We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and Peaceful Place to Stay at Matheran, classy food”
Review of Bombay View Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Matheran
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bombay View Hotel
Ranked #4 of 26 Matheran B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Good Value for Money place to stay at Matheran, the food quality was superb, and the property is cool, natural.. The only drawback, property is very far from the market and railwaystation. Travelling to and fro to the hotel is a pain.

Good property to go and just relax

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DevVerma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 46 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2011

I just had a wonderful experience of staying in Hotel Bombay View. We both (me n my wife/ life) will never forget those four days which we had spent in this hotel. It was our Honeymoon. When we decided to go to Matheran, almost all of my friends n relatives made a fun of us for such a boaring & old fashioned decision. But, after enjoying those four days, we are pleased to say that our's was a perfect decision.
What to say about Hotel Bombay View? It is just a paradise on earth. The location, the services, the food, the hospitality n last but not the least the Rate, everything is just fantastic. Even though it is a hotel or resort, the behaviour of the managment was homly. The food quality was the best.
Away from the noice n crowed, situated in green valleys, it is just a paradice. Every one must have this experience at least once in a life. We are definately going to have it again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank us_agashe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

If you are a vegetarian and are looking to take the extended family out for a weekend, this could be the place for you. Simple, healthy vegetarian fare - the room price includes a hearty breakfast, lunch and dinner.
The hotel is located well away from the crazy crowds of the main marketplace - it's about a 12-minute walk, so not too much of a hike either. It could be a little tricky to find the place the first time as the signs are not very helpful. Just call the manager and he'll direct you.
This is definitely not a place for a romantic getaway or if you're looking for a plush room and some pampering. It's a basic, no-frills place, but can be a fun outing for a large group. And remember, they only serve vegetarian food.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rajugyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2011

I have been a frequent visitor at the BombayView for the past several years. Suits my budget and suits my temperament of relative quietness until recently when they insisted on playing loudspeakers on full blast. The staff mostly is courteous and non intrusive. HOWEVER, a recent incident makes me see red and I am almost certain i will not go back.

I had gone with a group of friends for a 2 day stay and one of them forgot to pack her designer dress while coming back. On realizing it, we were unfortunately back home in Mumbai. She called up the manager requesting him to note down her address to have the dress couriered back. But, the manager was not too helpful and didnt even sound like he cared a damn ! Now, i'd think that if Bombayview is called the friendliest hotel in Matheran, it should act as one !! Surely they know that a small gesture of couriering the dress back at the cost of a pittance for them would earn them a lifetime of goodwill and repeated business ?? Or dont they just not care ???? If anyone from the hotel is reading this and has a change of attitude, please get in touch with me at anitaonnet@gmail.com

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anitaonnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2010

Bombay view very nice hotel. when we got down at matheran they were present there to pick us and take to hotel. service of staff is nice. food was Gujarati style and very fresh like home made and sight seeing was arranged by them. swimming pool and very nice rooms were there. can suggest a friend to visit a hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank poonam72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2010

food quality is like gujarati style but nice food.
hotel is nearing to few points to be seen in matheran.
good service

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovelyMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matheran hotels
0.0 mi away
Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest
0.0 mi away
Rangoli Retreat
Rangoli Retreat
#15 of 22 in Matheran
141 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kumar Plaza
Hotel Kumar Plaza
#1 of 22 in Matheran
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Point View
Hotel Point View
#7 of 26 in Matheran
22 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Byke Heritage - Matheran
0.0 mi away
Premdeep Hotel
Premdeep Hotel
#2 of 26 in Matheran
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bombay View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bombay View Hotel

Address: Paymasters Park, Matheran, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Raigad District > Matheran
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Matheran
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing