We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Non-Hotel Hotel that always 'Exceeds your Expectations'”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Matheran
Certificate of Excellence
Manama, Bahrain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Non-Hotel Hotel that always 'Exceeds your Expectations'”
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Matheran – can be mystically at its best especially during rains! Though it is not supposed to be the best time to visit Matheran during rains, it indeed is a very mesmerizing experience in itself.

We received a warm welcome at The Verandah in the Forest. The welcome drink – a concoction of lemon and ginger, was too good to quench the thirst and release the fatigue. The registration was surprisingly quick. While booking I had particularly asked for a chocolate cake (the best from the chef) to be placed in the room. It was taken care of even before we checked in.

We had booked Kotwal Suite, which met our requirements. There were 2 rooms, one had a single bed, the other had a large king size bed. The property is quite old but well maintained. The luxurious feel you get on entering the room is out of this world. Unique in its own kind, the ceiling lies at 3 times the height of the door.

The bed and furniture arrangement was skillfully made to provide huge space for movement in the room. The room was well lit. The bed, though coming from the old era, was as comfortable as the one you would usually find in any top class 5 star hotel across the globe. The outer room had a single bed, a work table, a sofa set and a wardrobe. The inner room had a double bed, a wardrobe, a dressing table. The entry to the bath room was through the inner room. Availability of hot solar water makes it even more pleasing to bath at any time of the day. The interesting part here was the bucket and mug made of heavy stainless steel.

An exciting buffet lunch spread awaited our arrival. The spread comprised a mix of Indian and Continental Cuisine. Not to mention, the chef did a wonderful job. The food tasted as good as it was presented. The servers here ensured that monkeys don’t trouble you while you have your lunch.

Post lunch, we rested in our room for a while. We had the delicious chocolate cake along with the evening tea (here too they offered us a variety of tea to choose from – masala, earl grey, darjeeling and lemon).

The dining room had a huge dining table which can accommodate 20-25 people. It is here, where other guests staying in the hotel join you for the dinner and you actually end up interacting with each other. The room was not well lit as they serve a four course candle light dinner. A soup followed by starters, main course and dessert to end the meal.

They also have a huge common room where one may relax, listen to music, read books, play carom, cards, chess, etc. Another must see thing at this hotel is the Neemrana Shop located just behind the main building.

The next morning, breakfast was lavishly spread. Bread/Toast with butter, jam and cheese. Interestingly, they had as many as 12 flavors of house-jams. Eggs were prepared and served to order. Assorted breakfast cereals, main course, desserts, tea/coffee formed the other breakfast items.

After breakfast we headed for another stroll through various breathtaking points. We returned to the hotel at around 1 pm. Though the checkout time is 12 noon, the hotel extended its courtesy to allow a late checkout (post lunch).

During lunch, we extended our thanks to the servers, the chefs and the manager for ensuring our satisfaction. Needless to mention, this non-hotel hotel exceeded the expectations!

Just one suggestion for fellow travelers – it is recommended that you carry cash to pay your bill, especially if you are visiting during monsoon. The telephone lines may not be working all the time and it is likely that you won’t be able to make a card payment.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to receive your warm and appreciative review about The Verandah in the Forest heritage hotel in Matheran.

Your compliments about the Kotwal Suite, the food & beverage experience, and the service have been conveyed to the hotel team that strives hard to maintain the same. We are pleased to learn that the non-hotel was able to exceed your expectations. Your feedback is heart-warming for the entire Neemrana family that strives hard to put new life into a ruined and unused building.

The 27 Neemrana 'non- hotel' Hotels across India are instrumental in and custodians of much of India's restored and revitalised architectural heritage. Seven hundred years of history, await humbly for you to extract all the joys of travelling and living out the essence of India in all its nobility and simplicity.

We thank you for your visit to The Verandah in the Forest and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    190
    35
    5
    3
See reviews for
154
214
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

My brother and I spent a couple of days with our families at the Verandah in the Forest. Our stay there exceeded our expectations. My last trip to Matheran over 30 years ago had been a total disaster, and I was not quite sure of what to expect this time around. Suffice to say that they exceeded our expectations. The ambience surrounding the place; well appointed rooms with lofty ceilings, the verandah overlooking the lush Sahyadri range of mountains, the excellent food, it was an experience to relish. The staff were very attentive, going out of their way to please. Except for the monkeys and their antics on the roof, the place was quiet and relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadhAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words about The Verandah in the Forest heritage hotel in Matheran.

It is heartening to learn about your experience at the property. Your compliments about the food and the service have been conveyed to the Chef and the service team. You will be amazed to know that the property is run by locals that have been empowered by Neemrana to run their heritage with pride.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed Neemrana’s philosophy and were able to relax and rejuvenate. This is exactly what we strive to achieve.

We thank you for your patronage to The Verandah in the Forest and the Neemrana brand in India !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I had accompanied my sister and brother-in-law to Matheran over the weekend. It was our first time there and we are glad we selected The Verandah In the Forest. The hotel location is perfect, rooms and clean and feel upmarket. Staff were courteous and helpful and the breakfast was homely and delicious.

Room Tip: Book in advance, rooms might be full during the monsoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayjha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about The Verandah in the Forest heritage hotel in Matheran.

Your feedback about the cleanliness, the ambience, and the food is heart-warming for the entire Neemrana family. We are delighted to learn that you were well looked after by the service team.

We thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you at our 27 properties across India !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Just visualize! Overcast sky, fog (or low-hanging clouds?) and tall trees rendering darkness at noon! And you are on a horse (well-behaved, believe me) slowly negotiating a meandering hill track covered with ochre- color mud! That’s Matheran during rains.

And you reach a villa (or a palace?) with an incredibly awesome verandah (corridor) overlooking lush green forests complete with birds and monkeys. You enter the huge rooms with high ceilings, ornate old bed, cozy arm chairs, and antic lampshades. You taste exquisite culinary goodies, sip endless flow of hot beverages, and relish the five course continental dinner.

Experience the ambience that takes you back in time by a century or two. Wish, my dear wife were wearing floor length dresses with frills and laces, instead of sarees!

Something is missing however. Vehicles are not allowed at Matheran. Without headlights how will you see the lady in white with wind-blown hair wondering in the foggy forest at night and singing…..

Fantasy unlimited!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor along the Verandah are more attractive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abhijit L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about The Verandah in the Forest heritage hotel in Matheran.

We are delighted to read about your experience at the property and the fascinating description of the ambience !

This is exactly what we strive to achieve and it is always heartening when someone at the receiving end can sense the effort and the love.

Our local cuisines are for gourmets like you that travel with their taste buds and also enjoy eating with their eyes ! Your compliments about the beverages and the cuisine have been conveyed to the Chef and his team.

We hope that as you discover more of real India with Neemrana, you’ll find more to tell us about. We look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

I really had a wonderful time at the Verandah. Loved the property (dreaming to have a house like that in the middle of the forest), loved the food and loved the rains. I did not enjoy Matheran so much because of the crowds and it was too dirty to my liking but enjoyed staying indoors at the Verandah.

Room Tip: Go for the room facing the verandah as the charm of the resort is the long verandah that stretches t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TPallavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your motivating review about The Verandah in the Forest heritage hotel in Matheran.

We are delighted to read about your experience at the property. Your compliments about the food have been conveyed to the Chef and his team.

At Neemrana we believe that you don’t have to build one home each by a river, the sea, the forest, or in the mountains. You can just step into stylish, running properties which you can call your own. And it isn’t always easy to find such amazing locations as where these Neemrana Hotels are located!

We hope that as you travel across India with Neemrana, you’ll find more to tell us about !
On behalf of the entire Neemrana team, we once again thank you for your kind and encouraging words.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Excellent place to be with nature....enjoy the greenery, rains, clouds, lovely food and prompt service....awesome!! The place has some magic for sure, this was our third visit here and still had so many new discoveries...it keeps calling me back...like a magnet!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TarunIndu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your warm and appreciative review about The Verandah in the Forest heritage hotel in Matheran.

Your feedback is heart-warming for the entire Neemrana family that strives hard to put new life into a ruined and unused building.

This is exactly what we strive to achieve and it is always rewarding when someone at the receiving end can sense the effort and the love.

We thank you for your continued patronage to The Verandah in the Forest and the Neemrana brand in India. It would be our pleasure to host you at our 27 properties across India !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We went to matheran in July end for my sin's 2nd b'day. We were 10 adults n 5 kids.
Thankfully it wasn't raining heavily so we throughly enjoyed our stay.
Walk from the dasturi naka to the hotel is about 1 hr 15 mins at a normal speed (don't listen to what the hotel ppl tell u). The roads r bad due to the rains so old ppl n kids should avoid walking. Horse n rick r easily available at 700 n 550 respectively. Coolie for luggage is 300.

Hotel has an ancient colonial feel to it. The staff is v.warm n helpful. They can arrange meals on the balcony on request.

The rooms r good. Each room has antique looking personalised furniture. They could do a better lighting in the toilets. There is no (need of) AC.

Beware of monkeys. Though the staff is always alert, keep a close eye on kids n food stuff esp in the upper rooms n balcony.
Monkeys actually entered my room twice n stole fruits n biscuits from my baby bag.

The food is awesome. Lunch was Indian. Reminded us of simple home made food. Keep appetite for dinner. It's a 5 course continental meal.

Don't miss the lake n the echo point. Both are 5-10 mins walk from the hotel.

I would definately visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anujachoubey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about The Verandah in the Forest heritage hotel in Matheran. We are pleased to learn that you chose to celebrate your son’s second birthday at a Neemrana non-hotel Hotel !

Your kind words about the ambience of the property and the service by the hotel team are a huge motivator for the entire Neemrana team.

Your compliments about the food have been conveyed to the Chef and his team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matheran
10.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Karjat
23.6 mi away
The Machan
The Machan
#3 of 67 in Lonavala
855 reviews
10.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Alibaug
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Adamo The Resort
Adamo The Resort
#4 of 21 in Matheran
301 reviews
0.0 mi away
Premdeep Hotel
Premdeep Hotel
#3 of 26 in Matheran
42 reviews
16.0 mi away
Della Adventure Resorts
Della Adventure Resorts
#4 of 67 in Lonavala
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest

Property: Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest
Address: Barr House | Matheran, District Raigarh, Matheran 410102, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Raigad District > Matheran
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Matheran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The paths once cleared by the British in the forests of Matheran, making it the last British hill station have acquired a new identity as the place where Bombay’s movers and shakers which include filmstars and businessmen come to spend a few quiet and peaceful days.Perched atop the Sahyadri ranges, Matheran is Asia’s only pedestrian hill resort. Chug up in a toy train, trot, or arrive in a palanquin, past gigantic mansions built by the British, the Parsis, and the Bohras. The Verandah in the Forest was the second house to be built on the isolated Western Ghats, by Captain Barr. Now, with every facility in place, it is reputed to be second to none! Indeed, the nobility of the proportions of The Verandah bring civilizational honour to the Sahyadri ranges. Lounge like never before in this verandah of your dreams. Read under the highest domestic ceiling you would have known in the salon – 12 metres/35 feet high. Stroll down to Charlotte Lake. Or take longer walks with a picnic basket. Relish the local cuisines. Heave your chest, muscle your calves, take all the oxygen back in your lungs. Link your planet with your own two feet.Find space for more space in your mind. Or lose yourself to find yourself anew.Long after you return, you will wonder who would have dared to sprawl out such a tree-home space in such spell-binding wilderness? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Verandah In The Forest Hotel Matheran
The Verandah In Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing