole golf courses. You can sit and people watch, or enjoy the classic hot rods and motorcycles cruise the strip daily. Geneva on the Lake is without equal, and it's the perfect getaway for everyone! The highly rated Anchor Motel and Cottages offers 42 exceptionally clean, newly renovated rooms and fully equipped cottages all conveniently located on the Strip. You will be within walking distance of all of the area attractions. Just minutes from Geneva State Park and Marina, you will be centrally located to all of the fun and activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Anchor Motel And Cottages Hotel Geneva On The Lake
Anchor Motel And Cottages Geneva On The Lake, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing