We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel Good Food”
Review of Regal Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Matheran
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Regal Hotel
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Matheran
Certificate of Excellence
Navi Mumbai, India
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Good Hotel Good Food”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

I went here for a short vacation. I was not having any booking first of all which is not advisable in any season as matheran is a wonderful place and hence crowded.
We walked in to this hotel and luckily we found it very good. Not far from market, you can get your transportation just few mins walking from here.
Best thing is the Food, I don't advice anyone to eat outside coz of the quality. we took full board option here and we had enjoyed every single meal here.
Room service is also there and hotel is neat and clean as well. You can also enjoy swimming pool, they have a nice one.
Overall I can say we had enjoyed our stay there and I am sure you will also enjoy..Trust me..:)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shyam m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    78
    30
    11
    12
See reviews for
108
66
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Its a Very good hotel spread over large aera....tasty food...also its in market area and points are at walkable distance...hotel staff is very co operative....huge swimming pool...I strongly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Binita_shah27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

our stay was pleasant in Matheran. Hotel was good. it was a resort, spread over large area. good food. mostly gujarati dishes. rooms were okay, but not bad. we would recommed this hotel. hope others too would like it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonakPanchal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I will give 4 out of 5.

1- Location - Excellent..it's right next to Matheran Main Bazaar, which is a big plus...and also this is at the heart of Matheran..so all hill points are almost equidistant from here and few major landmarks such as echo point and Charlotte lake etc are at walking distance from the hotel. It is also at walking distance from Matheran Railways station.

2-Food - Excellent...mostly in packaged deals, meals (breakfasts, lunch and dinner) are included in the price...and they serve excellent gujrati thali for lunch...it is so famous that sometimes ppl staying in other places also come here for lunch, dinners are buffet and will always have something special along with regular indian cuisine, even the breakfasts are not simple traditional idli, corn flakes, fruits etc...they will surprise u with some special in breakfasts as well...over all food quality is awesome. For some rooms - complimentary coffee in the morning/evening is also included, check with front desk.

3 - Hospitality - Very good - the staff are cooperative and will take care of instant needs. whatever we asked for and was possible, they were able to provide that service. (You need to consider it is difficult for them to operate as well at such a remotely place)

4-Extras - Very good - for our surprise, in my 2 nights stay - for the first night there was a live bollywood singing arranged and for the second night there was a very cool magic show.
The hotel is old, rustic but well spaced, has badminton court, a large swimming pool and lot of walking space. There's a recreation room with carom, chess, table-tennis and pool facility.

5 - Hygiene and cleanliness -Poor - that's the only low, which we really did not like. The sofa cushions at the room were uncovered and dirty, same with blankets, towels and bed-sheets. The rooms had this damp feeling and certainly needs refurbishing. I understand that in rainy and wet conditions it is difficult to keep room dry and vibrant but the least which could be done is to keep it clean and hygienic.

Overall, i will definitely recommend it for big family gathering.
But don't go with expectations of a luxury hotel as it is anyway not there in any hotel in Matheran.

Room Tip: carry a pair of bed-sheets with you as you may not like the bed-sheets they provide, or would like t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 81_amit_kumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

It's a great time in regal hotel..
All staffs are very good and cooperative.
Room service is too good in compare to other hotels.
Managers and all staff members always cooperate us.
Nyce swimming pool, and awesome club house..
Specially the restaurant is excellent ..
What a food.... it is the good hotel..and guys u have to stay there..

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaushal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surat, Gujarat, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed for 2 days. food is good. But they serve Gujarati Thali for lunch It's taste and quality very nice and evening its buffet. place is hygienic. staff is cooperative.one suggestion that they should upgrade the overall quality. Nice location, located centrally...Market place... Tip - Always bargain for hotels and during shopping..

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mayankcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

me and my wife had been to regal hotel last year in june when rain was just starting
trip to matheran i feel is hectic, if you are travelling from train from mumbai you have to take a taxi when you get down at neral and then again a ponny to reach your hotel. travelling with your own car is a bit risky as the ghat near matheran is very dangerous.
the hotel is very nice , spread over a large area, and having very spacious rooms with basic amenities. dont expect luxury, its average room but of large size.
they have a large swimming pool also but monkeys also enjoy bath in the pool so i did not feel like entering it
the garden is very nice with zoolas for sitting, plz take care of your belongings in the hotel premises as monkeys tend to snatch anything from your hand
food was really nice. breakfast, lunch and dinner was included in our package. lunch they serve is gujarathi thali which is definitely good and dinner was also having various varities.
the hotel is few mins walk from matheran station where the toy train stops

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aamodkarandikar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matheran
0.4 mi away
Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest
0.2 mi away
Horseland Hotel And Mountain Spa
9.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Karjat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Hotel Panvel Palace
Hotel Panvel Palace
#230 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
15 reviews
10.2 mi away
Hotel Panchratna
Hotel Panchratna
#4 of 4 in Panvel
8 reviews
9.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Alibaug
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regal Hotel

Property: Regal Hotel
Address: Via Neral Kasturba Road, Matheran 410102, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Raigad District > Matheran
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Matheran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 43
Also Known As:
Regal Hotel Matheran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing