We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awsme place”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Matheran
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Woodlands Matheran
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Matheran
Reviewed 7 March 2013

better late than never...
we went to matheran in 1st week of jan... we found this hotel on Tripadvison so firstly, i want to thanks Tripadvisor...hotel woodlands is the best place to relax in matheran.it is located in a very serene area...u've to walk a little bit from the market..bt if u want to njy the nature this is the best place.the manager, the staffs are very polite and helpful.the rooms are quite good..lot of activities available like u'll get badminton, TT, carrom, and kids will also njy because there are many playgrounds for the kids. they also have a small library.. and how can i miss about their food quality... its tremendously fantastic ..though its veg bt u'll forget about the non veg items after takng the food.. deserts are equally superb.. all in all, a very nice place to stay relax nd njy nature to its utmost level.. nd yes u'll also get monkeys over there bt trust me they are not at all harmful and the staffs over there helps a lot, they stand by at mealtimes to ward off monkeys that may try to come and bother you while you eat...i would recommend this place and i would to love to visit matheran again and again only for woodlands hotel..its very nice place to relax..:)

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AmitaTuhinSaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2013

We went to Matheran last weekend and stayed at Woodlands (selected based on the TA reviews). We were quite happy with our stay. The rooms & washrooms were clean and well kept. Lot of playing activities for children. Market is 15mins walk. Food was excellent. Paid Rs 7000/- for 2 rooms for 2 nights (including all meals & BF).
Right place if you just want to relax. The Manager Mr. Unnikrishnan is quite polite and courteous.
I would recommend this place.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms on floor below the office. if you want total privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pshyamkumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We found this hotel on Tripadvisor, and I would like to say we did not regret it one bit. It is located in a very serene area, 15 minutes' walk from the main market. If you want a peaceful holiday, stay here. The hotel manager is very helpful and polite. Overall, all the staff are extremely polite. They also stand by at mealtimes to ward off any monkeys that may try to come and bother you while you eat. The meals are vegetarian, and wonderful, to say the least. Lunch is their speciality, with delicious dessert. They do provide non-veg upon request, but the veg food was really good, so we decided to stick with it. The rooms are very spacious and clean. Lots of activities available like badminton, table tennis and carrom, and a nice playground for the kids. They also have a small library at the reception. All in all, a very nice stay at a very reasonable price!

Room Tip: We were given a good room with a balcony facing the woods at the rear, which is the best, so make su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zeekam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

You can go for this hotel if you are looking for the option for relaxation. I was there for two days and two nights. The stay was descent. Facilities could be better. Food is homelike so enjoyed it a lot. Staff is quite helpful in nature. This place is quite far and lonely from market area. So, if you are re-visitng matheran and just want to enjoy the weather, i can recommend you this hotel. Being remote from other locations, better you get back to hotel before sunset. The hotel is on the way to monkey-point.Rooms are fairly cleaned. Bedshits were not that clean. I enjoyed playing carrom out there. I have been on odd days and hence hardly 1-2 other rooms were occupied. I really enjoyed privecy and peaceful nature around this hotel. Overall good value for money. (5.5 K for 2 days )

Room Tip: check for rooms facing towards badminton court.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RohanDeshmukh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

The resort is very well managed, very good staff, great service.I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at WoodLands with my family.The food served was good and tasteful. The resort provides Table Tennis, Badminton and Carrom sports facilities. It has a small library too. The resort is surround by lush green trees and just 1 km away from the Main Bazaar. I would recommend Woodlands for an enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SPillai777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Location: This resort is located 1km away from the main market. Because its not located in the middle of the market(like most other resorts) it is peaceful and relaxing. It is surrounded by forest from all the sides.

Positives: The service was amazing. The staff and management was courteous and accommodating. They showed me many rooms and asked me choose whichever I liked. The food(veg) was excellent. It was so good that I overate everyday. They do not make non-veg food but they offered to get it from the market for us. You can consume your own alcohol if you wish, they are hospitable enough to set up a table for you where ever you want. I guess they stock beer but not liquor.

Negatives: There were hardly any noticeable short coming. There was a bit of leakage in the bathroom tank, one of the bed made cranky sound sometimes. Bed sheets / towels were not very clean.

The negatives did not mattered much as I had an amazing experience. Overall the resort is well maintained.

Facilities: They have a badminton court, a TT table, a carom board and many swings.

Remember to keep a candle in the room as electricity goes off sometimes and keep a torch or something if you wish to walk around forest when it gets dark.

I would always stay here whenever I visit Matheran.

Room Tip: Take the cottage or the rooms on 1st floor facing the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ManishMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

The hotel is owned by Parsi family but is being managed by South Indian manager. The place is neat and clean, well kept, and spacious. Staff is friendly and cooperative. Lunch was excellent, Dinner & breakfast could have been better! You can play table tennis, carrom board, badminton; plus they have many swings & slides for kids.
Matheran hotels are known to be expensive, no exception for this property. But this place is far better and hygienic than the Anand Ritzs and Rangoli retreats of Matheran!

Room Tip: try rooms on first floor they are spacious and have balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tarungags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matheran
2.2 mi away
Horseland Hotel And Mountain Spa
2.7 mi away
Dune Barr House - Verandah in the Forest
2.2 mi away
Hotel Kumar Plaza
Hotel Kumar Plaza
#1 of 22 in Matheran
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Radha Cottage
Radha Cottage
#6 of 22 in Matheran
104 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rangoli Retreat
Rangoli Retreat
#14 of 22 in Matheran
143 reviews
10.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Alibaug
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Woodlands Matheran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Woodlands Matheran

Address: Chinoy Road, Matheran 410102, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Raigad District > Matheran
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Matheran
Price Range: £100 - £304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing