We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Brightlands Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
US$81
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Radha Cottage(Matheran)
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
Rangoli Retreat(Matheran)
US$944
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$194
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
17
18
22
6
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
18
22
6
19
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2013

I am a well-traveled sort, and I am up for all sorts of adventure. But I must declare: this was absolutely, positively the worst hotel experience I have ever had. Let's forget the power outages and the low-quality buffet-style food. Let's forget the run-down rooms, unhappy horses, and unruly dogs. Let's forget the completely unresponsive staff who did little to ease the arrival of my elderly in-laws after they came up the mountain in the darkness. Maybe I could even forgive the horribly hard bed that gave my husband an aching back. These could all be completely forgivable, if everything else was great; it's part of the experience, you could say. But the monkeys? Come on, this is crazy. I was a biologist for years. I'm used to having animals around. But these aggressive monkeys were completely horrible! Jumped on our table during breakfast, slashed their claws at us while screaming at us, took our food and ran away? Yep. Pushed open our closed hotel room door (which was forever locked after that) and cornered me in our hotel room? Yep. Drinking from the swimming pool and going down the waterslide? Yep, really. The staff did nothing to control the monkeys, and they were so aggressive that I was completely on-edge and adrenaline-pumped for the entire "relaxing" weekend. We cut our trip short and headed back to Mumbai after a couple. days Probably my worst hotel experience ever. And for goodness sake, don't take children here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrightlandsMatheran, Manager at Brightlands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

Matheran is an eco-friendly hill station and is mainly known for its scenic beauty and monkeys. To enhance the beauty and to continue the culture of the hill station, no vehicles are allowed. The hill station is governed by the forest department and hence it is the responsibility of the travellers together with the locals and the various businesses conducted to abide with these regulations. There are certain norms that need to be followed and there is very little that can be done in the case of Matheran hill station.
As far as the resort is concerned, as per the hotel standards we definately do strive to make every guest comfortable and that they may have a pleasant stay.
However the bad experience that the guests might have faced is deeply regretted, but it only goes to show that a little bit of information / research about the place of destination both on the part of the guests travelling as well as the tour operators should be imparted and well communicated in advance and that would go a long way to prepare the guests travelling to Matheran, about what can be expected.
Further we assure that Brightlands Resorts is one of the finest resorts in Matheran and is best known for its Cuisines, Services and Activities

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We went with group of 36 and food was nice. We enjoyed lots of with camp fire, disco theque and swimming pool. We liked the service and specially duplex rooms. Its is budget hotel for group..... Thanks to Brightland resort to make enjoyable and successful trip of matheran

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bhavin1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

This place scores very high on service and the warmth exuded by the staff makes the place truly special. Mangesh is exceptional in his dealing and goes out of the way to make you comfortable. The food served at this place is excellent with good variety in the buffet.
The entertainment provided on 30th and 31st was very sincere.
The place could do with a bit of sprucing up to match the exceptional service provided by the staff.
Look forward to coming back soon.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sajjiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Hotel Brightlands, Matheran

One of the best hotels at Matheran serving Non-Veg food as well. We booked the place well in advance for New Year's celebration of 2 nights starting on Dec 30th. Mr. Mangesh the manager at the hotel ensured all queries and clarifications were taken care of whilst booking. He was also helpful in person once we reached there.

We were 15 pax and rented 2 vehicles i.e. Innova and Xylo for Rs. 13,000 round trip, courstesy Mr. Mangesh again. The drivers were very nice and ensured a very smooth and safe drive all the way upto Dasturi car park. From there we took the Toy Train shuttle to Matheran. Unfortunately, we cannot book the tickets in advance and have to wait in queue to get the tickets. Although our plan was to catch the 10.30 am train, we could not as it was full. We then booked for the next one at 11.20 am.

From Matheran station Brightlands is about 20 min walk. Once we reached, Mr. Mangesh helped us in getting the necessary paper work and remaining payments done quickly. We were given couple of duplex next to each other. The rooms were clean and spacious with TV, Fridge and all the basic necessities. The Beds was bigger than King size and easily 3 people could comfortably sleep on it.

Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner buffet were really excellent. We never ever got any chance to complain at all. All of us relished the food completely.

The only thing not upto to the mark was the Tea and Coffee. Quite bland I must say; especially the tea.

The service provided by the staff was also excellent. They would ensure our requests are met as many times we required it. With jam packed crowd at the resort, they ensured great service to all.

The events organized by the resort on both days i.e. Dec 30th and Dec 31st were really excellent. Kids and Adults enjoyed the entertainments provided. DJ Milind was excellent in churning out good foot tapping music.

The only problem with the resort is the same as with any other hotel/resort at this hill station i.e the Monkeys. A nuisance that we all have to live with. We always had to be careful with whatever we carry or eat out at the verandah.

Overall the hotel is really excellent covering a huge acres of land. Best of all they have even put up Solar panels to provide electricity for the resort.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kumar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Very nice place to relax, refresh and rejuvinate. Lovely ambience, very nice buffet meal and supportive staff. i will visit matheran again and again for this place. At weekends there is juggling show, magic show, dj nights etc. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews