We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Matheran!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Matheran
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gujarat Bhavan Hotel
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Matheran
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 December 2012

I have being to this hotel since my child hood. Best hospitality,wonderful mouth watering breakfast,dinner and lunch indeed.. Rooms... it is elegant.. They have ample of amenities apart from delicious food one can enjoy good music, indoor and outdoor games. Overall a luxurious stay.

The Hotel is also good in terms of location.Just about 700 to 800 meters from the market,one can casually walk and reach the market faster without bothering about time. Also most of the points to visit are near from this hotel.

All in all best hotel to be in with family or Friends !!

Room Tip: Stayed in pool side facing room which is one of the best option..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hardik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2012

This place gives you a fantastic experience of its service & excellent food.
Have visited this place many times & always had a great experience with family as well as friends.
its just 2 min away from the market & has a perfect n peaceful location.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BhavikMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

This is a perfect place for a family holiday ! Have been here many times right from my childhood days and now still visiting this place with my children .... It is most famous for its Gujarati Thali .
They have a large open area where the kids can be left alone by themselves to have fun and play around. It is very conveniently located from the Station and the Market and also very central to all the famous Scenic points . They have added pool side buffet diner in the evenings which is really nice especially now in the winter months . all in all a purfect destination for a family holiday.

Room Tip: choose the top floor in the new wing or take the pool side facing old wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moksh23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

excellent property, maintained more closer to nature unlike other more urban style hotels.. i can recommed this hotel if you are looking for a peaceful time and get the real feeling of being away from the city.. 10-15mins walk to the hotel from the toy train station .. as others have mentioned the food is excellent and staff is approachable ..

Room Tip: get rooms on the upper areas with open views from the room verandahs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

i had heard lot of buz bout this hotel so i booked in advance for 3 days... but thanks god i paid money of only 1 day... and it was horrible ...... the rooms only had 1 bed ......and a tv rest it was like dharma shala..... even dharma shala is better,,,, next day i shifted to hotel panorama which is near the market and had great stay over there....

Room Tip: other hotels are better then this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suhag M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Nice family vacation spot, awesome service and food, staff is attentive to all our needs and service is very prompt. Pool side dinner buffet brings a nice romantic experience. I would suggest this vacation spot to all friends and family.

Room Tip: Pool facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pankaj D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Being a Mumbaite, Matheran is a perfect getaway hillstation for all holidays. Gujarat Bhavan Hotel has Superb location, super yummy Food served ( ITS LIKE NO ONE CAN EAT JUST ONCE :P ), Co-operative n Humble staff, close to railway station and market place.LOVE the pool side DINNER. Gujarat Bhavan is very close to my heart as I have spent almost all my childhood holidays here. and have seen the hotel grow to what it is today. PERFECT place to stay when ever you visit MATHERAN whether it be with FAMILY, FRIENDS,OR COUPLES. GUJARAT BHAVAN HOTEL CLOSE TO MY HEART ALWAYS :)))))

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neeta K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matheran hotels
0.1 mi away
Horseland Hotel And Mountain Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kumar Plaza
Hotel Kumar Plaza
#1 of 22 in Matheran
385 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rangoli Retreat
Rangoli Retreat
#15 of 22 in Matheran
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radha Cottage
Radha Cottage
#5 of 22 in Matheran
111 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dune Barr House - Verandah in the Forest
0.4 mi away
The Byke Heritage - Matheran
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gujarat Bhavan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gujarat Bhavan Hotel

Address: M.A. Road, Matheran 400067, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Raigad District > Matheran
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Matheran
Price Range: £11 - £17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gujarat Bhavan Hotel was built in 1975. We are one of the best and oldest hotels in Matheran. We are proud to offer our guests a multitude of services and amenities, including swimming pool, jacuzzi, indoor and outdoor games and pure vegetarian food that will have you coming back again and again. We have maintained greenery so well that you will feel relaxed away from the concrete jungle. Each and every room is well furnished to make your stay comfortable. We have a highly motivated team to make your trip a memorable one! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing