We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay but no service to say the least”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Byke Heritage - Matheran
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Matheran
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I went to Byke in February for a couple of days in Matheran. Was suggested by a few family friends, but the staff was run down courteous. I handed over a visiting card at the entrance to no avail, they insisted on me WRITING down all details. Finally had to engage the GM to intervene and stop the nonsense. Cleanliness and room quality was just average, not worth the price it commands for Matheran comparison.
Food was ordinary, crowd was mostly Gujju and Marwaris and pure vegetarian food was the only plus.
Also items for lunch do not cater to all cusisines but taste was fine. Visit there for a family atmosphere but not much to look forward.

Room Tip: Pick something near the main area else walking which as it is much in Matheran would be even more cu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thisisankit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013

We had booked this hotel thru MakeMyTrip and this was supposed to be a 4 star hotel. I have stayed at better places. The front desk manager needs some kind of training in hospitality. Not forthcoming with information at all. Took no initiative to help us. The rooms are nothing great for the kind of money we paid. The breakfast was pathetic!! Value for money is "Zero"!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foodie_Wanderer16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I'd pre-booked a room for 2 at The Byke in June. 1 day before my trip, they called up to inform me that due to water shortage, they would be cancelling all the booking and will refund the money. I asked for a refund and provided my account details. Meanwhile, I went ahead and went to Matheran and got excellent service despite the water shortage at The Lord's Central (with and amazing valley view!). After 3-4 follow-up calls and reminders, I finally got my refund back only at the end of July. Byke has been a big let-down in terms of customer service and promptness. Would not recommend anyone to book this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank SKrishna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We stayed at Byke for 4 days and it was just a wonderful experience. Had been there before too many years back, but now they have built some new rooms near the pool which are quite good.
We stayed at the executive room by the pool and it was quite awesome.
The rooms here are very spacious and maintained well.The bath tub in the room though was not that great but it could be due to the kind of water that is there in matheran.
Food is never a problem at the byke, they have the best food in matheran, a very lavish breakfast, very good gujrati thalis for lunch and evenings are always the best with variety of foods.
The swimming pool is also very good.
And a word on the aurvedic massage parlour thast they have - its pretty awesome and reasonable.
All in all, i would any day stay at Byke in matheran each time i visit.

Room Tip: The pool facing rooms are the best rooms, choose from amongst the executive and super deluxe rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nirav D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

It was pleasant stay at The Byke, Matheran for long weekend, specially before welcoming Rains. It is one of the remote place on Mall Road, but that's advantage being at Byke. Far from crowd & nice place to relax with good entertainment & for walk around. Pool, Rain dance & kids area are attraction with most neglected area that is library.

Food though had some variety, could still be better.
Rooms could be cleaner than it was.
Library Could be kept better equipped to retain travelers for an extra day or so.

A big suggestion for Byke, since they are already charging higher than the offering, could include complimentary travel from Matheran Station Pickup & Drop by Hand Rikshaw, (Matter of Rs.100/person) At least for Couple or family with Kids.

Room Tip: Choose Deluxe Rooms opposite Pool or room 121, if with family & kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_Crazy_0625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I went to "The Byke" from 31st May to 2nd June. This is a very hot period of the year. Byke is quite far from the the station ( I walked from Dasturi to the hotel - around 4.5 kms) So by the time I reached the hotel, I was very eager to step into an air-conditioned room, and was expecting some extra attention. What happens is exactly opposite. You are greeted with Dead -pan expressions, almost as if you are not wanted here. I was given an executive suite which i was told that it was better and the luxury deluxe. As I entered the room the first thing you notice is the smell, as if the room was locked for 1 month. The A/c was not working and I had to call them twice to get it fixed. There was a table fan that was not working as it was connected to a faulty socket.

The food was not up to the mark. They surely need to change the chef. The only saving grace was the manager who was looking after everyone and ensuring that all were well fed. They have live music but I could have done without it.

Nothing much to write about this property. "Avoid" is the only word that comes to my mind.

Room Tip: Avoid the hotel. It is too old a place and badly needs a renovation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Creativegene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We stayed for three weekdays, location a bit away from market, peaceful environs outside, lot of activities at resort, esp in the evenings(shows & music), good food variety though cleanliness can be improved, rooms including bathrooms in good & hygienic condition. Definitely go for food, activities & value for money, rethink if need total peace & quiet.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Ajay_Gokhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matheran
0.5 mi away
Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kumar Plaza
Hotel Kumar Plaza
#1 of 22 in Matheran
316 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rangoli Retreat
Rangoli Retreat
#15 of 22 in Matheran
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Alibaug
9.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Karjat
0.5 mi away
Adamo The Resort
Adamo The Resort
#4 of 22 in Matheran
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Byke Heritage - Matheran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Byke Heritage - Matheran

Address: M.G Road | District - Raigad, Matheran 410102, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Raigad District > Matheran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Matheran
Price Range: £36 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Byke Heritage - Matheran 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Byke is Matheran's first dwelling place. Built in 1854 by the discoverer of Matheran, Hugh Malet, then Collector of Thane , it is a heritage building that still stands majestically in all its pristine glory, personifying a heritage unparalleled, surrounded by the inheritance of 7 sprawling acres. In this wooded estate the first luxury Resort of Matheran, The Byke- A Hotel Retreat, has been blended with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Byke Heritage - Matheran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Byke Hotel Matheran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing