We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food galore!”
Review of Regal Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Matheran
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Regal Hotel
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Matheran
Certificate of Excellence
Pune, India
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Food galore!”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This was a last minute plan. I basically called up the cheapest place with best reviews on Tripadvisor to check if they have any vacancy. We were in luck and got a Deluxe Cottage which is their cheapest accommodation. The website is also nice and was advertising special for 2 night stay. With meals it was 6450/- and no additional taxes which is a big plus.

We arrived right on check in time at 11 AM. They gave us an option of 2 rooms and we chose the one that was farther away from the entrance thinking it would be quieter. That was a big mistake since the room was right next to the dining hall/kitchen area and we were to hear the constant banter going on in the kitchen. Not complaining but there is no saying which rooms will actually be quieter and we were going with the express intention of sleeping till late so it did spoil our plans a bit. The room surprisingly was not as clean as I would expect going by the reviews. The bedsheets had a good number of stains and bathroom tiles did look dirty. Frankly I was not able to get myself to take a bath there.

Now the pluses. The property is huge, clean and well-kept. The premises are right next to the market but once inside it gives you the impression that it is far far away from the maddening crowd. The place boasts of the largest swimming pool anywhere on the hill station and we were not disappointed. It is pretty decent in size and nicely maintained. The food is scrumptious. The lunch is a big gujarati thali spread of 9-10 different items including 2 sweets. That was my paisa vasool. Dinner was a buffet of lesser items. Breakfast had a good selection as well of sandwiches, dosa, sabudana wada, corn flakes, tea/coffee/juice. What more can one ask for. They also have a rudimentary gym but I would not bet on the machines working there. They do have a game room with TT table (with bats and ball), carom board, foosball table. snooker table and almira of books.

We had to leave early on Monday morning so had requested to have just sandwiches and corn flakes available at 7AM. Though we did not mention it but they delivered the food to our room at 6:50AM at no additional cost. Mind readers. We sure did not have the time to run to the dining hall and wait for the breakfast. No check out formalities were needed since we had paid in full before arrival. Nice staff at the reception. There is no cell phone range in the premises so we were not able to inform home about our safe arrival.The reception received a call from my mother and assured her that we had reached safe and sound without bothering us since we were sleeping at the time.

Overall I would recommend.

Room Tip: Take rooms away from dining hall. Pool facing rooms are best but more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gl0balDesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    76
    28
    10
    12
See reviews for
104
64
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

1. The room was not ready when we reached at 11 am. Had to wait for 45 minutes.
2. The airconditioner did not work at all. Reason given was no electricity, but all other room lights, fans were working on generator. So why should I pay more charge for AC room?
3. No water in toilet. Reason given was that some maintenance work is going on in the hotel. When water ultimately did come it was muddy.
4. The breakfast was included in the room charges. Funny part was that the breakfast timings started at 8.30 am and the check out time was also 8.30 am.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
2 Thank Nikhil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I can surely say that Regal hotel offers the best service in entire Matheran. I have never experienced such a kind and warm service by any other hotel at any place in my life. Cheers & Thumbs up to Regal.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PratikMunot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I can surely say that Regal hotel offers the best service in entire Matheran. I have never experienced such a kind and warm service by any other hotel at any place in my life. Cheers & Thumbs up to Regal.

Room Tip: Any room will give pleasure
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunny_parekh1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We had a great weekend at regal.
Room was large spacious. Good view.
Good big bathroom,with towels and soap. Hot water in morning only.
Food excellent. Breakfast, very good, big and sumptuous.
Service very good.
Ideal place for all, couples and family alike.
Swimming pool, indoor game. Also available. Pool is big,clean.
Strongly recommend.

Room Tip: All are good.cottage is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanganibk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajkot, Gujarat, India
1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Food Taste, Quality & Quantity very Excellent.

Fantastic Gujarat Taste.
Everyday Novelty items in foods. Variations in food is very good.

Good Facilities Swimming Pool, Karaoke Singing & Music Hall. Hall for playing indoor games. Children Play Room. Security Guard.

Gymnasium & Play Ground. All staff members are very co-operative and polite. Room service is excellent.

Hotel Regal Matheran is very Old, But Best Hotel in Matheran. Especially for Pure Vegeterian this is the Only Hotel to Stay and enjoy.

Room Tip: Entrance side Deluxe Suite Rooms are though old fashioned but are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KPKHIRAIYA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

i would say Regal Hotel is nice in terms of service and surrounding. Although, the ambiance and its location is good, it has become very old and room conditions are not as good as it use to be. Since, there are not many good options in Matheran, Regal still turns out to be the best out of others.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Sam1075_Mumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matheran
0.4 mi away
Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kumar Plaza
Hotel Kumar Plaza
#1 of 21 in Matheran
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
10.1 mi away
Hotel Panvel Palace
Hotel Panvel Palace
#208 of 448 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Byke Heritage - Matheran
0.1 mi away
Adamo The Resort
Adamo The Resort
#4 of 21 in Matheran
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.0 mi away
Premdeep Hotel
Premdeep Hotel
#4 of 23 in Matheran
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regal Hotel

Property: Regal Hotel
Address: Via Neral Kasturba Road, Matheran 410102, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Raigad District > Matheran
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Matheran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 43
Also Known As:
Regal Hotel Matheran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing