We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Hotel
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Went in 1st weekend of Dec 2013. Good clean rooms, service is also good. Food was very good. Just 10mins walking from Matheran railway station, 5mins from market area. Will definitely look to stay there next time also.

Room Tip: Lower floor rooms will be quieter. There are only 2-3 rooms with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sameer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2012

First Impression very Neat Accommodation was decent we were in a group and we had a bigger room. Food was good veg but good very close to the main street area. If you are a couple you can skip this place as it has more family and a group picnic place. All that well priced most important.
Recommended for Family and Friends

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank amitahuja1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

I visited matheran on 12th & 13th May 12. This hotel is good. specially food quality is good and I will give it 4 out of 5 points in this budget category hotels. But I will strongly recommend this hotel for those who want to just wonder in and around matheran, and who want to have just one day trip, to prefer this hotel. They also arranged for a magic show which was most entertaining event in whole trip. all staff is co-operative. Rs. 2800/- for a non ac rooms seems quite expensive but as compared to all other hotels it is not bad. when i inquired with other tourists, some of them said the had to pay extra for food on and above Rs. 2800/- for rent of a single night stay. anyone who wants more info on matheran trip can contact me on my email id vtk14311@gmail.com

Room Tip: rooms above the reception are quit good and u may also try any room on front side specially on first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TusharKpune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Royal Hotel is one of the oldest hotels in Matheran with an old world charm set in a rustic setting. The two nights stay set us back by about Rs. 4,300 (inclusive of all meals – albeit purely vegetarian) which we found to be reasonable when compared with horrendous rates charged by other so-called prime hotels in Matheran. It was clean no frills hotel with a small swimming pool and a play garden for kids – but it was perfect for us. In the afternoon we were served Gujarati vegetarian thali and at night there was buffet. The food was simple but tasty and we were happy with it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheroo53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

if you are looking for luxury ; this is not the right place. Suitable for people on a budget since it is also close to station. so you end up saving money on the travel part. Clean rooms not extravagant. Very family oriented & simple place. Staff also helpful. the only drawback is the Veg food. So stay here & eat else. Over all, ideal for people on BUDGET!

Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
2  Thank wereisthesense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Beside the excellent views that Matheran has to offer the Royal Hotel was at first impression very disappointing. The plaster on the ceiling and walls was coming off and the bed was damp and the rooms were very old. Swimming pool is slightly bigger than a bath tub! I realized later that I got a bad deal since I booked it using travelvacanza.com which cheated me and priced the room for 1000 Rs. more. My advice: never use travel vacanza to book any hotel. Book this hotel directly.

The upside of the hotel was food. It was excellent and my friends decided not to eat outside food as we would miss great food in our hotel. It's a nice budget hotel and they are getting new rooms renovated. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: My advice: never use travel vacanza to book any hotel. Book this hotel directly and ask for newly re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ebn-e-batuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

It is a good hotel with very less price. Location is very nearer to Railway Station so that the cost of transport can also be saved which is very high in matheran. Food is average. The property needs to be renovated. However overall it is a good hotel

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CA_NITESH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matheran hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kumar Plaza
Hotel Kumar Plaza
#1 of 22 in Matheran
351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rangoli Retreat
Rangoli Retreat
#14 of 22 in Matheran
143 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dune Barr House - Verandah in the Forest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Radha Cottage
Radha Cottage
#6 of 22 in Matheran
104 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Byke Heritage - Matheran
0.3 mi away
Adamo The Resort
Adamo The Resort
#4 of 22 in Matheran
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: Kasturba Road | Near Matheran Railway Station, Matheran 410102, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Raigad District > Matheran
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Matheran
Price Range: £22 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal is located in the city of Matheran, It is an amazing destination located in Maharashtra. The lush green beauty with serene environment and amazing ambiance makes it a perfect place to explore the natural beauty. The hotel offers services that are designed to offer maximum comfort to its guests. Some of the services offered here are room service and front desk for the convenience of guests. Every room in the hotel is uniquely designed with cozy interiors and offer exclusive amenities attached bathroom and various other essential bathroom toiletries. Have a pleasent stay at Hotel Royal! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing