We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a very decent hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ashutosh Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shillong
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ashutosh Inn
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Shillong
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a very decent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

i feel that this hotel is best for those who are traveling with families as well as for business purpose. very safe environment for kids and its cheaper then any other hotels around in that area.. the hotel room is very clean and i am very much pleased with the service.. food is moderately good.. they serve Indian food as well as Chinese.. and the location is perfect, not far from taxi stand and market area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sharminath30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    10
    9
    5
    8
See reviews for
14
6
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

I am so disgusted by the service at this hotel! While staying here I lost my credit card, I had to stay longer because of this so I had my new card sent here and the hotel opened my mail when it arrived meaning my card is now void as I can't trust they didn't take the details to later use. Very possibly the worst hotel staff I have come across in my travels!!! The hotel is otherwise fine.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Henry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shillong hotels

Calcutta, West Bengal, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

I visited Shillong on 25 December and spent 3 nights there. I had booked 3 double bed and one triple beded rooms 1 month prior to our visit based on the recommendations from tripadvisor. The day we arrived at the hotel, to our dismay we found that the bed size of the triple bed was same as that of the triple bed with 4 inches extra. When we reported this to the lady at the reception, she was constantly imposing on us that it was a triple beded room. Later another person arrived and apologised saying that the room alloted for us was given to another group of localites.

The rooms were pretty small.

Moreover there is no 24X7 running hot water. There is a geyser in each room and the main power of the geyser of all rooms is in the hand of the person at reception. So don't even expect to get hot water at night.

One could also find baby cockroaches in the rooms.

The service is extremely poor.

And I was not the only boarder having issues. There were other boarders adjectifying them as "cheats".

I would never ever recommend any sensible person for a stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suvojyoti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

The location is excellent. It is very near to taxi stand, Meghalaya tourism office, KFC, and the main shopping centre. We stayed at the deluxe double room. The interiors were great and it was very neat and clean. Food was good. The minus point is that the room service staff is not well trained. They do not understand hindi language. Be very careful with the room booked and rooms allotted. Sometimes they may allot you rooms which you may not have actually booked. We were asked to change our room after staying there for one day, when we refused, they did not insist much.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duttashilpi13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

We booked the rooms 6 months earlier. But they allocated the worst rooms for us. Room was very small and without any window. Food was even worst. Butter toast at breakfast (Rs 40 for 2 small piece of bread) was too hard to bite. Geysers in the washrooms were present as show piece only(same for all rooms). They used to supply hot water from outside only at 7 AM - 8 AM. But if hotel is crowded, the water will not be sufficient warm even at that time also. Only one good thing, the toilet was clean. Now I had to pay 1250 per day which is not very small amount. So I think it is totally waste of money.

Room Tip: I think none of the rooms are good. Please select some different hotel. Atleast don't book the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank saikat_modak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hooghly, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

Hotel location is good but room was worse. we book through website and got worst rooms. Do not take room 204 and 205 specially. You ca't stay there in winter season. Other rooms are also very bad. room double room cost was 1250/-

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank duttasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
culcutta, West Bengal, India
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Good place to stay.Five to Ten minutes walk from where you can get cabs to go any places u want to explore and major shopping centres.The food is good! Beds are comfortable Bathroom and rooms are generally clean.The interior of the hotel is quite good.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deepojwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shillong hotels
0.0 mi away
The Eee Cee Hotel
The Eee Cee Hotel
#7 of 19 in Shillong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Centre Point
Hotel Centre Point
#3 of 19 in Shillong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
1.1 mi away
Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Ri Kynjai
Ri Kynjai
#1 of 19 in Shillong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Polo Towers
Hotel Polo Towers
#6 of 19 in Shillong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shaurya Inn
Shaurya Inn
#8 of 74 in Shillong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashutosh Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashutosh Inn

Property: Ashutosh Inn
Address: G.S. Road, Police Bazar, Shillong 793001, India
Region: India > Meghalaya > Shillong
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Shillong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing