We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“To the Hills”
other travellers have booked this property
Sha Ri Loum - View from the road
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sha Ri Loum - View from the road
A view of the house from the front The spiral staircase that connects the floors
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
Sha Ri Loum - View from the road
A view of the house from the front
The spiral staircase that connects the floors
The balcony outside the Pine Room which offers a beautiful view of the green surroundings
The Bamboo Room which has a 4-poster bamboo bed
The modern bathroom attached to the Areca Room
The modern bathroom attached to the Orchid Room
View of the pine trees from the spiral staircase.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Shillong, East Khasi Hills District, Meghalaya

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
APPANAKUM...
visakhapatnam
1 review
“To the Hills”
Reviewed 22 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Sha Ri Loum is situated in a picture perfect little Valley surrounded by beautiful pine forests with birds chirping and at a walkable distance from city's action. The rooms are very spacious , clean spick and span . The staff are very friendly always willing to lend a helping hand with their ever smiling faces. . Must make a special mention about our hostess Ms Farida , she was a great guidance for us in a new place , giving us the right directions . The bottom line is that this place worth staying to enjoy the peace and tranquility . The bonus : when we retired for the day we could hear her pleasent music , staff was strumming away their guitar as the day ended . Certainly we will make another trip there with our children .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debapriyo...
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Heavenly...... Divine....... Amazing !!”
Reviewed 17 September 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This Homestay....is actually a "Heavenly Stay"
Run by a Farida & her Team (KK, Enrich, Bauldon, Bobby).

Location: Located a bit off the main Shillong. This is at a walkable distance from 'San- Ker", a rehabilitation centre/ hospital. Also, the place is not very far (may be just 2-3 Km) from "Golf view" and "Don Bosco museum". The police bazar from here is about 5 Km. The place is amazingly peaceful, green, and frequented by clouds.

Property description: It is a Bunglow with 04 beautiful and aesthetically decorated bedrooms (02 on ground floor and 02 on First floor). Every bedroom, has an attached toilet, wooden flooring, and opens to a verandah at its back, to enable you experience the scenic views of this place. There is a dining area and one drawing room (with a fire place) at the ground floor. It has some parking space. The place also offers free Wifi and has Television in every bedroom. Room heaters can be requested on additional charges. The caretaker of the place is KK, and 03 other guys (Enrich, Bauldon & Bobby) and all are amazing.

This is a Homestay, so you may not get a complete Hotel like feature. But it has some real great surprises to offer which Hotels cannot give you. The Bunglow is tastefully decorated.

Food:
The guys are awesome cooks. Home food, but great taste. They serve both veg and non- veg food (North Indian, Chinese, etc.). Snacks too can be prepared (like momos, etc.), but one has to intimate them well in advance so that they can make arrangements for it. Remember, that this is a homestay and not Hotel. Also they do not provide lunch, so you need to make your own arrangement or take appropriate tips from the caretaker. They are a great help.

Price: We were 08 adults and 02 children, and took the whole Bunglow for 03 nights, and paid Rs. 10k per night for the whole of it. Food & snacks were extra. Breakfast (Limited) was included in the price.

Some tips:
Keep the guys well informed about your stay- like the number of people you are, luggage your are carrying, number of vehicles, etc. Also, tell them in advance as to the quantity of the food, like how many chapatis, how much daal/ sabji, chicken etc. Something like you do at home, to estimate the requirement. Also how spicy you need it. All this, not just because it's a homestay, but also because it takes time to prepare great food. Believe me, the food is awesome. Rice is more easy for them than chapati (this is Eastern part of India).

Facilities: LCD Television in bedrooms, attached toilet, tea / coffee maker replenishment every morning, running hot water, free wifi, parking space, limited room service. Breakfast & dinner is served in the dining room. The drawing room is best for an evening or night party, or for enjoying the morning tea. It also has books to sit and read.

They accept cash, paytm & netbanking modes of payment. They do not take credit cards. Booking will require you to pay some advance.

The place is amazing, and you may even end up staying back in the bunglow itself instead of going out for sight seeing, as the bunglow and the surroundings are so beautiful.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2017
Thank you so much, Mr. Debapriyo Bhattacharya, for taking your time out to write us this most wonderful review. We are so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at our cottage and appreciated the service and the home food we provide. As you rightly pointed out, we are a home stay so we can't be compared to a hotel. But we always aim to provide our guests with a unique experience of being in a local home. We are thrill when we get such reviews and know that we have, to a certain extent, been able to meet your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
One point I would like to correct here - we provide room heaters at no extra cost :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nithya_Sr...
chennai
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best homestay experience”
Reviewed 19 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

A beautiful cottage with tastefully decorated rooms. The rooms are quite spacious with a big balcony.Ms Farida is a wonderful host.Goes extra mile to make us feel at home. She takes care of travel arrangements. Arranges local guides. A home cooked meal was such a warm welcome after a long day out. I would look nowhere else to stay at Shillong!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2017
Thank you so much, Nithya, for taking your time out to write us this wonderful review. It was wonderful having you and your beautiful family stay with us. You came as strangers but left as good friends. We look forward to your next visit. Your Meghalaya tour is not over yet as I have lots more places to show you. Take care and see you soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Homestay!! ”
Reviewed 4 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

10 of us were the only guests in this entire very tastefully made properly. This was first time to experience a homestay and I must admit it was way beyond our expectations. Rooms were very clean, necessary accessories in room and toilets were available including hot water. The staff gave us access to kitchen to help cook in preparation of breakfast and to suit our taste. Wonderful stay with excellent service. Kids did not want to leave the place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2017
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review of our property. Your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding our rooms and service. Our staff members take their roles very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality service, that our guests expect.
Thank you once again. It was a pleasure having you and your family stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Shillong!
Best Regards,
Farida
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
niniagg19
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Vacation”
Reviewed 17 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

It's a breathtaking environment amidst the woods with pine trees surrounding you. Bedrooms are done tastefully and the bathrooms fully equipped .. it's all solar water ...and of course the owner farida welcomes you always with a warm smile along with her team of groomed staff. It's a holiday an homely ...go there very often thank you farida for being such a great host ....

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2017
Dear Ayushi,
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review of our property. Your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding our rooms and service. Our staff members take their roles very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality service, that our guests expect.
Thank you once again. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Shillong!
Best Regards,
Farida
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rai r
1 review
“Simply great.”
Reviewed 9 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This is a very beautiful place located away from the crowded area police bazar. The interiors are very beautiful and Farida has put her life into the property. The staff is very good and Cooperative and particularly Farida is very good at hosting people. All my 3 days were very good. This place enhanced my mood. I'm from hospitality industry and I suggest this place.

Farida, whenever I come to shillong please put one room for me .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2017
Thank you so much Rahul, for taking your time out and writing us this beautiful review. We always do our best to make our guests feel at home and we would like to welcome them again whenever they visit Shillong. So Rahul, we would love to see you again for sure.
Warm Regards,
Farida
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anupamahr...
Bengaluru, India
1 review
“First Class stay”
Reviewed 30 March 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We had a great time staying there. Special care was given for us regarding food, transport, guidance.
Thank you Madam, from all of us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2017
Dear Anupama,

Thank you so much for taking the time out to write us this wonderful review. It's great to know that you had enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you again. All the best and hope to see you soon!

Warm regards
Farida,
Owner of Sha Ri Loum
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing