We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family reunion”
Review of The Lakehouse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lakehouse Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family reunion”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The Lakehouse Inn is beautiful in the summer. The decks leading down to the lake are surrounded by meticulous landscaping including plants and plentiful flowers. We had a birthday and wedding here. The parties were very well done- one party had to be moved inside because a storm popped up and the staff did a beautiful job accommodating us. Adrienne and Patty worked the events and they were very nice and worked hard making both events special. The dinners at both events were good and fair priced. The appetizer trays are somewhat skimpy for the price. We had a fruit tray at the one event and they cut strawberries in fourths.

The rooms in the house are very nice but somewhat small. I would not rent the cabins again. They are rather rustic for the price. They have been recently renovated by someone who clearly does amateur work. There is one window air-conditioner so the bedrooms are hot when the doors are shut. There was a big gap around the air-conditioner where bugs can come in.
Work was being done on the exterior of the cabins while we were there so when kids were taking a nap, there was hammering on the outside of the cabin- unacceptable when the cabins are rented out. The shower has a water saving shower head and you get a little more than a mist to rinse your hair. The control is cheap and we had to set it at just the right spot to get the water to stop. When you arrive, there is a little basket of snacks and chocolates as well as coffee in the kitchen of the cabins. These things were not replaced everyday even though you pay the same price every night. I've never stayed anywhere where the bathroom items were not refilled everyday.

Breakfast is in their restaurant. They give you a good big meal. We stayed three days and it would be wise to skip the toast. It came out tasting like stale bread-you could have used it for croutons. Everyone in our group said the same thing about the toast. Their homemade sausage is very good.

Both of my brothers are very involved with wine and chatted with the owner. He was very nice to them and gave my one brother a bottle of wine on the day we left.

Room Tip: Avoid the cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clevelandreviewers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    98
    20
    8
    7
See reviews for
52
341
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Each year the place gets better and better. The deck is as beautiful a place as you will find anywhere. The staff is very friendly and professional. We had an outstanding dinner at the Crosswinds restaurant. Nothing negative to say, we love the place.

Room Tip: The cottages have been remodeled
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rootstown, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Upon arriving we found the grounds in beautiful condition, with pleasant employees everywhere. We stayed in the cottage which was well appointed, newly remodeled and very clean. Walking downtown was easy and there you find multiple restaurants and taverns. Plenty of things for the kids as well with a water slide and putt- putt golf on the oldest course under continuous operation in America. Sitting at the beachside you could enjoy food & drink while overlooking Lake Erie and a gorgeous sunset.

Room Tip: Cottages # 2 and 3 was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank az2ret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerville, OH
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We enjoyed the restaurant and patio on a previous visit to Geneva and decided this time to stay at The Lakehouse Inn for the weekend. The original building (circa 1950's) has been purchased and totally remodeled by the current owners to be the lovely Inn it is today. The rooms vary in size and price - we had the Lake Erie Suite which is one of the more expensive choices. It has windows that look out to the lake, a living room with a small kitchenette, and a large bedroom with a very comfortable king sized bed and jetted tub. There are 3 ceiling fans in the suite. The bathroom (toilet and shower) is tucked around the corner but plenty big enough - and the sink is in the bedroom itself. WiFi works well in the room. The only improvement that we might suggest is getting a flat-screened TV for a better picture. The location makes it easy to walk to the strip (Eddie's Grill and Madsen Donuts) or to The Lodge at Geneva. We were very pleased at how nice Geneva on the Lake looks and had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: Book early. It is a very popular place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ohio Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2013

I was really disappointed in the Lakehouse Inn. "Cottage" No. 1 was definitely not resort-like, but more like camp. Coffeepot dirty. No place to hang clothes in the bathroom. Ironing board under the bed. No place to hang up a dress. No AC in the bedrooms. Ceiling fans so low they were dangerous (Don't let kids stand on the bed!).. Warm water not hot water and cold at first. When I asked for help about finding the ironing board, the person was annoyed. When I complained about the coffee pot, the response was like "that's all? that's nothing." No written response to my email complaints. Definitely not worth the $209 plus tax. Maybe the other rooms are nicer.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea B, Manager at The Lakehouse Inn, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
I have sent you several e-mails asking for you to contact me as I wanted to personally address your concerns. The cottages are set up that if you use any of the dishes, pots and pans, you should take care of them. Obviously the person before you missed the coffee pot. Our housekeepers do check them, but found the carafe clean and they did miss the grounds and filter that were there. They have added this to their daily checklist so no one else will have that happen. Needing a hook in the bathroom is a great suggestion and our head of housekeeping is going to have that taken care of. There is air conditioning, but not central air. The ceiling fans can only go as high as the ceiling is. I'm glad that you noted how clean everything was and how nice the location is. We all try to work hard to give everyone a great experience and was saddened that you did not enjoy yourself. I hope that you will try us again and come when you can sit back and relax at The Lakehouse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We have been to the wine country many times and stayed in a few different places. This was our first time to The Lakehouse Inn B&B.
I can only speak to Room #1 which is a king on the 1st floor of the Inn. It was cute, but too small of a room to jam a king bed into. There was just room to walk around the bed.
The worst part is the bathroom. It is a tiny, tiny, tiny space- it ran the length of the bedroom but was barely wide enough to stand sideways, let along try to get dressed. There is no counter space to put anything. The shower stall was of course also small, it was the full width of the room, but that's not saying much. We were there two nights and don't think we could have made it through a 3rd.
It is an older building and so not much (really nothing) in the way of sound proofing. I thought someone had brought a herd of elephants into the room above us at one point.
It is a bit too busy during the times the winery and restaurant are open. And parking is crazy - but the B&B has reserved spots (unless someone took it before the parking attendant started work). The parking attendant did a really good job of trying to manage that tiny lot.

The good points are:
It is nice property. The grounds are very nice and very nicely landscaped and maintained. It does sit right on Lake Erie. There are steps down to the lake. Not that anywhere on that shore has a beach, but you could swim if you really wanted to.
Breakfast was very good. It's served in the restaurant (as they are only open for dinner to the public) and every day had eggs, etc and each day had a special. Rotating between speciality pancakes or french toast. Both were wonderful.

Will we go back? Probably not. There are others place to try and some known favorites.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vacation_addict_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millersburg, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

My husband and I had a great experience here. My favorite part was the location right on Lake Erie. They have tiered patio seating for both relaxing and their winery facing the water. I could sit out there all day and night! The staff at the wine tasting bar were fantastic and we bought a bottle of wine to relax with. Our first night we ate in the restaurant and were blown away by their perch dinner. I gave some of my perch to my husband because the dinner was more than I could eat. The 2nd night the restaurant was closed but the front desk staff referred us to a really good seafood restaurant near by. The waitresses for both dinner and breakfast were awesome and could not do enough for us. The breakfast was delicious. We chose to stay in their standard/traditional rooms (Room #3). When you are in an older home like this the bedrooms are small by most of today's standards but that being said the room was very comfortable...there was a dresser with an ice bucket and snacks on top plus some local tourist guest. There was a place to hang our clothes. They really try to pamper you with special touches like luxury bedding, upscale bath amenities, nice bath towels, Deneen Pottery, curved shower rod, etc. The room was very clean. We had a little bit of rain but the Common Area was very comfortable with chairs and couches to relax for a while. I will definitely return and would not hesitate to recommend a stay at the Lakehouse Inn.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ohiobedandbreakfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geneva on the Lake
17.9 mi away
Steele Mansion Inn & Gathering Hub
7.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Ashtabula
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Ashtabula
Hampton Inn Ashtabula
#1 of 5 in Austinburg
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Ramada Austinburg/Ashtabula
Ramada Austinburg/Ashtabula
#2 of 5 in Austinburg
93 reviews
6.2 mi away
Motel 6 Geneva
Motel 6 Geneva
#1 of 2 in Geneva
83 reviews
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lakehouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lakehouse Inn

Property: The Lakehouse Inn
Address: 5653 Lake Rd E, Geneva on the Lake, OH 44041-9426
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Geneva on the Lake
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Geneva on the Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lakehouse Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the southern shore of Lake Erie, The Lakehouse Inn is the perfect location for a relaxing getaway. Enjoy fabulous sunsets, award winning wines, delicious local cuisine and relaxing spa services all in one location. The B&B is also within walking distance of Genenva-on-the-Lake attractions and a short drive from local wineries, covered bridges, the Metroparks biking/hiking trails and Historic Ashtabula Harbor. We are less than an hour from Cleveland and Erie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Lakehouse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lakehouse Hotel Geneva On The Lake
The Lakehouse Inn Geneva On The Lake, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing