We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special place”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Matheran
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lords Central Hotel
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Matheran
Certificate of Excellence
Skanderborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
126 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A very special place”
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Matheran is a special place, but Lords is even more special. Located 10 minutes from the rail station and with great views of the valley below. The hotel is a complex of colonial-era buildings, and it really feels as if time has stopped here. Old wooden bungalows with fans instead of aircon, and a restaurant with only two items on the menu each day: veg and non-veg. The staff are very friendly but do not speak English. But the landlady does - a charming and fascinating person who carries the weight of protecting Matheran from cars and mass tourism on her shoulders. We hope her struggle will not be in vain, because Matheran with its monkeys and horses should stay the same way forever!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mortenpaatur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    94
    19
    4
    0
See reviews for
76
60
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

This was my 4th trip to Matheran and my daughters first. As a child I had some fond memories of Matheran. One of her main demands was that we visit a resort with a pool. And bang on, 'Lords Central' turned out to be the best resort in Matheran.

This heritage property is well maintained. What makes the difference is the personal involvement of the owners- Mother-Son duo at the property. Under their guidance the staff themselves are well behaved and caring.

Here my rating of the facility.

1 being lowest- 5 being Best

Rooms: 4 (We had got a Valley facing room, and it was awesome to see the sunrise right from the my doorstep)

Room Interiors: 3 Scope to improve the bathroom facility.

Pool- 5 Well maintained on daily basis.

Food- 5 Amazing variety at buffet-Check some Parsi dishes that they serve.

Resort Surroundings: 5 Well maintained, badminton court and life size chess game is very innovative.

Proximity to Market: 5 Mins It's a pleasure to take a walk on the market road with vehicles to bump into you or cause any sound/air pollution.

Do not miss this place if you plan your stay at Matheran.

Room Tip: Choose the Valley facing rooms. But even if you do not get one, does'nt matter. Enjoy the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandar_Karnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashik, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

One of the best place I have visited. This is a heritage propert located very close to the railway station. The rooms a huge (Take the valley view rooms), typical colonial stlye construction. Great food. The food is just awesome, authentic Parsi food. A very nice place specially if you are accomponied by kids.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The Valley view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vikrant M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

From the Hectic schedule, I had planned to take a quick break to the nearest hill station at Matheran and it was my second visit after 20 years.. I had no clue which place to stay and thanks to the Trip Advisor, I could make the right choice.. Lords central is not only like being in the lap of mother nature but there are many such things which we could cherish in this short visit... Special thanks to the Hostess Zanobia ( hope i have spelt it right). The food was awesome with lots of mouth watering dishes..specially the fruit basket, sali boti, etc.. May dishes which i don't remember the name.. The place with beautifully lit ambient and breath taking view.. If you may expect a 5 star ambient in the room and a tucked bed sheets, then this is not the place for you.. Its clean, hygine and neat.. I could go endless with the experience but overall it was a superb experience and I would visit this place all the time i come here.. Thanks Zaonobia mam and Shivax for making my day...

Few things which can be improved on : A feedback form from customers would really help you to understand what people visiting you from different parts of the country and world expect, Best place near the pool could be well lit and could have more better chairs for people to sit, Power trips were a major issue all over...


Guess your name should be in the top list...cheers

Room Tip: Valley View rooms is the choice to make, expensive then the rest but VFM...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravikiran05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dundee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2012 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at Lords Central, Matheran for 3 nights and had a wonderful time. Warm and kind hospitality from the minute we arrived, slightly late for lunch as the 1000 toy train from Neral was delayed but we were given time to freshen up then head for lunch where we were greeted by Tukaram who looked after us at mealtimes. The food is fantastic and Tukaram explained all the dishes to us, plenty to eat and offered more if we wished.
Our room No.7 is in our opinion, the best valley view room and sitting in our porch looking out over the valley, pool and the beautiful garden was magical indeed.
Our first visit to a hill station in India and we loved our stay at Lords Central in Matheran which exceeded all our expectations.
Would thoroughly recommend

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kazarame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

As in the reviews immediately below the hotel is slightly worn; with mismatched furniture from various periods in the life of the hotel. The towels are not fluffy and hot water is only available for 3 hours in the morning. The rooms are spotless; which quite frankly given the red dust in Matheran, is a feat of genius.

However, there is a real charm about the building and the owners are simply delightful. The food is really quiet excellent - who new that tomato and egg consommé soup was so delicious. We had our meals served at our table and we could have as much as we needed. Although I understand on busy days meals are by buffet. Portions were very generous and we didn’t need seconds.

We had a valley view room; whcih consisted of a 'sun room' bedroom and very pink shower/toilet room. The view from our room across the valley was simply stunning. The staff brought tea [7am to 8am] which we sipped in the sun room watching the monkeys on the terrace, before feasting on breakfast [8:30am to 10:30am]. We looked at the other hotels in the town and decided that Lords really was the nicest.

We had to leave very early and had sandwiches wrapped up in brown paper ties with string – a lovely touch which sums up the old world charm of the property.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HolidayNotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
148 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed here in March 2011. The ride up the hill in the 'toy train' is fun. On arrival you have to the hotel as there is no transport allowed. Porters are available if you want. The hotel has been there for 3-4 generations and still run by the same family, Mr. Lord will tell you the historywhile you fill in the required documentation. The rooms need serious renovation, I guess if you are a backpacker this is acceptable but for the price I expected much more than I got. Electricity is a problem as was water! The saving grace was the food, it was fantastic and plenty of it, as much as you could, they even made us fish and chips not knowing we prefer Indian food. Great walks and breath taking views, so much history if you find the old graveyard and quarinteen station in this old British Hill Station. Very interesting and worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paddy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matheran
0.5 mi away
Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kumar Plaza
Hotel Kumar Plaza
#1 of 21 in Matheran
281 reviews
9.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Alibaug
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Hotel Panvel Palace
Hotel Panvel Palace
#223 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
15 reviews
16.2 mi away
Upper Deck Resort Pvt. Ltd.
0.1 mi away
Adamo The Resort
Adamo The Resort
#4 of 21 in Matheran
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lords Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lords Central Hotel

Property: Lords Central Hotel
Address: MG Road | Near Station, Matheran 400055, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Raigad District > Matheran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Matheran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 23

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing