We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst place to stay.”
Review of The Shillong Club

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shillong
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Shillong Club
Ranked #33 of 81 Shillong B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

avoid staying at this property,water is a major issue rooms are old staff is helpless though they pretend to be supportive but in vain. If u are in a mood to spoil ur vacations then I would recommend to stay. general manager was not at all supportive when the complaint was made. Wasted my money and time.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank indreshg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014

The best thing about this hotel was it's convenience because we were attending an event happening at the same location. However, I would not ever choose this place if there wasn't an event. It is way over-priced for what you get (2000 for ground floor and 2500 for second floor rooms.) There is only hot water from buckets which is fine but sometimes they take up to 1 hour to deliver it which is difficult if you have somewhere to be. And the water was not always very hot once it was delivered. We were told before we arrived that there was wifi but once we got there we were told the wifi was for members (of the club bit) only and hotel guests were not allowed the password. The rooms vary quite a bit. Rooms on the second floor are much nicer than on the ground floor. Ground floor rooms are very noisy from construction and the club workers doing their washing, etc outside the rooms. Second floor rooms are lovely and have a balcony with a view of the lake. Room service sometimes got our orders wrong. Food was good. There are better hotels in Shillong that are cheaper and offer friendlier & better service.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are bigger and quieter than ground floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xscorcho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

If you’re budget traveler, then go for it – I remember staying at this place when I visited Shillong years back as a small kid; the rooms were large, fully carpeted & had a very warm feel, with large fire-places. But after seeing it last time when we visited Shillong, I wouldn’t recommend it, since there are much better hotels to stay & Shillong Club is no more keeping up to the standards; maintenance has drastically gone down & they seem not to have re-furnished the place since a long time. It’s suitable for the budget traveler, hence if you’r really on a tight budget & not having very high expectations, then this could probably be the right place. The location is pretty convenient, next to the Ward Lake & running taxies are available right outside the gates.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malavika_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Well you do not keep any high hopes on this hotel, overall its well managed. Service is an issue. Connectivity and ease of commuting is good from this place. Do not ask for extra service you do not get response.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rajishtk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

the room was tidy and staff was friendly, but the water pressure was terrible. at times, the toilet wouldn't flush. I picked up a nasty virus from food from the kitchen here and lost an entire day of my trip to chills and nausea

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

The Shillong Club has quite a few points in its favour but some downsides as well. There is a long standing issue with lack of hot water in the bathrooms. There are reviews noting an issue at least a year ago and it continues up to the present. Surely it is not rocket science to fix the boiler system. More about that later.

Shillong is not a particularly attractive town but one of the recommended sights is Ward Lake and the Shillong Club backs right onto the lake and within easy walking distance of Police Bazar. The accommodation is attached to the Club building but managed separately and guests are poor relations who cannot use any of the club facilities. The club has a members-only policy which does not extend to resident guests.

The rooms are reasonably priced for the size but more expensive than other cold water-only establishments. My room was large with twin beds, a couple of lounge chairs, coffee table and various other bits of furniture. There was a large balcony looking out to the lake. The bed linen was odd in that the bottom sheet was about 12 inches shorter than the bed leaving a large expanse of bare mattress at the end. The mattress and pillows were very, very hard even for India which hard is the default.

The bathroom appeared to have been recently renovated because it was much more modern that the sleeping room. That makes the hot water situation even more strange. To give the staff their due the receptionist made the situation very clear when I called to reserve a room and the room boys eagerly deliver buckets of hot water within 2-3 minutes of a request.

The paintwork was fresh and unmarked and the room had surprisingly good lighting and it also got the bright morning sun. The staff were very reluctant for guests to use the restaurant but very happy to bring room service meals. The food was outstanding - some of the best that I had in 6 weeks of travel in the NE states.

One thing that I didn't like, apart from the hot water issue, was the strong smell of naphthalene in the room. I thought it was due to moth ball type things in the bathroom drain covers but it persisted even when they were removed. Then I discovered a whole lot more moth balls in the wardrobe and more still in every drawer in the room. Eventually I managed to track them all down and once cleared the smell quickly dissipated. The other irritating thing was that the door lock didn't close properly and a couple of staff members regularly knocked on the door and then barged straight into the room without waiting for me to answer.

In spite of absence of hot running water, over abundance of mothballs and the regular incursions by staff, I recommend the Shillong Club based on the large, comfortable rooms, proximity to Ward's Lake and the really excellent food.

Room Tip: My room was on the 2nd floor above the reception area and was a very good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Shillong club is a centrally placed hotel cum meeting place where organizig a workshop, training meeting is possible for about 100 persons ,alongwith good accomodation. The food is very excellent and the services are good including the services for internet.

Room Tip: Rooms on the left sie will have less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DELGFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shillong hotels
0.3 mi away
The Eee Cee Hotel
The Eee Cee Hotel
#7 of 24 in Shillong
154 reviews
6.3 mi away
Ri Kynjai
Ri Kynjai
#1 of 24 in Shillong
516 reviews
1.1 mi away
Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
OYO 2402 Hotel HighWinds
OYO 2402 Hotel HighWinds
#12 of 24 in Shillong
64 reviews
0.5 mi away
OYO 4740 White Orchid
OYO 4740 White Orchid
#9 of 24 in Shillong
94 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Polo Towers
Hotel Polo Towers
#2 of 24 in Shillong
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shillong Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shillong Club

Address: Kachari Road, Shillong 793001, India
Region: India > Meghalaya > East Khasi Hills District > Shillong
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Shillong
Price Range: £16 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing