We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally loved the stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Matheran
Certificate of Excellence
pune
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Totally loved the stay!”
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Nice place...reminded me of my childhood days, when we used to live in a similar dated house that was at least a century old. But these guys have maintained it well. Service is good...run by a family, just like the olden days, when we used to have families living in the 'outhouses.' Excellent garden and verandah. Best part was the food...simple yet flavorful. Dinner is like a three course dinner, served at a large table, where all the guests sit together under a candle-light. We shared the table with a couple from England and actor Om Puri and his family. What a lively and creative dinner conversation! Drawback of this place is that it is far away from the city center, so to get a anything, we had to walk a mile in the dark.

Room Tip: The rooms that open into the verandah on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nitisingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    190
    35
    5
    3
See reviews for
154
215
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

We stayed for one night at the Verandah.. I guess I expected a lot out of it being a Neemrana property but forgot that Matheran itself as a town has very little to offer and hence very few amenities. The biggest problem was that of monkeys playing on the roof of the rooms and creating a lot of noise all day. Thankfully they slept at night!! Also one can hear a lot of noise from the screaming day trippers from the nearby Charlotte lake. Also, because of the monsoon season and the lack of sunlight, practically everything was damp and lot of mould in some of the chairs and sofas around the common areas. The plus for me was a very good continental meal that they served for dinner. Being far away and cut off, they did a good job with the italian and continental fare. The weather is nice and the clouds come right into the hotel... they can do a better job of maintaining the property and keeping the gardens pretty as well.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aash27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We are a couple who stayed at the Verandah in the Forest, Matheran for 2 days during May 2011. Matheran is a foot-only hill station and the Verandah is an old house converted into a hotel by Neemrana.

At this hotel, you get great vintage-era rooms, with classy rustic furniture and equipped-but-not-fancy bathrooms. Most of the rooms open out to a nice big verandah with benches and chairs to lounge around in.

The property also has a nice reading room consisting of novels, coffee-table books and many board games. We had a blast playing board games after so many years and we played for hours! No one disturbs you there and you can spend all your time lazily in the comfort of any of the multiple sofas.

The greatest highlight for us was the food - a commendable achievement for such an isolated place as Matheran. The chef prepared sumptuous 4-course meals consisting of Continental and Italian cuisines for lunch and dinner. Breakfast was a simple buffet affair. The meals tasted great, especially at the candle-lit dinner table that seated 14 people! The food menu is fixed and the price is included in the room rates (you get 4 meals - breakfast, lunch, evening snacks and dinner). There is a limited a la carte menu also.

The Verandah is different, in that it is not a typical full-service hotel. There is no laundry service, no phones or TV, no room service etc. There is just the wilderness, a nicely kept vintage-era house, and great food - perfect if you want that relaxed escape for a couple of days near Mumbai.

PS: There is little to no cellphone connectivity. You are also advised to carry your own medicines since this hotel is a good 20-30 minute walk away from the nearest market.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Siddhartha_Agrawal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

The Verandah is a beautiful old bungalow in the midst of the forest. There are just 11 rooms at the Verandah, one of the reasons for its always being full up!
But that is the charm of the place as well. Being small and cozy, it offers you peace & quiet!
We stayed at the Petit. That was our room. Beautifully done up in shades of blue, large and spacious, and very tastefully furnished.
The only downside was that our room was right next to the main lounge, and the doors to this room had screen doors that banged shut very loudly every time someone went in or out, which was far too often indeed!
Food at the Verandah is simple, but superb. While breakfast and lunch are served out on the verandah, dinner on the other hand is a multi-course candlelight affair, served in the formal dining room. The food is fabulous, and the chef deserves many a compliment!
However, the one strange bit is that everyone is seated together at the long formal dining table, and this makes it a bit weird, having to eat such a delicious meal across from complete strangers, whilst trying to have a whispered conversation with each other.
All in all, the Verandah is a fabulous place, and definitely worth a visit, if one doesn't mind the arduous 5km trek up to the property, amidst the throngs of day-trippers who come in to Matheran from all over.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MeMM123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2011

High ceilings, big rooms, heritage look. Beautiful scenery. If one is looking at a peaceful getaway with no interference from any kind of electronics. this is the place to be. It is a perfect getaway to spend time doing things which is hard to find time doing in busy work life. If one is a nature enthusiast then this is it. The food here is amazing. Salute the Chef with he knack of making such amazing european food.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anupgandhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

This has the potential to be an amazing place to stay, but some basic issues need to be fixed. To be honest, this had the feel of a once great hotel in which standards are now slipping.
On the plus side, the building, ambience and overall experience are wonderful, it has old-world charm in spades. Going into our room was like stepping back in time and I loved all the genuinely antique furniture. The dinner in the amazingly atmospheric candlelit dining room was the highlight (the food is basic but very tasty and the portions are generous).
On the downside…there is a complete lack of information given to guests which is frustrating. For example on the 1.5hr walk from Dasturi Naka through the forest, there is not one sign directing you to the hotel, and it’s easy to get lost. Two signs on the last 100 yard stretch of the walk was all there was. It wouldn’t kill them to put up a sign or two to direct their guests who all have to make this journey.
We only saw the manager twice, when we checked in and when we checked out, and he provided no assistance nor advice to us whatsoever. So much for the friendly ‘family’ feel, he was plain ignorant. When we arrived we asked him about the local walking paths (it was obvious we hadn’t been to Matheran before), all he did was give us (a completely misleading) map and walked off. The only information provided in the room was advertisements for other Neemrana hotels around India. The manager was never around at mealtimes and it was quite frustrating dealing with staff (albeit friendly) who didn’t seem to have much experience serving people. I’m not an awkward guest at all and I’m really easily pleased, just please give me a cup so I can drink some tea, bring me the boiled egg I ordered, and not an undercooked fried egg etc. etc. I admit I don’t speak Marathi or Hindi, but would have expected the staff to know the odd English word - ‘Toilet’ for example to save me walking around aimlessly for ten minutes trying to find one at dinnertime. And any time we came in (exhausted) from a walk and asked for a cup of tea the staff looked at us completely puzzled and it took a lot of persuasion to get them to make this for us.
We were not told when shown to our room that there was no electricity nor hot water. I know this hotel is in the middle of nowhere on top of a mountain, but we should have at least being told when (if ever) there was hot water available, as it was the hot water never materialised and we were unable to shower for the whole weekend. The electricity came on that evening at 5pm but cut in and out quite often. Again, there was no manager on site to ask, and staff were clueless / did not speak any English.
The worst part though was the monkeys. We were staying in the Elphinstone suite (the biggest & most expensive room!) and I got very little sleep as all night monkeys were fighting and crashing down on the corrugated iron roofing. Honestly, this went on all night and all morning. They really need to sort out the roofs so guests can actually get some sleep, as it is, it’s impossible. Not ideal when you are paying ca. 100 GBP per night.
The rooms and the hotel overall seems to have been done up years ago and needs refreshing, it’s definitely the shabby end of Shabby Chic. There are stains on the curtains, cushions, towels in the bathroom, that sort of thing. Also there is no heating in any of the rooms, so in the monsoon the room and bedlinen etc. are very damp. Not nice when you come back from a walk and need to dry out.
The views from Matheran of the valley and mountains are breathtaking, and it’s great to be out of Bombay and able to walk through a forest and to breathe clean fresh air. Apart from that Matheran was a big disappointment. The mountain is completely full of day-trippers from the city, mostly teenagers, who take over each viewing point, playing loud music and pestering you for photos. Each viewing point is also ruined by so much litter thrown around them, which is disgusting. And speaking about pestering, you will be asked 50 times per day if you want a trek on a horse by the horse hawkers, the majority of whom treat their animals very badly which is sad to see. The town of Matheran is awful, full of horse hawkers, crowds of loud tourists, and crappy stalls selling sweets and sweet corn, absolutely nothing to see there I’m afraid… And lastly, the beautifully named Charlotte Lake is just a reservoir, full of rubbish, such a disappointment!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank AnonTraveller2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Amazingly located. Easy access to Charlotte Lake and Echo point. One can also go for a late night walk to towards the lake. The rooms are big with really high ceilings. The bathrooms and colors used are a bit of a disappointment though.

If one just needs to have some peace and silence to oneself then this is the place to go to.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anupgandhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matheran
0.5 mi away
Horseland Hotel And Mountain Spa
10.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Alibaug
23.6 mi away
The Machan
The Machan
#4 of 67 in Lonavala
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Karjat
16.8 mi away
The Dukes Retreat
The Dukes Retreat
#1 of 6 in Khandala
808 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Byke Heritage - Matheran
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest

Property: Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest
Address: Barr House | Matheran, District Raigarh, Matheran 410102, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Raigad District > Matheran
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Matheran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The paths once cleared by the British in the forests of Matheran, making it the last British hill station have acquired a new identity as the place where Bombay’s movers and shakers which include filmstars and businessmen come to spend a few quiet and peaceful days.Perched atop the Sahyadri ranges, Matheran is Asia’s only pedestrian hill resort. Chug up in a toy train, trot, or arrive in a palanquin, past gigantic mansions built by the British, the Parsis, and the Bohras. The Verandah in the Forest was the second house to be built on the isolated Western Ghats, by Captain Barr. Now, with every facility in place, it is reputed to be second to none! Indeed, the nobility of the proportions of The Verandah bring civilizational honour to the Sahyadri ranges. Lounge like never before in this verandah of your dreams. Read under the highest domestic ceiling you would have known in the salon – 12 metres/35 feet high. Stroll down to Charlotte Lake. Or take longer walks with a picnic basket. Relish the local cuisines. Heave your chest, muscle your calves, take all the oxygen back in your lungs. Link your planet with your own two feet.Find space for more space in your mind. Or lose yourself to find yourself anew.Long after you return, you will wonder who would have dared to sprawl out such a tree-home space in such spell-binding wilderness? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Verandah In The Forest Hotel Matheran
The Verandah In Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing