We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“#1 On The Strip??????”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Geneva on the Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Anchor Motel and Cottages
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“#1 On The Strip??????”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

My husband booked this place after reading all of these rave reviews. But really people, I am confused!!! All this about the rooms being clean. Our room was so dark, dated and small that I really couldn't tell if it was clean. We would not have been so upset if we paid $89 to stay there, but at $120...no way was it worth that. No maid service, no fresh towels, nothing to make it special. And to say it's been renovated??? We had a table beside our bed that had 2 doors on it with the glass panels missing. Everything in the room looked like someone's grandmother had used it 30 years ago and then donated it. The drawer on our dresser was broken, the microwave front was yellowed. Come on. If you have any type of high expectations after reading these reviews, please reconsider. If this is the best on the strip, you'd be better to stay home.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    20
    13
    3
    9
See reviews for
15
35
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Our first trip to Geneva and staying at a motel! Gave the rooms a 4 star because they are small and outdated furniture. Also, bring blow drier and soap (small bar in room) Didn't realize motels don't provide. :) However, compared to some of the motels we passed this motel was one of the nicest on the strip. The rooms were clean. The motel is right at the start of the strip, not in the heart of the strip but that might have been a good thing with the late night partying!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo-Ella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This place was awesome!!!! I will refer this place to everyone.... We had such a great time! The place was very clean, very well equipped, close to the lake & to the strip...If you had a bad experience I cant see how....

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patti-toth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massillon, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

This little gem is the best value at GOTL. The owners are on premise and interact with the customers to insure a great stay. Rooms are CLEAN and the linen, towels etc are nice quality. These are not large rooms but if u have ever been to GOTL they are the nicest around. Plus the prices are great. Grounds are clean and well maintained too. True pride of ownership. The rest of the GOTL motels could learn allot for the Anchor Motel

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hotdogs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This was our second trip back to Geneva. We stayed at the Lodge the first time and loved it. Unfortunately the lodge was booked the weekend we visited, so we settled for the Anchor Motel. According to trip advisor the motel had recently been updated. The motel may have been updated on the outside with new siding but the room smelled and was very outdated. Red satin bed covers? Yuck! The room smelled like old furniture and dusty. There either was no air conditioning or air conditioning only during the day because at night our room was extremely hot! It was very loud at night with people drinking outside your room and the walls are paper thin! One night we were waken up at 3:30am with a couple fighting and screaming at each other for 30 minutes. Checking in was a terrible experience. It took us an hour to check in because the receptionist has no clue what she was doing! She swiped my credit card twice so I was charged on my card twice. I called 3 times about getting reimbursed for the extra charges and finally contacted my credit card company. Only through the credit card company was I able to talk to the owner who got the situation taken care of. And to the owners, don't bother responding because you will not change my opinion of the place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank a h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
44041Anchor, Owner at Anchor Motel and Cottages, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
As always, we at the Anchor Motel and Cottages take all guest concerns seriously. That said, we find it necessary to respond to this review.
Admittedly, as it turned out, there was an error in the credit transaction as this guest checked-in. However, when the problem was later identified and "confirmed", the error was rectified with a full refund of the amount in question without penality. Unfortunately, electronic financial transactions and verification does take time and this issue was resolved as quickly as it could be. For the error, we have and do, apologize.
Checking in at the Anchor on the other hand has never taken an hour to complete and did not take "an hour" in this instance. We have however been guilty of spending time with guests at check-in getting acquainted or sharing highlights and attractions of the area but the check-in proces itself is streamlined and is completed relatively quickly under normal circumstances.
The room that this guest occupied has in fact been Fully Renovated inside and outside as have the majority of our rooms. The unit in question is very popular with our guests and is often requested by returning guests.
It is important to clarify that we do not now, nor have we ever had "red satin bed covers" on these or any other beds at our facility. The majority of the furniture in the unit is in fact new having been put into service in 2013.
Management and staff at the Anchor takes Guests Comfort very seriously. Had we been notified of "noise" or "arguing" we would have addressed the situation immediately. We were not notified by this guest (or any other) of a problem during this guests stay or thereafter until having read it in this review. As always, given the opportunity, we would have addressed this or any other concern brought to our attention by a guest. We only ask that we be notified of a problem or concern while we have the chance to rectify it.
We did not earn the distinction of being the Number 1 rated Motel in Geneva on the Lake by disregarding Guests concerns or comments. We use these opportunities to better serve our publics. That said, we welcome all factual input but challange this review as inaccurate and possibly malicious. Thank you for your consideration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Me and my fiance stayed here over this last weekend. It was her first time in geneva and this place made it so we never wanted to leave. We had a king sized bed wich took up more then half the room but was worth it seeing as if there was only 2 of us. Very clean, very friendly, and great atmosphere. Thank you anchor for making this a rememberable weekend, i would recommend this place to anyone looking for a great atmosphere to stay in

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimRedwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

My husband & I spent this weekend in Geneva on the Lake and stayed at the Anchor Motel. Even though the room was small, it was clean & comfy!! We will stay here again!! Friendly service. The only thing missing was a swimming pool, but we still had a relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betty2203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geneva on the Lake
6.8 mi away
Ramada Austinburg/Ashtabula
Ramada Austinburg/Ashtabula
#2 of 5 in Austinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
6.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Ashtabula
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Ashtabula
Hampton Inn Ashtabula
#1 of 5 in Austinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites
18.7 mi away
Steele Mansion Inn & Gathering Hub
0.9 mi away
The Lakehouse Inn
The Lakehouse Inn
#1 of 3 in Geneva on the Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Motel and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Motel and Cottages

Property: Anchor Motel and Cottages
Address: 5196 Lake Road (State Route 531), Geneva on the Lake, OH 44041
Region: United States > Ohio > Geneva on the Lake
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Geneva on the Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Anchor Motel and Cottages are located in historic Geneva on the Lake, Ohio, one of Ohio's oldest and most exciting resort towns, and as a resort town, Geneva on the Lake offers something for everyone! Located in Ashtabula County, just minutes from Ashtabula Harbor, the shores of Lake Erie offer unlimited water activities. Whether you prefer swimming at Breakwater Beach, fishing for Walleye, Steelhead, Bass or Perch, sailing, scuba diving, jet skiing, beach walking, sunset watching, charter fishing trips... Well, you get the idea. For the landlubber there are many parks, wineries, arcades, restaurants and night clubs within walking distance, not to mention our eight 18-hole golf courses. You can sit and people watch, or enjoy the classic hot rods and motorcycles cruise the strip daily. Geneva on the Lake is without equal, and it's the perfect getaway for everyone! The highly rated Anchor Motel and Cottages offers 42 exceptionally clean, newly renovated rooms and fully equipped cottages all conveniently located on the Strip. You will be within walking distance of all of the area attractions. Just minutes from Geneva State Park and Marina, you will be centrally located to all of the fun and activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Anchor Motel And Cottages Hotel Geneva On The Lake
Anchor Motel And Cottages Geneva On The Lake, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing