We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience of staying in a calm & cool place within a madening crowd”
Review of The Shillong Club

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shillong
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Shillong Club
Ranked #31 of 80 Shillong B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 August 2010

We spent from 22/07/2010 to 24/07/2010 & on 26/07/2010 at this club residency . It was a fine experience to us. The reception & room service are very cordial.Except this the rooms of the 1st. floor & 2nd. floor have private balcony facing WARD LAKE , though the lake is not clearly visible due to long trees on the bank of the lake. From the balcony you can look the garden ,though not properly maintained, & on the left side the tennis court.There is a very nicely decorated & very clean restaurant whose service is very fine & the food is very tasty. You may get the food items outside the menu card.Reception will help you to arrange sightseeing. The location is very much ideal.In a stone's throw distance you will get every urban amenities like market,taxi stand,eateries etc.However the room rent is high. In a word this is a place where any one can spend his leisure in a calm & quiet atmosphere with all urban facilities

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wild12310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
There are newer reviews for The Shillong Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2010

The best thing about this hotel is its location. Just about 5 mins walking distance from the Police Bazaar crossing at the center of the town, it is still sheltered from the hustle of this crowded, bustling town. Set well back from the main road in its own large compounds flanking the Ward's Lake, it has been fashioned to be a nice place to spend a few days with the family.
Stick to the Deluxe Double rooms - they are nice and spacious, with a comfortable airy feel. Each room also has a pretty large balcony overlooking the Ward's Lake. But not that you would be able to see much of the lake itself - most of it is hidden by the tall trees surrounding it.
The food tastes good too, and the service polite, but it could do with a bit of speed to add to the politeness.
But be beware of the parties! The Shillong Club lets out its banquet hall for parties, receptions, and get-togethers, which seem to be happening every other day. During this time, the service for the poor hotel boarders will become extremely tardy. Also be prepared to have loud music filtering into your room till the late hours of the night !!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jit-Roy-Chowdhury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2010

I never felt that I am out of my Home when I was staying in Shillong Club. Full of facilities and excellent Room Service

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nibir786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2010

This hotel is one of the best hotel in shillong. The morning beauty is excellent and exciting. this is connected to every major places to visit. peoples are so nice. The hotel provided us with a cab facility. We enjoyed and had a great fun journey. We took a shower & had a some snacks. The food was of good quality. The view of the room was terrific. The interiors were also good wirth all the basic amenities. This place is cool. Room service is a bit lazy but still ok ....

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kavitaNewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2010

one of the best hotel in shillong. one have to book earlier to get reservation specially in new year eves and octobers. morning beauty is excellent and exciting. connected to every major places to visit. people are so nice. if you are in shillong then just stay in this perticular hotel. next time i am sure you will just visit shillong just to stay in the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angshu-changmai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2010

The hotel provided us with a cab facility. We enjoyed and had a great fun journey. We took a shower & had a some snacks. The food was of good quality. The view of the room was terrific. The interiors were also good wirth all the basic amenities.

Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
Thank HKBROCKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2009

This place is cool. You get to see all antique stuffs. The cottages are best to get the feel of this place. Room service is a bit lazy but still ok kinda.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kuljinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shillong hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Centre Point
Hotel Centre Point
#2 of 20 in Shillong
281 reviews
1.1 mi away
Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alpine Continental
Hotel Alpine Continental
#7 of 20 in Shillong
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Highwinds, Guest House
Highwinds, Guest House
#7 of 38 in Shillong
59 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cafe Shillong Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Shaurya Inn
Shaurya Inn
#16 of 80 in Shillong
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shillong Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shillong Club

Address: Kachari Road, Shillong 793001, India
Region: India > Meghalaya > East Khasi Hills District > Shillong
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Shillong
Price Range: £17 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing