We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so great (Average or below average rooms)”
Review of Hotel Kumar Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Kumar Plaza
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Matheran
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Only good thing to say about this accommodation is, it is good location (ten minutes from railway station). Hotel area is smelly, not so clean room, poor/old beds and towels. Not a value for money

Regards
NShenoy

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank NSBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2012

Great location under ten minutes walk from the train station, and easy access to all the best walking trails to the south and east of Matheran. . Friendly reception and good room staff. Only problem I had was that the first night I was next to a room with a noisy AC extractor, but I was moved to another bigger room with no fuss, and was very happy there for the rest of my stay. Recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank ragamala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank MEHUL S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 November 2012

its a total rip off.... very bad rooms, stained bedsheets, stained pillow covers, very rude staff and the most horrible waiters (they actually back answer and are least bothered). There are much better hotels in matheran... The towels stink and bathrooms are very dirty.. i guess a MTDC would be better... Any1 going on a holiday please dont waste your holiday and money ... Rather come back then stay in this hotel... Its been my worse holiday ever

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pooja H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Mukund R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I stayed here for one night with my wife, and I was very dissapointed with the rooms, the service, the cleanliness, and the attitude of the staff.
The rooms were sub-standard (I was given a room somewhere in the basement it seemed, with the windows looking out to a drain/wall of some sort, really dirty). The bedsheets/towels were damp and stained, and no amount of explaining to the staff helped get them changed. The room was dingy, low lights - and seemed to have a door (locked though) leading into the adjacent room. There was a lot of noise in the adjacent room at night, and had to call the reception twice to tell them to maintain silence. Could hardly sleep. The food was just average (lack of choices) and the service levels were terrible. The swimming pool was a joke (more like a dirty tub ! )
Overall, very bad experience and simply not worth the cost.

Room Tip: One small tip - Dont stay here !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank priyadarshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Nice hotel in the heart of Matheran was a on a personal visit with friends and was pretty satisfied with facilities provided and the room conditions for the price quoted.

I would place it on a level on a three star hotel at budget prices.

Breakfast complimentry is authentic south Indian which is good quality and quite samptous food.

Food is a large range available and veg and non-veg both are available although outside the food is allowed and can be ordered through the Bell boy. I don't no who but are quite efficient.

Over all a decent experience and pure value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mymantra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matheran
0.5 mi away
Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest
0.3 mi away
Rangoli Retreat
Rangoli Retreat
#15 of 22 in Matheran
141 reviews
9.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Alibaug
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Picaddle - The Luxury Boutique Resort by Meritas
0.5 mi away
The Byke Heritage - Matheran
0.0 mi away
Adamo The Resort
Adamo The Resort
#4 of 22 in Matheran
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kumar Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kumar Plaza

Address: Plot No. 149, M.G. Road | Opp.Telephone Exchange; Dist. Raigad- Pin, Matheran 410102, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Raigad District > Matheran
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Matheran
Price Range: £49 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kumar Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Kumar Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing