We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mini heaven in Matheran” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lords Central Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Matheran
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lords Central Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Matheran
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mini heaven in Matheran”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Me and my family have been visiting Matheran regularly for the past atleast 15 Years. The Hotel is very customer friendly and offers value for money for the whole family including children and senior citizens. We will continue visiting the hotel even in the future.

Room Tip: Valley and pool facing rooms are out of this world.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jebypatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    92
    18
    4
    0
See reviews for
73
59
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We were visiting Lords Central for 2 days from June 6 to June 8th and enjoyed our stay. More of heritage style hotel , with excellent recreation facilities and good food. The food is typically Parsi and good for People who enjoy non vegetarian food. The family rooms are spacious , although people may prefer valley facing rooms. Overall we enjoyed the stay at Lords.

Room Tip: Family rooms are spacious and good choice if you have extra adults staying. Although Valley side roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krishna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

The hotel still tries to run on the family run business logic. However with changing times things have changed, support staff has changed n guests expectations have also changed. With the fixed menu setup it gets a bit difficult to go there with children. They have a lovely property but have to change the way they function. Lovely peaceful place, set menu so very limited options as they don't serve 'LA carte. Gud for a group picnic where fun is d agenda.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RashmiVaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed for 3 days with friends.The owner of the hotel was very courteous and the lady was amazing.At this age she has tremendous energy to personally oversee all staff activities.
Valley view rooms are excellent,swimming pool is well maintained.
Parsi type food is really delicious and service is superb.
Barbecue on Saturday night was hit,serving mouth watering kababs.
Over all fantastic experience.

Room Tip: Room number 7,8,9,10 are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobby201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed at the Lords Central Hotel in Matheran in May 2014 with my wife and 3 1/2 year old son. Reached here an hour before the check in time. The hotel looks more like an old Parsi bungalow than a hotel. The room we had booked was the Valley View A/C room. Our room was on the ground floor with a view of the swimming pool. The rooms do not have modern facilities, but thats how its supposed to be here. Our room had an adjoining small room which used to be our tea time room. Bathrooms and toilets were huge. Rooms were clean and well maintained. Food is probably the best part of this place. We were served authentic Parsi food with no repetition in any of the meals. The meat was always well cooked and separate less spicy food was always saved for my son, lest he finds the food spicy. Food is served in an old style hall. Recreation for kids is limited to a small area, but is sufficient. The staff is well mannered and know their work. The staff is mostly old who have served the place for several years. The swimming pool water is very clean. They have a separate set top box with wide selection of channels just in case you feel like watching TV. The views are breathtaking and all you can do is soak yourself in the pureness of the place. The owners are nice people and you can spend time with them discussing anything under the sun for hours.Overall a very good experience. I would definitely go back here every time I need to unwind.

Room Tip: Valley view rooms are good, but other rooms are equally good. I would give the valley side rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hrishishinde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Overall stay and the place can be enjoyed only if u ignore a few shortcomings of this place . The Locaton & view is absolutely stunning & best place to unwind . The Room is not very great and equipped with basic needs and would be far from luxury .Hot water would be available only in the morning till ten and room service is literally non-existing.
Food is not great either but value for money considerng the food you get outside the hotel in Matheran. Pool is well maintained & nice , Recreation Activities ( Chess,Carrom ,TT , Baddi) are really good for any sports freak u lands there .
The staff needs to be given some basic lessons on Customer service..the saving grace is the Parsi family-Owners who would treat you as if you were thier family guests

Room Tip: Valley Facing rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nevil2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

To begin with the resort is located 5 mins walking distance from the station. It is a quaint little place with an old world charm. There is a medium sized swimming pool which is well maintained.
There are a few room facing the front side of the resort which are the economy rooms and hence the size of the rooms is very small. The rooms facing the valley are the ones that are spacious. There is a wide veranda in each of the valley side and valley view rooms. Sitting at the veranda and sipping a cup of coffee while gazing at the beautiful valley or just reading a book while lazing at the veranda is truly relaxing.
Now talking about the food, all meals are inclusive and it is definitely a gastronomical treat. It is a four course meal starting with a soup, then starters main course and desert.
The best part about this place is their service and hospitality. As we reached early on sat morning we requested the owner if we could have breakfast, we were willing to pay of course but they just allowed us to have breakfast at no cost which was very surprising. Also while checking out we were short of cash, however Matheran has only 1 ATM, which is non functional most of the time! The owner had no qualms about we checking out without making a complete payment and said someone from their Mumbai office would collect the remaining money. But guess what after a week when no one called me asking about the balance money, I was surprised and called the Mumbai office and requested them to come and collect the money. Such hospitality is very rare in today's world. I was impressed!

Room Tip: choose valley view rooms and if you if find them expensive then at least go for valley side rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rinkusarkar29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matheran
16.2 mi away
Upper Deck Resort Pvt. Ltd.
10.2 mi away
Hotel Panvel Palace
Hotel Panvel Palace
#152 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
16.7 mi away
The Dukes Retreat
The Dukes Retreat
#1 of 6 in Khandala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Picaddle - The Luxury Boutique Resort by Meritas
23.6 mi away
The Machan
The Machan
#3 of 67 in Lonavala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
9.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Alibaug
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lords Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lords Central Hotel

Property: Lords Central Hotel
Address: MG Road | Near Station, Matheran 400055, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Matheran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Matheran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 23

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing