We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay with family”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Matheran
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lords Central Hotel
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Matheran
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Many good things about the place, like its quite family (esp. kid friendly), lotsa play area, a well-maintained pool and friendly- helpful staff. We went with our 1 yr old and some friends with kids as well. The staff and Mr. Lord (the owner) were very accomodating in providing us special service with preparing meals for the kids separately. The biggest problem there is non-availability of hot water after 10 am, and with the chilly weather, and dusty roads it gets a bit inconvinient with children, though the staff said they would heat up some water for the kids if requested. Also they have beautiful valley facing rooms (which are way better than one without a view), and these rooms have a verandah outside where you can sit and relax and watch the beautiful sunrise every morning. Because of a huge monkey problem, you are not allowed to get your food/tea outside the rooms, which kind of sucks!The rooms are very clean, comfortable and simple, nothing fancy at all. And the barbeque nights by the pool side on saturday nights is a great experience! it s great place to stay overall, though the food is average and sometimes good. Not bad at all for Matheran.

Room Tip: Valley facing rooms have a great view and are also quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bigtimeroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2013

I visited this place with my wife based on the comments posted by fellow travelers. I had high expectations from this place, cause of the numerous positive comments...but the expectations fell flat on basis of the experience I and my wife had.
Room: Being an old heritage hotel, the rooms have a rustic and old culture feel to it. I had reserved a standard room as it was a peak season. Although the room was large, it needs an upkeep. The doors were squeaky, the fan and AC made a lot of noise, the bed was shaky too.
Location: The hotel is a rough 10min walk along the main bazaar, which is a big positive. At the same time the hotel has immaculate views of the cliff and surrounding views. The 2 rating given above is due to it location strictly.
Food: The food is strictly OK, nothing great about it. I also had a bad food poisoning after I had one of the non veg meals there. I and my wife had to stick to outside hotel meals just to be safe for the rest of my stay.
Service: Although the staff is minimal around the hotel, some handful people are very sweet. The staff in the dining area though do their job, are very rude and I repeat RUDE. They don't know how to talk to a guest or treat them. The hotel manager seems hospitable, but they should look into these matters.
Activities: There are play areas around the hotel, including a swimming pool, which are some of the positives for small children. Too bad we couldn't use it.
Overall, I had a below average stay at this place. There are some very good resorts surrounding Lord's which I would suggest fellow travelers to strictly consider before going to this place. Being a peak season I paid a hefty sum to go to Lord's, but didn't enjoy my stay at all and returned dissapointed. I would not return to this hotel and wont even recommend it to my friends and family in future!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nik_2517_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Rooms were dated and need renovation

Hot water only from 7 am to 10 am. Not good if you want a warm shower after a long walk along the dusty paths

Food consists of mainly Parsi fare. Definitely above average but not quite gourmet stuff.

Play area great for kids

Staff excellent and very helpful.

In summary - the property definitely has old world charm, but should buck up on room upkeep.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BANDRAfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Lord's Central is resort where you get feel of british era. Already Matheran takes you back on ages and the hotel makes you feel it. Simple rooms, quite large, with peirod furniture and adequate resources. The place is spotless clean and the bed accessories are in same lines. It will make you feel simple if you are used to modern upscale resorts, but you get homely feel. All rooms have verandah. Valley facing rooms are costlier and you can enjoy views from the property whenever you want if you choose other rooms. Food is fabulous. Timings are fixed. Lunch & Dinner are four coursed. They are served properly and taste is fanstastic. The deserts are too good. You do not get this type of food elsewhere. Only drawback seemed availability of hot water only in morning hours. It should be available for wash for some time in evenings too, especially after roaming in muddy lanes of Matheran in its cool weather. Overall it is a afbulous place and recommend all type. Nice Stay.

Room Tip: Go for Valley rooms if you need more comfort. Otherwise all rooms are okay, views can be had from pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yeshwant A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We went here after 25 years. Place is still the same, great view, great ambience. A bit quirky but you feel that you are at a friends place. Strict rules about timings but otherwise a great place for a holiday in Matheran. Some improvements would go a long way in making stays better. Till then carry your own shampoo and a big bar of soap, the small Medimix or whatever is too small for two people. Close to the market and other sights. Wonderful place to watch the dusk come up the valley.

Room Tip: Get a valley view room, costs more but worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rudetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This hotel is well located at the edge of town within easy walking distance from the bazaar, while at the same time being secluded from the bustle of the market. It has a lovely view from the pool and some of the rooms (though the air pollution from Mumbai and suburbs has reduced visibility). Ask for "Valley View" rooms on the lower level. Mrs. Lord is very friendly and an institution in Matheran - she'll gladly answer questions on the history of the hotel and the town itself. Monkeys provide entertainment, the pool is immaculately clean though the wooden reclinerscould use a little cushioning to be comfortable. Meals are good, varied, "safe" and always plentiful. Drinking water is provided, as is bed tea upon request. The accommodations are clean and fairly well maintained.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MySiska4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Firstly the location is excellent, with a great view of the valley which can be even be seen from the pool. I frankly did not expect much from this place but was pleasantly surprised. The Parsi owners, (the Lord Family) are ever so friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Make it point to dine all the meals there, as you will get the best of Parsi and Indian cuisine, with a touch of old Raj continental dishes as well. I joked that I would like to the take the chef/cook back with me to Sydney. Great place for couples and families as there was badminton/ table tennis and a life sized chess board to play with.

Room Tip: Make sure you select the Valley Facing Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HoshSyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matheran
0.5 mi away
Dune Barr House - Verandah in the Forest
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kumar Plaza
Hotel Kumar Plaza
#1 of 22 in Matheran
367 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radha Cottage
Radha Cottage
#6 of 22 in Matheran
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rangoli Retreat
Rangoli Retreat
#15 of 22 in Matheran
144 reviews
9.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Alibaug
0.4 mi away
The Byke Heritage - Matheran
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lords Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lords Central Hotel

Address: MG Road | Near Station, Matheran 400055, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Raigad District > Matheran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Matheran
Price Range: £91 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing