We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of Usha Ascot Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Matheran
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Usha Ascot Hotel
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Matheran
Reviewed 1 October 2013

It is an excellent Hotel for a family outing.

Rooms : Superb.

Food : For gujarati food lovers it is excellent.

Swimming Pool : Neat and Clean.

Every evening we had some or the other programmes organised by the Hotel. On First night we had an orchestra & on the second night played games.

It can be one of the best in matheran if you are planning a leisure trip. One can stay in the resort the whole day. Theres lots to do in the game zone, by the pool side and evenings they organise events for the guests.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shahaalokm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

Great property near to Sunset Point. Well maintained with very supportive staff. Rooms are also good. Food quality and taste is awesome. Worth stay in Mantheran. It was good value for Money with all the facilities nearby i.e. Station, Market , Hospital etc

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crazzyy_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

It is an excellent place for traveling with family. Room cost generally includes all meals. Food is more of Gujarati style. Rooms were also good. I guess some section has old rooms which are not good but the room we stayed in looked quite new. So ask for the rooms which have been renovated.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vishal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Usha Ascot is an excellent property. It’s a real vacation place for families. Best part is the staff who is very supportive since I had a personal experience with my 2 years old daughter. She was not feeling well. Hospital is just opposite to hotel, staff had supported me at time I am thankful to them from my heart. Good food but it is typical Gujarati food. Bathrooms are not so good .But over all good hotel.

Room Tip: Back side Rooms are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gkudupulli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

As my title suggests, i feel Ushas Ascot is a good escort to satisfaction at Matheran.Our family of three just happened to stay in a 4 star in Mumbai and hence I had similar expectations here.

Good points:This hotel is neverthless the best balanced option since it is not very far like Hotel Verandha and the same time not in the midst of the market.
Roshan who is the face of the hotel is quite a helpful guy who guides you thru.
The lunch is awesome and the dinner is proportionetly repulsive.The room service food is also quite .Matheran has this peculiar problem of timings for hot water which is managed well by the hotel .

The hotel property is good and so are the staff.

Improvement areas.
The dinner is bad !
My super delux @ 5500 was not upto the mark .bright upholstry can make the rooms look brighter .
Monkey menace ;They are smarter than us .Children enjoy , parents dread.
There should be neon strips on the steps since high danger of falling in the night while going for dinner in the next blgd.
The hotel should assign signal boosters since you have to come 100 mtrs at any given time to speak on the cell,quite uncomfortable in the night since its quite eerie though safe.

On a scale of 0-10 from the avl options , I would rate Usha on 7 ....and can easily reach 8 by improving their dinner.

Room Tip: Always track the train timings form Dasturi naka to matheran in case u r with your family since peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank sanjayrbhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I have been to Usha Ascot earlier may be 3-4yrs back that time it was a great experience. This trip was very bad. The room were stinky, walls were wet. Though the service is decent with good food. Considering the reputation it was a bad experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank drcjdalal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This was an extremely disappointing place. It looks so attractive on the website and even its exteriors raise your hopes but beware ...... The rooms are so damp and musty, sheets and blankets smell all moldy, the toilets had so much moss inside..... The food was not good. The place was very ill-maintained, no cleanliness. The so-called play areas had been converted into godowns... It was worst than MTDC resorts and they charged thrice the MTDC rates...... We had booked package for 2 days but came back after spending 1 day only...

PLEASE DO NOT GET TAKEN IN BY THE WEBSITE PICTURES.....

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank MamtaRajesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matheran
0.3 mi away
Dune Barr House - Verandah in the Forest
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kumar Plaza
Hotel Kumar Plaza
#1 of 22 in Matheran
351 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radha Cottage
Radha Cottage
#6 of 22 in Matheran
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rangoli Retreat
Rangoli Retreat
#14 of 22 in Matheran
143 reviews
9.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Alibaug
0.2 mi away
The Byke Heritage - Matheran
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Usha Ascot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Usha Ascot Hotel

Address: M.G. Road, Matheran 410102, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Raigad District > Matheran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Matheran
Price Range: £72 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Usha Ascot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing