We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for.”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Geneva on the Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dian's Poolside Motel
Reviewed 23 August 2012 via mobile

If you go to Geneva on the lake you should not expect high class accommodations. Dians is no exception.
The staff were very strange, AMD so were most of the guests.
They advertise a heated pool, but it is not heated.
The rooms are strange, decorated with nick nacks from the 70's. The bathrooms are small and the one we had, the toilet seat was only held in place with one screw.
The price is right, but don't expect the Ritz.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank captfred412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2012

We had a similar experience as the review from bigbrownguy. We were also greeted by a man smelling of alcohol and entered into a room that was old, but seemed like it was somewhat clean. The bathroom, however, was gross. Unfortunately we came on a holiday weekend and there were no other places with vacancies (that looked like they might be better) in the area so we stayed. We checked out a day early before 9am. We were still charged for another night even though we didn't stay! And, they'll tell you have to pay a deposit when you make reservations - it doesn't go towards the bill at the end! They completely overcharged us. The response was the same as bigbrownguy's "It says No Refunds at the front desk." We will never go to this place again. It'll be campgrounds (which will be cleaner than this place) or the Lodge for us. Don't stay here. We're not picky people and this was terrible.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NSmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

I have been here before when Dian was running it. She is no longer there to my surprise. It was still really nice. The bed wasn't to comfortable. Other than that everything was great. Hope to go back soon!!!!!!!!!!!! Thanks for a great trip!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank racegirl708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2009

Just spent 3 great days at Diane's Poolside Motel with my two teenage daughters we all had a great time, Diane & Bob welcome us when we got there and made us feel like family.Everyone that was there when we where, said that she always makes sure that everyone has a great time,Her place was real clean,has a great pool and the rooms where very large and clean. While we where there Diane gave my girls all the hot spots that teenagers like to hangout, so that they wouldn't be bored, with mom, She also told us all about the great places to eat, and even told us about some of the Gevena on the lake history. So if you need a great place to stay, this is it, along with meeting wonderful good friends Can't wait to go back See ya next year Diane & Bob
Thank You So Very Much.... Margie, Corey & Jamie..... :0)

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mugz60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2007

My wife and I planned to stay at the state campground in GOTL, (Geneva-On-The-Lake), but due to heavy rains all week before our weekend, the campground flooded and the state workers called and said they had to cancel our stay. I then called Dian's and booked a room for the weekend. She said the flooding wasn't bad up on her end of the town. I didn't know what to expect, but when we checked in, I was glad to see that the room had a microwave, a fridge, was very clean, and well maintained. Dian is a terrific, laid-back lady who only wanted to make our stay the best. Bob was away on business, so we didn't get to meet him. If we needed anything, Dian took care of it right away. The pool was sparkling clean, and Dian had a stereo, a fridge, and a picnic table by the pool entrance, which was great when we just wanted to "pool & cool it." It was the most relaxing weekend we've had in a long time, and we're already planning to go back.

Stayed: July 2006
3  Thank K&BSPittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2005

We just left Dian's Poolside Motel. When you are in Geneva on the Lake in Ohio be sure and stay there! It is a very relaxed atmosphere. Clean sheets, hot showers and all the amenities. You will not be staying at the Ritz, but if you want your motorcycle to be safe this is the perfect spot!
Close to the strip. Dian is helpful and always available. The pool was a bit cloudy when we were there, so we skipped swimming. Refrigerator and microwave in the room, but no phones. Air-conditioning worked well. Coffee was usually available at the front desk. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank dulcevesta928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2005

We just came back from our 2 nts. at Dian's Poolside Motel. We had a great time. Bob & Dian do all they can to make sure you have fun while staying there. We spent alot of time at the pool. Its clean, lots of tables & chairs & loungers to relax on. Bob & Dian know all the good places to eat. They even made reservations for us at a restraunt. We had a party of ten. All the motels are very old, so if your looking for a classy 5 star place, Geneva on the Lake is not the place to go. If your ok with an old motel that is clean and located right on the strip with owners that do all they can to help you enjoy your stay, then Dian's is the place to go. The rooms all had a refrigerator & microwave, air conditioned, cable TV, table & chairs. The bathrooms are small and in need of some repairs. But it was clean, the water had good pressure and was plenty hot. We had no problems at all with the rooms. And if we would have, I'm sure Bob or Dian would of taken care of it right away!! I recommend this motel. If we go back to Geneva on the Lake we would only stay at Dian's!

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank golfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva on the Lake hotels
0.9 mi away
The Lakehouse Inn
The Lakehouse Inn
#1 of 3 in Geneva on the Lake
570 reviews
0.9 mi away
Indian Creek RV and Camping Resort
Indian Creek RV and Camping Reso...
#1 of 4 in Geneva on the Lake
50 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake
The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake
#1 of 5 in Geneva on the Lake
1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dian's Poolside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dian's Poolside Motel

Address: 5169 Lake Road East, Geneva on the Lake, OH 44041
Region: United States > Ohio > Geneva on the Lake
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Geneva on the Lake
Price Range: £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Dian`s Poolside Hotel Geneva On The Lake
Dian's Poolside Motel Geneva On The Lake, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing