We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Matheran charm” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lords Central Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Matheran
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lords Central Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Matheran
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Matheran charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

Wonderful stay.
As usual just to get away from the city, this time in matheran, been to Lords Central and it made matheran more magical. this place is well kept and peaceful as it is located slightly away from the main market.
the owners are warm, helpful and so is the staff. service levels are high.
we opted for the double room facing the play area and it was wonderful.
the play area was happening for us and it was fun throughout.
the room(no modern electronics) had an antique feel but very clean and comfortable.
breakfast and course meals was good.
the walk in the woods, d play area n the charm of this place made it a total breather .

Room Tip: Go for the Play area facing regular rooms if travelling with Kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken8_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    89
    18
    4
    0
See reviews for
72
57
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

Walking down the station road , you will feel haggered by the Huntsmen (read as pestering Horsemen --- our very own Tangawala's) , and would run into a old mangalore tiled house , leaving you wondering where you reached along with multiple questions in your head ......All the irritaion is lost once you meet Neville and start up a chat with him , as he talks about the real issues bombarding Matheran... Walk past the old house into openness and breath taking view ,neatly hidden and tucked inLord Central backyard.......and belive me , you have nearly attained nirvana......We were gently pleased by the service and the parsi food served......Nights under the open skies with an early morning sunrise welcoming you in a new day....Truly and religiuously recommended.....

Room Tip: Stay in the Valley View Rooms....you will be blessed..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LordnMaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012

Hi,

Me and my wife stayed for 1 night on 28th November in valley view room.... View what you get from room is superb and dont think any other resort / hotel in Matheran provides you with such kind of view... When it comes to service & hospitalioty, I must say that its exceptional service what one can get in resorts which are on hill stations...Our stay was really comfortable... food was amazing (though limited variety)... Staff and owner of the resort were very helpful and courteous...Please dont miss out Louisia point and sun rise which you can see from resort itself...

Also a thanks to all those who have posted their reviews about Lords Matheran, as our decision to stay in Lords Matheran was based on these reviews...

A word of caution (even Aunty at the resort will tell you this) - All adventure sports being conducted in Matheran are illegal... Though operators of such sports will convince you that they are trained and they have permit, dont fall into their trap..

Room Tip: Please select Valley View / Valley Side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KamalDashija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

I n my husband visited this place yesterday n we were very pleased with d experience we had here. Matheran is not new to us anymore. We frequently travel to matheran to spend some quality time besides our hectic schedule. After reading good reviews about Lords on this site we were very excited to get a room here. We didn't do advance booking but thankfully lucky to get a regular room. All other rooms were booked. staff is really polite n helpful. d feel is quite rustic. Takes u to d old british era. Rooms r big n airy. But they could have done better to maintain d furniture provided in d rooms. Chairs n tables look old n unmaintained. otherwise rooms r clean but they have old TV which is again with cracky sound n not very good display. But this was compensated with d awesome food. U will get breakfast, lunch, evening tea n biscuits n dinner in the package. we like d combination provided in d buffet menu. It's parsi n other cuisine mixed. unlimited and tasty food. Breakfast is also filling. Overall it's a must visit place for those who want to spend some secluded time in matheran.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PoonamNaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

Location : This hotel is aptly located, not very far from the main market (5 minutes walk) and yet far enough to be peaceful while being at a walkable distance from many of the matheran view points. Its right on the eastern edge of matheran hill, so its valley facing rooms offer excellent sunrise (and of course valley) views.

Amenities : The hotel has a small pool with at most 5 ft depth, which is very carefully maintained and cleaned (off leaves and other floating dirt) daily. There's a badminton court, a giant floor chessboard and a small toddler's play area.

Rooms : The valley facing rooms are huge with a greater than 100 sq.ft. balcony from where one could see sunrise. However, most of the space in the room is taken up by extra beds (our room had a king bed and two extra beds with an additional chair that could be turned into a bed). A small (less than 15 inch) tv is kept with major channels available. The bath and the wash area are large - though hot water is available only in the mornings (7:30 to 10:30). However, the rooms appear as if they were cobbled together with huge wooden pieces and partitions that aren't accurately aligned. Balconies of adjacent rooms are separated by partitions (and in our case a latched door) that have enough gaps that if someone in the other room is smoking actively your balcony can end up being smoky as well. A major irritant is the operation of AC. You need to tell the hotel staff to "turn on" the AC and it used to be dutifully switched off every so often by them even if you wanted to continue to use them.

Food : The good thing about it was that it wasn't greasy and almost home-made in many cases. Overall it was mixed bag of good and not-so-good - especially veg - none of the meals that we had included dal - something staple for a veg lunch or dinner. There weren't any indian desserts. stay there longer and you could get tired of puddings and custards. Breakfast was simple (eggs and one veg option) and nothing to write specially about.

Room Tip: Rooms 7 to 10 have clear and unencumbered view of the hill across and valley beyond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PuneAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thane, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

this hotel is located near to the station, yet far from the crowd, its got a breathtaking view of the valley and some of the rooms are right on the cliff..the staff is very polite and friendly , the place is clean but has antique feel to it. The food was ok , we stayed there for 4 days and each meal was different and unique..

Room Tip: the rooms on the front side as good if you have kids as there are ample place to play and run around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank manojchacko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

I and my wife recently visited Matheran and the experience was a mixed bag :)

First off, word of caution to all the avid week-end travellers: Though Matheran is a really popular get-away, driving (and more so parking!) here is a painful task.
1) The stretch to Matheran (if you're coming from Mumbai) is not that great and neral-Matheran road is really bumpy.
2) Matheran Hill Ghat Road has just been paved but is full of sharp corners so be very careful
3) The parking is indeed really bad. One is required to park in the woods with very steep pathways (not meant for normal, regular city drivers) so highly advisable that you get a local driver who will park your car is a small spot (they take usually Rs 100).
4) From here, Matheran is another 40 minute hike. You can either take toy train (takes 40 odd minutes and operates thrice a day: 8 AM, 1 PM and 5PM but is closed during monsoons) or you can take a horse (charges of Rs 250-350).

After the 40 min long train/horse back riding you finally hit Matheran and it actually feels as if this is a one big movie set! :)

There are small eatry stalls, handicraft shops, cotton candy and popcorn stands: the feeling is quintessentially that of a hill-station.

Now, Lords Central Hotel is located towards the end of the stretch and as soon as you approach the reception, it gives you a feeling that this space has been frozen in time, in a real good way!

You see a cute cockerspanial lazing in the front porch (family dog), a rustic open library on one side (with Reader's Digest issues dating back to 1950s!), a small restaurant with an old (but surprisingly working!) 1980 Uptron TV and a wonderful view of the valley. And all of this adorned with greenery all around.

Hope you get the picture :)

The staff is very helpful and courteous (entire hotel is run by Lords' family) and rooms are big and clean. We got a Valley View room (two person charge for Rs 5k per night) and it was really peaceful to sip hot cup of tea and munch pakoras in evening. There is a small swimming pool too with some 5-6 lounger chairs if you feell like. There is also a badminton court, a TT table and some other activities for you to kill time as there is nothing much to do in Matheran.

Food is Parsee cuisine and is something that we didnt find exceptional but the service makes up for pretty much everything.

All in all a great place for a 1/2 day getaway but please bear in mind that the approach to Matheran is not that pleasant if you planning to come by your car.

Given a choice, I would definitely want to go there again with a group of frineds and via train.

Cheers!

Room Tip: 1) Carry cash with you as Hotel doesn't accept Credit Cards 2) Park your car with a help of loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NakulGaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matheran
0.3 mi away
Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest
16.2 mi away
Upper Deck Resort Pvt. Ltd.
18.1 mi away
Picaddle - The Luxury Boutique Resort by Meritas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Hotel Panvel Palace
Hotel Panvel Palace
#148 of 432 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.3 mi away
Adamo The Resort
Adamo The Resort
#3 of 20 in Matheran
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Byke Heritage - Matheran
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lords Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lords Central Hotel

Property: Lords Central Hotel
Address: MG Road | Near Station, Matheran 400055, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Matheran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Matheran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 23

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing