We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good property and quite good service”
Review of Champak Bungalow

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pachmarhi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Champak Bungalow
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good property and quite good service”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This hotel is very spacious and kind of heritage rooms.. Since, these were British bungalows.. the roofs are real 'tall' (?).. the bathrooms are clean.. their restaurant is also good.. Well maintained lawn also.

The staff is helpful.. (I could find one English-speaking guy)..

Only thing, I didn't like was.. there are too many insects but the restaurant does not have a pest smasher (or killer)..

Room Tip: Don't take the rooms near to the reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raghav_Udupa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    39
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
66
10
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Was in Pachmarhi for 3 days , stayed in CHampak for 2 days and a night, being a government property, its well maintained , the staff is humble , and they serve like home made food , best part is they serve buffet of pre-decided menu, so you can tmake changes to the menu and you enjoy whats been served. Food served is hygenic and good in taste, We were there in rainy season , to enjoy the greener part of pachmari, we booked the swiss cotages which were air conditioned but due to rain i think that was not the right decision we made, requesting the Manager whose was again a well spoken guy, who speaks fluent english helped us change our room , suggested us the 4 rooms which were seperated from the main lobby to go for so that we as a group make the best of our stay and also donot disturb the honey mooners ;)
Best part was the food , clean washrooms, nice ginger strong tea , i would say..... : )
I think credit goes to the Manager who still being the government employee does his duty well.
Also that while we were finalizing the booking for Champak Bunglow, the lady who sits at the City Centre Bhopal office told us that this is the hotel where any minister who visits Pachmarhi stays.................Trust me guys in our entire trip we iterate the words in every few minutes ......: )

Room Tip: If its raining, Pachmari is a paradise when it rains, dont go for tents as they stink due to moistur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PretikAhlawat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Fabulous Place...Stayed in AC tent...and they were awesome....Food is good....and service is also is nice...

Only Flaw...Hot water is problem...and it is on and off...

Hotel doesnt arrange any trip....

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShaineshB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2013

The hotel is very good.. one of the best in Pachmarhi. Staff was very cordial and humble. Cottages are spacious, place is green and lots of activities for children too. Restaurant is expensive though but the breakfast was very good. Hotel is little away from market or the town so you can't walk to the market if you want to.
Overall the hotel is good to stay.

For complete review on Pachmarhi and tips for travel - visit my blog post on Pachmarhi

http://theusefulupdatez.blogspot.in/2013/12/travel-review-pachmarhi-pachmadhi-mp.html

Room Tip: book a lake view facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rishabh20735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We went to Pachmari on a family trip and stayed at this resort for 1 nights. Since we were there at the start of the off season, we were able to negotiate a good deal.

IPanchmari is a small town almost secluded from the rest of the world as only BSNL cell phones worked there. We planned to have a funfilled relaxed holiday and we had just that.

Champak Bunglow is a a amazing proprety , at Value price

The Luxry rooms are the best choice from all .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ANISH526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lucknow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

it has been more than a week we visited the hotel and ours has been absolutely terrible experiance visiting there .we visited the hotel after visiting a friends marriage and we stayed ther for two nights 15th and 16th july. i was carrying some of the jewellary along since i went for the marriage .on 16th when we planned to see the place around and we left the keys with the hotel for room cleaning to the manager and believing that we had locked our luggage well and also that the staff is a govt organisation they will not touch a thing .we came back and presuming our stuff was safe we didnt even cross check our stuff. next morning we left the place early morning and reaching home found the jewellary mising .on contacting back the staff we found they were in denial and brushed aside our allegations.any one who reads this for a review i would request all to avoid the hotel and the thieves out there .

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aartimooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

I have been to Champak Bungalow in July starting, the place was too good, green and beautiful.
Just a thought have tea or giving milk to our kids changed the whole view. 30 Rs for tea and 60 Rs for a glass of milk and that too without taxes. Milk was 20% water.
Cleaniless is the next thing shocked us, non one was there for cleaning in evening. I had to wipe my own room when a service guy came with shoes in the room.
FOOD - the worst thing. the bowl they used to serve is used for having food in my home and again for that quantity we were paying approx 300 Rs. My own diet is of one and a half bowl. Then I can easily eat 6 tawa chapatis of their kinds which costed 15 Rs each. For 2 Pcs of Gulab Jamun/ one scoop ice cream 80 Rs.
The Menu card was flooded with dishes, but we had to eat same dish everyday as it was raining so could not go outside. The roasted menu was fully missing not even available when orded in well advance.
Till now I have been to many places and I feel if the food is good then it adds stars to our experience.
Champak Bungalow can only be preferred for greenary nearby, thats it otherwise avoid it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rekha84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pachmarhi hotels
0.6 mi away
Golf View
Golf View
#1 of 17 in Pachmarhi
279 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Misty Meadows
Hotel Misty Meadows
#7 of 17 in Pachmarhi
95 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Pandav
Hotel Pandav
#4 of 17 in Pachmarhi
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Pachmarhi
Hotel Pachmarhi
#6 of 17 in Pachmarhi
76 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hotel Paradise
Hotel Paradise
#11 of 17 in Pachmarhi
22 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Utkarsh
Hotel Utkarsh
#13 of 17 in Pachmarhi
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Champak Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Champak Bungalow

Property: Champak Bungalow
Address: Near Padmini Lake, Pachmarhi 461881, India
Region: India > Madhya Pradesh > Hoshangabad District > Pachmarhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Pachmarhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing