We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing food and very good rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Adamo The Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Adamo The Resort
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Matheran
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing food and very good rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Adamo is a perfect resort to stay in if you are looking for a resort near the market area.Also seems to be a very nice choice if you have elders with you.

Rooms are very well done, service staff if very efficient, food is outstanding especially the lunch.

Their Ayurvedic Spa is also worth a try.

Room Tip: Try the Royal Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank viskyrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adamo91, Guest Relations Manager at Adamo The Resort, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Our heartfelt thanks for your comments and it is always a pleasure to know that our guests had a memorable stay.

We truly value your feedback, and can assure you that we will work on the opportunities for improvement to make your future visits even more exciting.

Looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Thanking you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    132
    39
    8
    15
See reviews for
144
99
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Silvassa, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

It was a great experience room was clean , bathroom too.food was very tasty and different quality.. I love staying here..plz select room towards pool facing.And ask for discount before booking room. Kerala oil massage is also available here and its great.

Room Tip: Slecect room facing pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amit82goel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adamo91, Guest Relations Manager at Adamo The Resort, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Our heartfelt thanks for your comments and it is always a pleasure to know that our guests had a memorable stay.

We truly value your feedback, and can assure you that we will work on the opportunities for improvement to make your future visits even more exciting.

It is an absolute pleasure to know that we have loyal customers whom we have been able to attract with our Hospitality.

Looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Excellent Jain food available. Good amenities with nice room service. It can be rated as excellent if they improve in some areas like providing napkins in each room and providing hot water in full day time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Vishal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adamo91, Guest Relations Manager at Adamo The Resort, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community.

The entire team feels so proud to read your heartfelt review. Thank you for recognizing our unique ways of delighting our guests, which is truly inspiring for us all.

We are sorry for the lacks in a few places. we will make sure to take heed and improve ourselves.
We look forward to your return and assure you of our best service and attention at all times.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Had been to Adamo (Formerly Richie Rich) from 26-28 Oct, 2013. Firstly the pros: Good Location in the market, so can have a nice walk and also all the necessities are close by. Good Food, all the meals were delicious and good variety as well.

Cons: Rooms are not very clean. The bed and pillows are are big downside. I had pain in my back after being there for 2 nights. The front desk staff are very rigid and don't care a bit about the customers. All they know is to say a No. We had a bitter experience communicating with the front desk officer. He made us change our room thrice for various reasons.

If this hotel needs to compete with Usha Ascot then they must improve their service standard !!!!

Room Tip: The basic, I guess named as Regal are good and value for money. I had opted for room 501 as it was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmv3008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adamo91, Guest Relations Manager at Adamo The Resort, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback. While I am happy to read your positive comments, I also want to apologize on behalf of the team for falling short of providing you with a perfect holiday..

We are certain, your feedback shall facilitate us in consolidating upon our strengths and improve further on our standards. Thus enabling our valuable guests to experience better services at the Resort. however i hope that we can invite you back for a more memorable stay the next time around.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

A good, well maintained property with multiple rooms. A special kudos o the chef who prepared very tasty food. This was indeed the highlight of the stay. The pool was another attraction, but the water was over chlorinated and gave us itchy eyes. The staff was decent in their approach.
We enjoyed our stay overall.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank destinysmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adamo91, Guest Relations Manager at Adamo The Resort, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Thank you very much for posting your views about your experience with the TripAdvisor community.

All of us are delighted to know that you have had an enjoyable and a comfortable stay with us. Your mention of our service makes us feel proud, which will encourage us further to achieve greater heights.

We eagerly await for your return and hope to be your preferred destination in Matheran

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

We have been visiting Matheran every year since 1991. Since the last 7 years, we have been staying at Adamo - The Resort on several occasions. But with every passing year, there's one thing that has been worse. The front office customer service. I stayed here from 12th - 14th Sep 2013. Let me highlight the pro's and con's of this trip.

Pro's
1. Excellent Food - This is one of the reasons why i keep visiting this place.
2. Excellent Kitchen Staff and the Waiter's - They make sure to keep you happy and attend to you every second.
3. Good Property - especially considering the location
4.

Con's
1. Very Very Very unprofessional front office staff (A Girl - i have seen this girl in the kitchen reception some years ago - maybe she got promoted or something. Upon arrival, this girl had absolutely no courtesy. She was yelling at someone on the phone - Very Unprofessional customer service. When i enquired about the room's, she was least bothered. We always stay in the duplex villa and i asked her about it she said NO. Then she changed her statement saying it is available (total cost 14200) for 2 nights.
2. Secondly we reached the hotel at 1 PM. When i enquired about the lunch, she said the lunch is not available and we can use today's lunch facility on the day of our checkout. The checkout is at 9 AM and lunch starts at 12 or 12.30 PM. Why would i wait for 3 hours for lunch on the day of my checkout? That’s totally illogical. There is a board near the reception which states the timings for lunch, breakfast etc. The lunch timings mention it is available till 1.30 or 2.00 PM. I did point it out to her but she was no ready to listen.
3. Thirdly, i told her we are not interested to stay if lunch is not provided today (she made a few calls to the kitchen and started yelling to the kitchen staff asking whether food is available or not). That’s pathetic guys.
4. People come here to relax. They do not need to go through this nonsense of the front office staff (read - that girl at the reception)
5. Games room at the basement doesn’t seem to be working (that least bothered us)
6. Fan's need to be replaced in the room's (again of least bother as the climate is cool)
7. The credit card machine has never worked - Every year it says out of order – Nobody wants to carry such cash guys – please make a note of it – One of the year’s the machine did work, but the front office staff charged 3% extra – What age are you living in guys? This is supposed to be one of the biggest hotels in Matheran – yet the system works in the old fashioned way

All in all with the exception of the front office staff, the trip was good. The management should take note of the excellent work done by the kitchen staff and the service staff. The management should also take note of the front office staff and need to improve the same.

Room Tip: Duplex Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adamo91, Guest Relations Manager at Adamo The Resort, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback. While I am happy to read your positive comments, I also want to apologize on behalf of the team for falling short of providing you with a perfect holiday..

We are certain, your feedback shall facilitate us in consolidating upon our strengths and improve further on our standards. Thus enabling our valuable guests to experience better services at the Resort. however i hope that we can invite you back for a more memorable stay the next time around.

I am glad you have considered us every time regardless of our flaws that i assure you we are trying to overcome due to reviews such as yours. we are striving to give you the best experience.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
49 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Stayed at Adamo with family. The location is quite good (not a scenic view, but close to market). Food is fantastic, would love to go there again just for the food. However, the service and attitude towards customer is really pathetic. Check out the room pics. They had put pillows without any cover, no curtains in the bathroom, no hooks in the bathroom, no hand towels. In fact I called up and asked for hand towels and they mentioned that because of too much dust in matheran they do not give hand towels !!!!
Dear Manager / Owner - This is precisely the reason we need hand towels...How much they cost? Rs 100 per piece? How much do we pay for one night stay - Rs 6500???

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hemalg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adamo91, Sr Marketing Executive. at Adamo The Resort, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thank you very much for posting your views about your experience with the TripAdvisor community.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed your trip to Matheran at our resort.
We are truly apologetic that our service was not up to the mark. In regards to no pillow covers,no curtain and hand towels Had you contacted a member of the staff, i am sure they would have been happy to help you with the same.
The team is addressing your highlighted concerns very seriously and are looking into the housekeeping and service issues you faced.

But please do make a note to post your reply as soon as possible after your visit and not after almost a year. A lot of things have changed since then

Thank you once again for your feedback. I do hope you visit again soon and give us another opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matheran
0.5 mi away
Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest
10.1 mi away
Hotel Panvel Palace
Hotel Panvel Palace
#207 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
9.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Karjat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
The Dukes Retreat
The Dukes Retreat
#1 of 6 in Khandala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Byke Heritage - Matheran
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kumar Plaza
Hotel Kumar Plaza
#1 of 24 in Matheran
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adamo The Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adamo The Resort

Property: Adamo The Resort
Address: MG Road, Matheran 410102, India (Formerly Richie Rich Resorts)
Region: India > Maharashtra > Matheran
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Matheran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Adamo The Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richie Rich Hotel Matheran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing